We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience in the Heart of Philly”
Review of Alexander Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alexander Inn
Ranked #9 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience in the Heart of Philly”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

A really lovely hotel to arrive to after a long journey from London. It's within walking distance of the city’s main centre such as the Reading Terminal Market (head to DiNic's for the best pork sandwich ever!), Liberty Bell Centre/ historical district, Love Park and much more. Philadelphia is a really great walking city; I and my partner very rarely used any form of public transport.
As far as the hotel goes, it was clean with descent sized rooms, breakfast was very nice- good selection of pastries and cereals, juice etc and overall a very friendly atmosphere with helpful staff.
Highly recommended for couples who are looking for an nice boutique style hotel with a great location and reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    419
    86
    28
    28
See reviews for
221
566
160
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TAICHUNG
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I chose the Alexander Inn based on many favourable reviews on Trip Advisor and, generally speaking, after a 6 night stay, was not dissapointed.

The location is good, being within easy walking distance of most of the tourist places in Philly, as well as South Street and the Italian "quarter". The hotel calls itself a "boutique hotel", which, in my opinion, stretches the definition of "Boutique" a bit.

The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful & breakfast was adequate, but with limited choices ( No hot food such as sausages, eggs etc.).

My only compliant was with my room. The room itself was small, but comfortable. However, I was given a room at the bottom of a flight of stairs which turned out to be noisy at times. The walls are also thin and on some nights one could hear the activities in the room next door. If I should stay there again, I would request a room at one emnd of the building, away from eleavtors and stairs.

all thing considered, I would return there again.

Room Tip: Stay away from any room close to the stairs and elevators. Upper floors should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SPAMELOPE010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Very reasonable rates and everyone working there was incredibly helpful making recommendations for restaurants within walking distances. Their location could not have been better--right there in Center City near most attractions or bus lines! The breakfast with fresh flowers and fruit, boiled eggs, and breads held us during our busy day touring. This is the best deal going in Philly and we will definitely return to this inn!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the street but we had no problem with the street noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine4721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I found out about this hotel from a New York Times review. The review was absolutely correct about the ideal location of the hotel. Located in a Greenwich Village type neighborhood within short walking distance of the theatre district, varied restaurants, antique dealers, downtown shopping center and major monuments.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms have a good view of the night skyline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FPWhitePlains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyertown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked this hotel based on the comments from Trip Advisor reviews. We are so glad we did. Instead of paying ridiculous prices for a night in downtown Philly, this place was so reasonable it was unbelievable. The front desk was so helpful with all our questions we had, and the room was very nice and had a very comfty bed. Wish we could have stayed another night. No question, when we need to stay in Philly again, this will be our go to place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is the second time i have stayed at this inn, which is right in Center City, Philadelphia, within walking distance of many attractions. We requested a particular room and they were able to accommodate us. We returned from a busy afternoon with a bottle of wine, which they gladly opened for us. i especially like that the glasses in the rooms are actually glass, especially when we were drinking wine. The continental breakfast was more than adequate, with fruit, yogurt, cereals, breads and pastries.

Room Tip: Our room was on a corner on the 5th floor and so had windows on 2 sides
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredtraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yarmouth, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Very clean, tidy and charming. Recently stayed in room 406 midweek for two nights. The bedroom and bathroom are small but I've stayed in smaller rooms in NY. There was adequate room and storage for our things. No broken, saggy mattress here! The bed is very firm but my husband and I prefer a firm bed. Bathroom is fully tiled and the shower had great water pressure and felt wonderful! Towels were plush and soft.The room was quiet and we slept very well. Breakfast spread was generous and beautiful (glass and real flatware, no paper and plastic) with fresh flowers on the table and a gentleman who greeted us "good morning" and cleaned up our dishes. Recommendations for restuarants in the area were spot-on. We had some of the best food we've ever eaten (try Schlesinger's Deli). Garces Trading Company for wine and cheese. The location is within walking distance to major sightseeing sights and you can park your car at discount rate just up the road. The price is great for what is offered and the hotel is adorable and well-kept and well-cared for. If you are looking for a suite or large room to spread out in, this is not the place for you, but if you don't mind compact, will be out of your room most of the time taking in the sights, and like clean and affordable, you'll love this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scigme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,134 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Inn

Property: Alexander Inn
Address: 301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alexander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel with 48 designer rooms, private baths, Hi speed wireless internet, in-room safes, DirecTV with 8 complimentary movie channels, great artwork, breakfast buffet, fitness center, historic tours from our door, discounted indoor parking nearby, a friendly staff and reasonable and consistent rates from $125.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Alexander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Philadelphia
Alexander Inn Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing