We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than just good value”
Review of Alexander Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alexander Inn
Ranked #8 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
westport ct
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“More than just good value”
Reviewed June 9, 2008

How wonderful to find a hotel that's actually nicer than you hoped. Staff are helpful and pleasant; the rooms are well designed and attractive; everywhere you look this hotel delivers more then you expect. We stayed here when my daughter started med school in Phili, and have never been tempted to try anywhere else. Inexpensive without making you feel cheap!

  • Liked — decor, thoughtfulness
  • Disliked — single elevator
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pbs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    774
    398
    83
    27
    28
See reviews for
208
542
156
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2008

Review: Outstanding – both for value and convenience.
Stay dates: May 5 - 8, 2008
We stayed 4-days and loved the place. Except for the room size, which is small, the hotel is clean and the cleaning staff does a good job. We would recommend it to anyone who is on a budget but still wants to be in and feel the city. The people at the front desk are polite, knowledgeable about the area and have a great sense of humor. The breakfast is continental but has many items including fresh fruit. Parking is $10/day and is two blocks away but it is not a serious draw back. There are both reasonably and high priced places to eat within walking distance. You are three blocks away from center city business and shopping and you are not far from historic Philadelphia or the subway. The hotel is located very close to Jefferson Hospital. It is not a plush palace but it is comfortable and convenient to everything center city Philadelphia has to offer. We will use it again and recommend it to travelers on a budget.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness and price
  • Disliked — Parking was close but not convenient
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Chief055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2008

I love this hotel!!! It was perfect! We checked in & were greeted with smiling faces and everyone was very helpful. They had great suggestions for food & places to visit in the area (walking distance). It's only 6 blocks to Independence Hall and very safe feeling about the area it's in.
The room was just wonderful. Nothing super huge or fancy, but a good size to stretch out and not feel cramped.
They had a good selection at breakfast, nothing super fancy - but enough to get you going.
When we checked out the front desk called us a cab and made sure we were set. They were very helpful during our stay.
When we go back to Philly, we will be staying here again.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — not being able to stay longer
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatIslandCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2008

The Alexander Inn is not a luxury hotel, but is a comfortable and welcoming inn in a quaint neighborhood. This small hotel is in a great location if you want to experience staying in a great neighborhood rather than a crowed business or tourist district. Great neighborhood restaurants. There is also plenty to do nearby and within walking distance. There are bigger, more expensive hotels just down the street, but this place is quiet, small and relaxing, convenient, reasonably priced, and with all the amenities we needed.
Some rooms may be small. It’s better to reserve a deluxe room : they're more spacious for just a few dollars more. Our king-bed room was a little small but not too bad, it was quiet, with free wireless and had bay windows with a great view of the Philadelphia skyline. The hotel was very clean and the staff always friendly and willing to give advice on great places to eat and fun things to do in the city. In the morning there is a great breakfast (toast, danishes, bagels, fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt). Right around the corner from Antiques Row and only a few blocks from historic sites. The location of the Alexander is excellent as well, as you are only a few short blocks from great places to eat and the location of the hotel is very safe, too. I can honestly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — Hotel reasonably priced with all the amenities
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GORILLAS63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2008

I just stayed at the Alexander Inn during my visit to Philly. First of all, for the money I paid (approx. $107 per night not including tax), it is a very good value.

The Positives:
-terrific location and lovely neighborhood - an easy and enjoyable walk anywhere in the Downtown area;
-front desk friendliness - the General Manager, John (I think) is just such a friendly, helpful individual - he is a wealth of info about Philly and is a great resource;
-relatively quiet - although on a well-traveled street, it is a pretty quiet little Inn at night

The Less Than Positives:
-pillows are like bags of sand - bring your own!
-small rooms - but, hey, remember the PRICE!

Overall, I would return to the Alexander Inn as I felt I received good value for my money. It's not a luxury hotel, but is a comfortable and welcoming gem in a quaint neighborhood - that's good enough for me!!

  • Liked — location, price, friendliness
  • Disliked — pillows
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelDiva51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2008

My fiance' and I stayed at the Alexander Inn for two nights as part of a weeklong visit to Philly. We felt welcomed by the staff and we appreciated the attention to detail in the lovely decor and restoration of an historic buliding. The hotel's location is absolutely perfect for walking out and enjoying the sights.

Everything was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was a nice touch. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Location, decor
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nukegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
98 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2008

Lovely, hotel. Guys behind reception very friendly and helpful. . I got an impression that they really want their guests to have a great stay and are genuinely interested in making sure that you do

This hotel has free internet / computer access which amazed and pleased me.

Easy to walk to the Bell and Independence Hall from the hotel, plus South Street is also not too far, I walked to and from and enjoyed being able to look about the streets.

Strongly recommend a lunch stop at Reading Terminal Market....brilliant fresh food and something for everyone’s taste.

  • Liked — Felt safe
  • Disliked — Shower
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank April-holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,781 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Inn

Property: Alexander Inn
Address: 301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alexander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel with 48 designer rooms, private baths, Hi speed wireless internet, in-room safes, DirecTV with 8 complimentary movie channels, great artwork, breakfast buffet, fitness center, historic tours from our door, discounted indoor parking nearby, a friendly staff and reasonable and consistent rates from $125.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alexander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Philadelphia
Alexander Inn Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing