We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, but some negatives to note”
Review of Alexander Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alexander Inn
Ranked #8 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great stay, but some negatives to note”
Reviewed July 24, 2008

Background: mom and 12 year old son traveling from Boston on a baseball road trip. Stayed 2 nights here, after seeing great reviews on TripAdvisor. Booked the largest room and was ready early. Seemed very comfortable with the nieghborhood, no safety concerns. Although the room was spotless, it was definitely showing its age. Furnishings and carpet were dirty/stained and need replacing. (Jan. 2009 rehab, according to manager.) Bed and pillows not comfy, and sheets and blanket were not so nice. But, the staff was warm and welcoming. Breakfast was more than adequate, in fact my son loved it. There was a Whole Foods Market where we bought my favorite yogurt (fridge in room, great for keeping cold drinks on hand). Loved the list of restaurant recommendations - can't say enough good things about Jim's for cheese steaks! The hotel does seem to cater to a gay crowd, not a problem except if you happen to sit next to some patrons at breakfast with your child as they're talking about "no toys being left in their room this year." Awkward. Overall, I would recommend Alexander Inn and would stay here again - superb value - but would strongly suggest an overhaul of the furnishings as well as the bedding. One other note, I left our safe open and unlocked by mistake one day - GPS, 2 iPods and some cash were in there. Housekeeping left everything where it was. Amazing! We were so grateful!

  • Liked — Room size and view, value
  • Disliked — Low thread count on sheets and pilled blankets
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soxfan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    398
    83
    27
    28
See reviews for
208
542
156
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2008

There was always a warm welcome from the hotel staff.
The place is nicely located in a mainly residential area of the city (but with a few bars/cafes around about). It is the gay area, but in no way should "straights" have any sort of issue about this.
Most of the tourist spots are an easy walk from the hotel & the train station is about an $8 taxi trip.
The breakfast is set up very nicely. As well as dining table & chairs there are also easy chairs where you can relax with the daily paper.
Free internet access is provided & is in the basement gym.
The room was OK, but I found my single bed very uncomfortable & there was no bathtub (shower only). There was a safe, iron & board, clock/radio & TV. The soft furnishings were very tasteful.
There was some street noise during the night.
Snacks are set out all day in the breakfast room but there is no coffee available in the bedrooms

  • Liked — Location, Welcome
  • Disliked — Lack of coffee maker in room, No bathtub, Uncomfortable Bed
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angwri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2008

We chose this hotel based upon TripAdvisor Reviews and found it to be better than expected. Originally we were looking for a hotel in the middle of the historic district, but all were booked. As it turns out, this hotel is within walking distance to historic sites such as Independence Hall.

Rooms are very comfortable and the hotel has historic charm. Staff is friendly and generous with their time when responding to inquiries about local points of interest. Continental breakfast provides a wide variety of offerings, fitness room is clean and equipment well-maintained, and two computer stations are available for internet access.

We just concluded a 17-day vacation that involved eight different lodging locations. We consider Alexander Inn as the best value of all locations.

  • Liked — Historical Charm and Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Parking garage is two blocks from hotel
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Reimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2008

The hotel is situated in Old Philadelphia, so it does require some walking to get to the main sites in the centre of the city. The hotel itself is a bit quirky. The desk staff are helpful and friendly but our first impression was of a slightly musty/stale atmosphere as we entered the building. The bedrooms are comfortable enough without being large; the bed was comfortable, but the bathroom was really 'compact', especially for 'wide' people! There are no coffee/tea making facilities either in the room or in the lobby/breakfast area, although they do have some pastries and fruit available all day. Parking is some distance away, costing $14 per day, in a multi-storey car park. Breakfast is a civilised affair in a pleasant large room from 7 to 10.30 am. The desk staff have produced a list of their recommended cafes/restaurants. We visited two of them and would recommend caution. There was no file of information in the hotel room and another bit of 'quirkiness' was that the free internet workstation shares the same room as the treadmills and exercise bikes!
So this reasonably priced hotel is a bit of a one-off, so take care!

  • Liked — Reasonable price for city centre hotel
  • Disliked — Shabby in places
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Welshboyslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2008

My wife and I, my daughter, son-in-law and 3 grandchildren spent
3 days and 2 nights at the Inn. The staff arranged for us to have 3 rooms on the top floor. The rooms were small but very clean as you would expect in this very elegant building near the historic district. The area is undergoing a significant change and there are excellent eating and drinking establishments nearby. There is a business center and gym equipment in the basement. The expanded breakfast buffet is in a nicely furnished room off the lobby and was very good. There were cereals, juices, yogurt, bagels, sweet rolls, waffles, milk, coffee and fresh fruit. Also, there were items from the buffet available throughout the day. The staff works diligently to ensure the buffet is stocked at all times while you and others are eating breakfast. Every member of the staff was friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The Inn is very convenient for those who have come to Philadelphia to tour the historic district. Parking is in a secure facility a few blocks away and was the least expensive of any other hotels in the area. We were extremely satisfied with our accommodations, the terrific staff and will stay at the Inn again on a return visit.

  • Liked — overall atmosphere of the Inn and the wonderful staff
  • Disliked — can't find anything to complain about
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DickH9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre Part, Louisiana
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2008

If you are looking for a hotel in Philadelphia, let your search stop here. The Alexander Inn was an awesome experience. From the first phone call to book the hotel I was amazed. The staff was very courteous and friendly and made us feel like family. Checking in was easy and the staff offered many suggestions and answered all my questions. The room are amazing, very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good and the breakfast area very inviting. This is a very old hotel, but you will never know it from the inside. Very modern, updated, but yet still very classy. The hotel has an arrangement with a parking garage a few blocks from the hotel and offers discounted fees. The hotel is in a residendual area but the historical district and downtown are all in walking distance. If you choose this hotel you definitely will not be disappointed. One final suggestion: You will be doing a lot of walking so bring your most comfortable walking shoes, or you will have to go buy some like I had to .

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dab21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, NH
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2008

We stayed at the Inn from June 26-29 and had a wonderful experience. Charming property, very friendly and helpful staff. We had a king room which was great- comfortable beds and pillows, great shower. The only improvement I can think of to make is I wish they had some kind of venting/fan in the bathroom. It got very hot and steamy in there after a shower with nowhere for the air to go. It would be nicer to have a better quality of toilet paper, also.
Complimentary breakfast was great- choices of coffee, juice, milk, cereal, pastries, toast, eng. muffins, yogurt, bagels, frozen waffles. I used the internet to print return boarding passes, which was a nice plus. It was in a great location. We walked to Independence Hall, to South Street, to Reading Terminal Market. to Buca de Beppo (Italian Restaurant). A nice bar called Mixto ( I think) right around the corner. We used the phlash bus from Independence Hall to drop us off and on to Philadelphia Museuam of Art, Franklin INstitute, Reading Market. Only took a couple cabs, one to find Pats and Genos (don't bother!).
Our return trip to the airport at 10 am on Sunday, consisted of 20 minutes from leaving the inn, through security and at our gate! And Southwest said to allow 2 hours boarding time!.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Philly. We would definitely book there again, should we return.

  • Liked — Price and free breakfast
  • Disliked — No ventilation in the bathrooms
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank browndover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,786 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Inn

Property: Alexander Inn
Address: 301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alexander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel with 48 designer rooms, private baths, Hi speed wireless internet, in-room safes, DirecTV with 8 complimentary movie channels, great artwork, breakfast buffet, fitness center, historic tours from our door, discounted indoor parking nearby, a friendly staff and reasonable and consistent rates from $125.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alexander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Philadelphia
Alexander Inn Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing