We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alexander Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alexander Inn
Ranked #8 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Woodside, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent value for location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed just one night but had great time. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Their suggestions for drinks or dining were just what we asked for. We would definitely stay here again. The continental breakfast had a lot to offer. Including waffles. As for location you can walk to Independence Hall just remember to get tickets. We didn't and could not get in.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katkev23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    764
    395
    82
    27
    27
See reviews for
203
539
151
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

We were six women sharing three rooms at the Alexander Inn. The location is ideal in Center City, Philadelphia. Our rooms at the end of the corridor looked onto the street so they were bright. The room was commodious with two double beds, two chests of drawers and two comfortable chairs in the bow window. The bathroom is small but had everything you need. The hanging area outside of the bathroom is ample and there is a small fridge in that space. The breakfast room is very nice with couches and comfortable chairs. The breakfast is ample for a continental. It includes two juices, coffee, decaf and tea. There is a selection of cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit (available all day), a selection of breads, English muffins, toaster waffles, scones, coffee cake. There are also hard boiled eggs.

The decor is attractive with interesting prints on the walls.

But the real attraction of the Alexander Inn is the staff. Everyone was attentive, patient, helpful, and just plain nice. It was a joy to be guests there. I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Rooms numbered 01 are spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmieDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on an overnight before an international flight. Close to the airport via Septa train, in a great neighborhood, and the people here have great recommendations. Loved seeing the murals on South street. Walked to the Philadelphia history museum and the art museums. Love love love Philadelphia and this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WriterDianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Level Contributor
114 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We recently stayed in Philly for a visit. We have stayed in 4 properties, all had their ups and downs, This one was the smallest hotel, was on a nice quiet street, Very, very personable, and eager to help, rooms were a little small and the amenaties were a little less than some of the upscale properties we stayed before. The biggest thing I missed was a coffee maker in the room. I left early enough in the morning that it would have really helped. You would have to look very hard to find a better bargain or deal over this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher has less street noise, and corner rooms are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Location, cleanliness, excellent service--The Alexander has it all. I felt comfortable and welcomed upon my arrival and when I departed, was followed out the front door and pointed in the direction I needed to go. Have already recommended the Alexander to others and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wennett1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

The Alexander Hotel is an older, boutique style hotel in a trendy, lively, old Philadelphia neighborhood. My wife and I spent two nights there in early November. Our stay there was comfortable, although the room and bathroom were very tiny. The breakfast offered was continental style, but good. The best part was the location. If you don't mind walking, it's a short distance from nearly everything we came to Philly for-the Historic area, market street, Reading market, Pats and Gino's, Morimotos (the Iron Chef), etc. Steps away are many fine restaurants, as well as shops and night-life opportunities. We used Trip Advisor's City Guide to plan our trip, and it was great. We recommend this hotel as a good base if you are a tourist in Philly.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SlomoRootlinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed for two nights - could easily have stayed longer! This is a boutique hotel with breakfast included. Rooms are not large (we had a double), but absolutely fine - great use of space! The shower is fantastic! Breakfast is generous and served in a gorgeous room - lovely furnishings and decorations. The location is fantastic - walking distance to everything we wanted to see and do - extensive selection of eateries and cafes. The neighborhood had a great vibe. A great place!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellers408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,686 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Inn

Property: Alexander Inn
Address: 301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alexander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel with 48 designer rooms, private baths, Hi speed wireless internet, in-room safes, DirecTV with 8 complimentary movie channels, great artwork, breakfast buffet, fitness center, historic tours from our door, discounted indoor parking nearby, a friendly staff and reasonable and consistent rates from $125.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Alexander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Philadelphia
Alexander Inn Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing