We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, but...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexander Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alexander Inn
Ranked #8 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Comfortable, but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Inn was very comfortable but due to a change in itinerary I had to book at the last minute for a couple nights 7-8 October before proceeding to Washington by train. Thus I had a very small room with twin bed that felt cramped. Also with the multi-national mix of guests as evidenced by the languages and accents during breakfast, I recommend that the hotel install multi-use electrical sockets as with all the electronics carried, adaptors for UK/Europe plugs can't suffice for laptop, mobile, electric razor, etc.

The staff were very helpful, and I'd like to single out Byron who was in the middle of a very long shift but remained very cheerful and willing to help with advice, etc.

Room Tip: I like a street scene so don't mind a lower floor on the street. For guests requiring a quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    763
    393
    81
    27
    27
See reviews for
203
537
150
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire, Usa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Alexander Inn is located in a charming neighborhood within walking distance of all the major historical sights and many outstanding restaurants - many little restaurants and businesses and lots of local people live there - and very close to the Pennsylvania Hospital. Area felt very safe and welcoming. While our room was small, it was clean and fine - the price is outstanding and much more reasonable than most other comparable hotels downtown - and parking was much cheaper. Continental breakfast was extensive. Staff were particularly friendly and helpful. We will return!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

It's a boutique hotel so you would expect small rooms, but not the case. Average size rooms, baths are a little small, but they make up for it with the service, cleanliness and location. This hotel is cleaner than many of the large chain hotels that we have stayed in. Easy walking distance to numerous restaurants, bars and attractions. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Every restaurant recommendation they gave us was a winner.
The room includes breakfast in their great room. Also not your usual packaged, tasteless simulated food. They serve fresh pasteries, bagles, fruit, etc.
We would definitely use this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms. It's a historic, masonary structure so seemed very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This small hotel in the heart of downtown Philly is a real charmer! GREAT helpful, knowledgeable staff...excellent breakfast buffet, clean, comfortable (albeit small) rooms just add to the convenience of it's location; walking distance to everything in downtown and, via SEPTA, to all of the Delaware valley! Priced right, too!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank papaell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Everything met expectations except, the carpet was in need of vacuuming. It was visibly dusty around edges and under tables. Socks became soiled in short order. This was unfortunate because in all other respects it met expectations. Quaint, good location, fair price, friendly service. And the bathroom, etc. was very clean. But the carpet needed considerable attention.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dewey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I can't say enough about the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff! Everyone was so personable and full of suggestions to make out stay in Philadelphia fabulous. The location was perfect for being able to explore the historic district on foot. The room was on the small side, but clean and nicely decorated. The bathroom was large and the bed was comfy. Breakfast was served for extended hours. There were tons of restaurants and happy hour spots in the vicinity. Loved our entire Philly experience! Would definitely want to stay at the Alexander Inn again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
64 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I needed a hotel in downtown Philadelphia for a quick overnight trip, and booked this one. I loved the price.

I arrived and came right into the hotel. Because I would be in late, I called ahead, and the desk person assured me they would hang onto my room. I was able to check in quickly.

Even though this is an older property, that is kind of the point of this type of boutique hotel! I was staying on the fourth floor, which gave me a great view! The room was small, but it had everything: a bed, a tv, free internet, a dresser, a bathroom with nice products and great soft towels, a chair, and a flip-up desk. I found the bed comfortable.

There was some street noise (not much), but that just reminded me I was in a city with great night life. I had the breakfast in the morning, which was more than adequate. The selection included coffee, tea, juice, yogurt, fruit, hard-boiled eggs, and lots of breads and pastries. I had an English muffin (toasted), yogurt, and coffee. It was perfect. The breakfast room had tvs tuned to CNN, and both tables and couches.

Check-out time was noon, and I totally took advantage of that to get some work done. This is a great little place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haparev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Inn

Property: Alexander Inn
Address: 301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alexander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel with 48 designer rooms, private baths, Hi speed wireless internet, in-room safes, DirecTV with 8 complimentary movie channels, great artwork, breakfast buffet, fitness center, historic tours from our door, discounted indoor parking nearby, a friendly staff and reasonable and consistent rates from $119. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Alexander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Philadelphia
Alexander Inn Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing