We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect spot for our wedding party”
Review of Alexander Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alexander Inn
Ranked #9 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect spot for our wedding party”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Based on previous TripAdvisor comments and ratings, we booked 11 rooms (22+ guests) at the Alexander Inn last weekend (3 nights) for out-of-town family and friends for a wedding (a cross-border one at that!). Everyone had nothing but praise for the location, the staff, and the accommodations. We really loved the location, especially with the handy bar/restaurant across the street, and the lovely neighbourhood locale. The mattresses and pillows were a bit firm, but not uncomfortably so (i.e. they weren't Four Seasons quality mattresses, but for the price, the rooms were much better value!!). We also enjoyed the complimentary wi-fi and breakfast buffet, which included hard-boiled eggs, yogurt, fruit, various rolls, toast and scones - more than we expected. The great room, where breakfast was served, was also a great place for all of us to congregate throughout the weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig-in-TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    422
    86
    28
    28
See reviews for
221
569
160
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was my first experience at a "boutique" hotel--I found it quite pleasant, overall. The Front Desk staff were so friendly and so helpful...our room was clean, comfortable and even charming, I suppose with its bay window enhancing the roominess. Because of the gorgeous fall weather, we were able to enjoy the brief walks to nearby restaurants and sites. The Big Theatres are just a couple of blocks away, as well. If you are so inclined to use public transit, subway stations and bus stops are both within easy reach of the hotel. Plan to ride something to the major museums as they are just a bit too far to walk. The breakfasts are continental, but enjoyable. Its definitely country-come-to-town when I get into the middle of an eastern seaboard city, but thankfully I made reservations at the Alexander--the staff helped me find (&, or manage) most anything. Guests were able to park the car a couple of blocks down 12th street from the hotel for their contracted rate of $15 a day. Basically, the car was unnecessary as this hotel is near to just about everything in City Center. I will be a repeat customer--especially when considering the rates are so reasonable compared to other downtown options.

Room Tip: Higher Floors minimize street noise, although later in the evening things get pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in this quaint boutique hotel and loved it. Location is great, trendy neighborhood, able to walk to everywhere. Staff was always helpful. Booked an upgraded room with bay window so it didn't feel small. Pillows weren't the best for us, not fluffy, too firm. Expanded continental breakfast was delicious (try the fruit sweet rolls). We would stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oaspms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband and I went to Philadelphia for a few days as a little getaway. We chose The Alexander Inn because it had gotten very good reviews on TripAdvisor. It is a boutique hotel, as they will tell you, which offers a convenient location, friendly service, clean comfortable rooms, and breakfast! We walked to our destinations with no problem and we are not "spring chickens"! We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you want a large room, ask for a corner or deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ejplum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

If you go there I might not be able to get in to this small, neighborhood inn that houses the most interesting guests, almost all of them repeats! A real winner, so save me room , please. In walkable distance of antique shops and public transportation. Such a nice change from the big, chain hotels.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large and light filled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J0sephine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

When you don't know the city, you want somewhere that is close and safe, this was our answer. We walked everywhere, out to see Rocky's statue, all the nations flags along Ben Franklin Blvd, and back over to Independence Hall and Liberty Bell. Staff was wonderful and the place is beautiful. Small rooms, but how often are you in them. Oh, and great wine bar across street.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zenadec01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

From check in to check out, the Alexander Inn was wonderful. The personnel were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. Location was great; we could walk to many of the sites we wanted to see, or take a short cab ride. The neighborhood was safe. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We will stay again at the Alexander Inn when we return to Philadelphia.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hindabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,157 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Inn

Property: Alexander Inn
Address: 301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alexander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel with 48 designer rooms, private baths, Hi speed wireless internet, in-room safes, DirecTV with 8 complimentary movie channels, great artwork, breakfast buffet, fitness center, historic tours from our door, discounted indoor parking nearby, a friendly staff and reasonable and consistent rates from $125.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alexander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Philadelphia
Alexander Inn Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing