We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$154
$125
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of $205/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$153
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $179/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$133
$111
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$122
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $160/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Loews Philadelphia Hotel(Philadelphia)
$208
$149
Loews Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of $230/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$142
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $160/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$181
$168
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $189/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $220/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$158
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,456)
Filter reviews
1,456 results
Traveler rating
853
452
92
29
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
853
452
92
29
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelbay windowcontinental breakfasthard boiled eggswithin walking distanceyogurtdiscounted parkingcenter cityrooms are smallfew blockssingle roomkimmel centergreat boutiquewalked everywherechain hotelssouth streetnice breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 1,456 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2017 via mobile

Booked this room with intent of being at south edge of the downtown area. The room was not large, but more than adequate in size. A/C worked well. We kept blinds closed during the day. The breakfast was nice. Exercise room definitely needs some help. Price was good and we will use this hotel again.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Kent J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony L, Manager at Alexander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2017

Thank you for writing and the 4 stars. Hope to see you again soon. Tony Lombardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2017

The Alexander Inn was just what we were looking for. We loved wandering around the local area. We ate very well at a nearby bistro and a pub and were handy for theatres and the city centre. The rooms were clean, beds comfortable, soft towels and lovely toiletries. As others have mentioned the room was fairly small, but we were aware of that when ŵe booked.
There was good choice for the continental breakfast, taken in a comfortable lounge, with hot drinks, fruit and pastries available throughout the day. The staff were welcoming and helpful. A great find and excellent value. We'd love to return to Philadelphia sometime, and if we do we would happily stay at the Alexander again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Saevans2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2017 via mobile

This is an adorable boutique hotel in Philadelphia. The location is fantastic and the staff is very helpful and friendly. It was within walking distance (.5 mile or so) from the Reading Market and also close enough to the Big Bus stop on antique row. I would stay here again if I find myself back in Philly.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Sumer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony L, Manager at Alexander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for the five stars. Tony Lombardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017

As another reviewer notes, our room was quite small. Because it was very hot in Philadelphia when we were there, we needed strong air conditioning and the window unit in our 7th floor room couldn't keep up. A refrigerator in the room would have been a fantastic addition. But no such luck.

The hotel IS centrally located, which made walking to various places (and transit stops) fairly easy.

The only ice machines are on the main floor near the kitchen and in the basement. Speaking of the basement, they also have two or three vending machines -- that's it. It looks and feels like someone's basement at home; hasn't really been upgraded to be part of the hotel.

Their breakfast was quite adequate, though nothing special. The area you ate in was very nice (grade of B or B+) and, along with the staff, probably one of the best things about the hotel.

If you'll need parking, it's a couple of blocks away and costs $20 per day. There's only one elevator and it's not super-fast.

I was attracted by the location and the "boutique" aspect of the hotel. Not sorry I went, but I am not likely to return -- though I will probably check out other boutique hotels and make my selection based on what I learned from this experience.

Room Tip: Top (7th) floor is very hot. There's not much to see overlooking South Street.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CP220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2017 via mobile

I stayed here with my wife and son. Beibg an historic building, the archetecture was beautiful. It also meant, though, that the rooms were very small. This also means that, if you want the AC to work as intended, you need to move the chairs and tables out of the way. I don't know what they can do differently, though, as they seem to have done the best with the room available.

The service, on the other hand, was incredible. Anything you needed was at hand. If you needed advice on how to or help getting around the city, the folks at the front desk were extremely helpful.

In closing, I guess whether you stay here depends on what you value most. If smaller spaces don't bother you, then you will be thrilled by the impecable service. With three of us to a room, the close quarters were a bit much for us.

The service,

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank Joedub77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony L, Manager at Alexander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Thank you for writing and we hope you enjoyed your visit to Philly. Our website clearly states the square footage of our rooms. For $20.00 more a larger room might have suited your needs better. Tony Lombardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews