We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown(Philadelphia)
Free cancellation until 07/28
$153
$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 07/27
Book now, pay at stay
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $150/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 07/26
Book now, pay at stay
$222
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$178
$167
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
Free cancellation until 07/28
Book now, pay at stay
$199
$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 07/26
$192
$181
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 07/25
Book now, pay at stay
$196
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Book now, pay at stay
$109
Doubletree.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 07/26
$206
$199
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,447)
Filter reviews
1,447 results
Traveler rating
849
449
91
28
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
849
449
91
28
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hotelbay windowcontinental breakfasthard boiled eggswithin walking distanceyogurtdiscounted parkingcenter cityfew blocksrooms are smallsingle roomgreat boutiquekimmel centerwalked everywherechain hotelssouth streetwine bar
Filter
Updating list...
586 - 591 of 1,447 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Clean room, accommodating staff, great price and location! I am planning to stay there again and bring friends. The included breakfast was fresh and healthy and the coffee was delicious. I am definitely putting this quaint little hotel on my visit again list.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murman33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Everything about this hotel was adorable: the old architecture, the stone facade, the owners/employees. I stayed here while on business but I would definitely come back on a personal trip. The location was wonderful and allowed for a quick walk to almost anywhere in the city. The breakfast was great with a lot of choices. The room was small but decorated very nicely. The extra cushy towels were amazing and the air conditioner worked like a charm.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wldchic869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I wouldn't seem right to stay in a new hotel in Philadelphia when The Alexander Inn fits the atmosphere of the city so nicely. As expected in an older hotel, the room was small but done in such a way that it was impossible to tell if it was restored or a perfectly kept original. The location was excellent -- close to everything we wanted to see, the hotel staff was extremely cordial and recognized us even though we were only there two nights. The neighborhood was warm and friendly, well cared for and with many trees. Philadelphia has preserved many trees along with the old buildings and statues; it is a beautiful city and the residents are obviously very proud of it. Parking was discounted and nearby, not a problem at all. With so many places in the US to visit it is unlikely we will return to Philadelphia, but if we did we would plan our trip in such a way that we could stay here again.

Room Tip: I doubt there are any bad rooms. We were on a 3rd floor corner facing 12th Street and loved it.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheKs42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

When we arrived at the Alexander Inn, we were able to unload our things just in front of it. The man at the desk greeted us very politely, gave me a few calling cards (!) with my name on it and the hotel's address, and explained to us everything about the hotel that was included in the price of our room: internet (wi-fi or computers downstairs), mini-gym, elevator, breakfast & snacks. The discounted parking lot was two streets away (cost:$15/day).

Our air-conditioned room, reserved by internet, was waiting for us on the 5th floor. While it was not exactly spacious, it was very clean and, beside the queen size bed and the dresser, contained the usual: flatscreen t.v., phone, clock, big mirror. The bathroom had a large shower, plenty of towels, toiletries and hair dryer. During our stay, we barely heard our neighbours or the street noise. Breakfast was by no means gastronomic but it was varied and plentiful: cereals, breads, Danish pastries, fruits, yogurts, hard-boiled eggs, beverages. During the day, pastries remained available.

The location of the Alexander Inn proved ideal to visit Philadelphia on foot. The Italian market and the historic center (Independance Hall & other buildings) were each a 15-minute walk away, the Reading Market was less than 10 minutes away, and the Museum of Arts required about 25 minutes of walking along a beautiful avenue.

This small hotel is a real find, offering nice rooms at a reasonable price in the center of the city. At all times, the staff was very courteous and helpful. We were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyncroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Check in was easy- even at 10 am our room was ready.Started with a standard queen- very small but adequate.Parking was easy - good directions to discounted lot.Location was awesome- 6 blocks any direction took us where we wanted-historic area, Rittenhouse square, market area etc. Great breakfast.Unfortunately- or not- our room did not get cleaned on our second day.Notified the desk and for no charge they upgraded us to a queen deluxe- hey, this was great ! Much more room.Friendly staff- there when we needed with good suggestions .Very clean. Would definitely stay here again.Air conditioning worked well- it was 90 when we were there.Beds were very firm- almost too firm.

Room Tip: Queen deluxe had a lot more room.Second floor is great- staircase down without having to take elevator
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy47Coldwater_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews