We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location”
Review of Alexander Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alexander Inn
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We were given a warm welcome on arrival at the Alexander Inn. You are able to park outside for 20 minutes or so to unload your car and then the parking is just a couple of blocks away at $15 per night.The Lobby has quite a Victorian style, but the room was contemporary/deco in comparison. The bathroom was quite compact, but had everything we needed. We like a firm bed, so we were pleased with this. The room was also cool, with a good A/C unit. For a hotel, we had a very quiet, undisturbed sleep. The breakfast was generous and lots of choice, which was a bonus. The hotel itself is centrally located and although we did the city bus tour, we also walked a fair bit during our 1 night stay. Overall, the Alexander Inn is great value and you definately get more for your money than you would expect.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 67SYH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,363)
There are newer reviews for Alexander Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 1,364 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

this very cute art deco style inn reminds me of small european hotels.
nicely appointed rooms with beautiful wooden shutters and a nice
firm mattress with good a/c. the bathroom was petite but exceptionally
clean with great water pressure and toiletries.
located in a very safe area close to lots of restaurants and bars.
walking distance to all sights. a great find in philladelphia.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbtraveller2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great location - walking distance to a lively restaurant and bar scene. Deco style rooms, small but with a comfortable sitting area in the bay window. Our room had 1 twin and 1 queen bed which was fine for us. I liked the firm mattresses. The towels and toiletries were nice. The windows had wooden venetian blinds, but I was surprised that the curtains did not actually close. This was fine for us, but would not work for someone who needs a darkened room to sleep in. There was a generous, but not fancy continental breakfast in a very pleasant dining area. However, CNN was playing very loudly on 2 screens. I would have preferred that they were turned off or at least turned down.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tora135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I definitely recommend this place, especially for just 1 or 2 people. The front desk staff is super nice and helpful. They were knowledgable about the area and had tons of maps and suggestions on hand for transit, restaurants, etc. I also enjoyed the breakfast which I thought was plentiful considering the room is already at a pretty low price. Waffles, bagels, hard boiled eggs, fruit, yogurt, & granola every morning. This property is also at a great central location. We pretty much walked everywhere- bars, historical attractions and more. My only (minor) complaint is that the mattresses are pretty firm and the bathroom is tiny. To be fair, the hotel is quite old and only has a about 8 rooms on each floor. The parking is nice because you get discounted tickets for a garage nearby ($15/day) while other hotels I was considering originally wanted $40-50 per day for valet service. Thank you for your hospitality!!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a Philadelphia find. Located within walking distance to just about everything, this small hotel is smartly run by a group of guys who understand the meaning of customer service. We had two rooms for two nights. Each dinner recommendation was spot on, the breakfast was generous, and the rooms were modern and very clean. I commented on a lumpy mattress and squeaky pillows, and had a receptive audience at the front desk. No doubt about returning to the Alexander when I'm back in Philly.

Room Tip: Spruce Street is noisy. Suggest rooms that face on other side.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We found this delightful inn through the reviews here on Tripadvisor. I was a little worried when we got one of the last "full size" bed rooms as the pictures made the room look very small. But in the end our room was just fine, with a bay window that added space with a table and chairs. The one thing I missed was a bedside table with a lamp for nighttime reading but I survived. I was tickled when checking in, the fellow behind the desk handed me a few business type cards with my name and info that I was a guest at the Alexander Inn, in case I should get lost. Nice touch. We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts with the only complaint that the lounge where it was served was kept extremely cold. I came down wearing an extra sweater and even a scarf one morning! Best of all was being in this great area of Philadelphia, with its vibrant bar/restaurant scene and within walking distance of so many of the historical sites or starting off points to those sites. We would definitely stay there again, next time we're in Philly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ysp-ba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The toilet from the upstairs bathroom was leaking and our bathroom floor was wet. Hoping the staff would resolve the issue, their response, a bucket. They didn't offer to come to the room to clean up the mess. They offered my husband a bucket. I guess the only abilities the guy at the front desk had was to hand out hotel key cards and be an jerk. He also didn't think it was a health hazard to have toilet water leaking onto the sink and floor. My response to his absurd statement, " then get a glass dip it in the toilet and drink the water." Realizing that they could careless about the situation, we left to the Hyatt. Did we receive an apology? Absolutely NOT!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank laura g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jcochie, General Manager at Alexander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

First, let's look at our plumbing configuration: everything is stacked (toilets over toilets, sinks over sinks, tubs over tubs, and showers over showers). The guest states "have toilet water leaking onto the sink and floor". A dripping leak onto a sink would have come from an over-flowing sink.
The condition was reported to our desk agent (who is often named on this site for his excellent customer service) at about 7:00 PM on a Saturday evening. The guest came to the desk with three ultimatums: 1) The agent could go up and fix the leak immediately (agent is not a plumber and was unsure how long it might take to get our plumber on-site), 2) Move to another two-bedded room (the Inn was sold out and we were unable to move them), and 3) Allow to check out with no charges (including previous night's stay).
The agent apologized to the guest and offered to go up to clean any mess, and to place a bucket to catch any drips only UNTIL he could attempt to reach someone or UNTIL a solution could be developed. The guest indicated he would discuss it with his wife.
The guest's wife came to the desk; and said less-than-complimentary things to the apologetic desk agent. We gladly accepted their ultimatum to leave the Inn without being charged.
The room was inspected less than an hour later......no leaking, no dripping, no signs of wet floor, no wet towels. Pictures were taken of the bathroom to review with management on Sunday morning.
Everywhere across the country and in individuals' homes.....things happen, plumbing leaks. You simply make accommodations until the problem is promptly fixed and move on. We do not feel that the best tact is to condemn the hotel or home owner as being horrible.
We are sorry for any inconveniences experienced by our guests; and we stand by the professionalism of our staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 87 in Philadelphia
5,282 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Inn

Address: 301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $159 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alexander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel with 48 designer rooms, private baths, Hi speed wireless internet, in-room safes, DirecTV with 8 complimentary movie channels, great artwork, breakfast buffet, fitness center, historic tours from our door, discounted indoor parking nearby, a friendly staff and reasonable and consistent rates from $125.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alexander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Philadelphia
Alexander Inn Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing