We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming nongeneric lodging”
Review of Alexander Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alexander Inn
Ranked #7 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Even though we live less than an hour from the city, with a January early morning medical appointment in centercity and weather forecasts not good it made sense to spend the night. The Alexander Inn as an alternative to a generic hotel was a very serendipitous find. Our room wasn't spacious but quite comfortable and clean, with a bay window overlooking a typical old Philadelphia street. It was quiet, although surely not so had weather conditions been other otherwise (cold and dismal for us) in the lively neighborhood. The breakfast was more than adequate, served by the cozy lobby area. The quaint European feel is appealing. Prices are fair. Reasonable parking is a short walk away.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SallyWilmingtonDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 1,395 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

Was a lovely hotel, only bugbear was the noise from the stairs which were adjacent to our room. But otherwise, great location in a really cute part of town, nice room, free wifi, good links to public transport, good breakfast and friendly staff.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank SusanHBollywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Top ratings for excellent staff headed by Byron who would actually anticipate needs. Maid service people also most pleasant and, well, accommodating of slow movers. Front desk offered us a higher floor, unbid, just for a better view. It's a B+B ambiance, with 48 rooms, very convenient to attractions and situated in a fun and buzzing neighborhood. Room rates are not inflated but hard mattresses need to be more fluffable. Conti breakfast offers among other things, boiled eggs, bagels and scones. What else do you need? Cereal plus other morning cereals and sticky buns also included.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4masei5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

.....except for the rock-hard bed! Seriously, the owners of this otherwise lovely inn need to invest in decent mattresses and pillows.

A doctor's appointment at the nearby Pennsylvania Hospital brought me into Philadelphia for two nights. I live in central NJ and since a snow storm was on it's way I thought it best to be in town within walking distance during a storm.

I loved everything else about this quaint boutique hotel. The desk staff were polite, friendly and helpful but not nosy and in-your-face. I like that. I'm a private person and hate when staff gets too chummy.

Art deco is my favorite architecture and it was a pleasure to get off the elevator on my floor and walk down the hall. Yes, the elevator is tiny, slow and sometimes got a bit bogged down but, heck, stuff happens.

My room was very small but so cozy. The bathroom was perfect. I prefer a shower stall and that's just what I got. The toiletries are some of the nicest I've used. Lots of fluffy, cream-colored towels, too. I had a big window facing the street and since I was on a high floor I could look out over the city. So nice.

I read a few critical reviews of the breakfast. C'mon, people, the breakfast is free. Free food is always delicious to my way of thinking! Anyway, two hard-boiled eggs and hot coffee is my favorite weekday breakfast and the Alexander Inn came through with that. If you need coffee any other time of the day there is a nice coffee shop by the name of Toast diagonally across the street or a Starbucks right up 12th street.

It pains me to not give this hotel a 5 star rating but I just couldn't sleep the two nights I stayed. The bed and pillows were so uncomfortable. I'll be back in Philly in a few weeks and I'm sorry to say I won't be staying at the Alexander Inn. I'll keep track of their website and wait for the news that they've purchased comfortable beds. Then, I'll be back!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor. Great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The Alexander is an older, even historic, hotel that is close enough to walk to many of the sites in Philadelphia. our room was nothing fancy, but very comfortable, clean, and quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent with a good selection. All in all, a pleasant stay and very good value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dale D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I loved this place! Nice people! Wonderfully maintained. Reasonable rates. Great location. Full filled my craving for quaint while still providing comfort & beauty. Great shower! Has windows that open, which might not seem like much, but it made it feel more like home! I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vjckjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

The Alexander Inn is small, but beautifully appointed, conveniently located and staffed by truly hospitable souls. Though our stay was short, I would recommend it to friends who like to avoid cookie-cutter chain hotels. I chose the Inn because it was affordable, but I would return for the character of the place.

The rooms are small but the beds but comfy.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Julia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia
Sofitel Philadelphia
#9 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,398 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Inn

Address: 301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $136 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alexander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel with 48 designer rooms, private baths, Hi speed wireless internet, in-room safes, DirecTV with 8 complimentary movie channels, great artwork, breakfast buffet, fitness center, historic tours from our door, discounted indoor parking nearby, a friendly staff and reasonable and consistent rates from $125.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Alexander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Philadelphia
Alexander Inn Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing