We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great rooms, in the middle of it all.”
Review of Alexander Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alexander Inn
Ranked #9 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, great rooms, in the middle of it all.”
Reviewed May 2, 2008

We stayed at the Alexander Inn during the hottest time of the year in Philly. The hotel and all it's employees are just great. The rooms are quite beautiful, much more than you would expect. Once you are in your room you forget that you are in the middle of this big noisy city. It is very peaceful and relaxing inside. There is also a gym and business center in the hotel that was also quite nice. Over all, the hotel is very clean, the staff is very helpful and I will go back any time I am in Philly. There is also plenty to do nearby and within walking distance. Yes there are bigger, more expensive hotels just down the street, but this place is quiet, small and relaxing.

  • Liked — Location, friendly staff, affordable.
  • Disliked — Nothing, there were no issues!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dave6503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    419
    86
    28
    28
See reviews for
221
566
160
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2008

This small hotel is in a great location if you want to experience staying in a great neighborhood rather than a crowed business or tourist district. It is about a 10-minute walk from the Convention Center and the Market Street Subway. So you don’t have to pay for a taxi from the airport or train station if your luggage has good wheels.

Great neighborhood restaurants. At least two are BYOB and they don’t even charge a corkage fee! The state liquor/wine store is a bit less than a 10 minute walk away on Locust between 12 and 13 streets. They are open in the evening but close at 5 on Sunday.

Very clean. Small bathrooms but not a problem. Some rooms may be small. Splurge for a larger room – it’s still cheap. AAA 10% discount.

They have 2 free internet terminals which should have good availability for this 48 room hotel with free wifi in the rooms. Free printing of boarding passes but $1/page otherwise!

Very good breakfast as long as you are not low carb limited.

Reserve as soon as you can because there is great demand for this hotel with great value. Appears to have been renovated just a few years ago. Am looking forward to my next visit.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank AllenDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Level 6 Contributor
557 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 471 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2008

This is small boutique hotel is located within walking distance from the historic sites. We booked months ahead and had our choice of two rooms. We booked the smaller, less expensive room since we were just going to sleep there and the fellow told us it was the quieter of the two. It was workable, but it was one of the smallest rooms we have ever stayed in. As we walked passed the open doors of other rooms they seemed quite spacious, so that's something to consider. This hotel is located in an almost residential area. There are several restaurants within a few blocks. It is in the "gay district" but we didn't see any obvious signs of that other than the rainbows on the street names and the banners flying above the streets. The gentlemen at the desk were always helpful and informative. The breakfast was good. The only downsides that I can see (other than the size of the room) was getting the luggage into and out of the hotel. It's on a one way street and the loading zone is on the other side. When we arrived it was full and we had to double park. The other problem for me was that the wooden blinds don't really darken the room. It was a great stay and I would highly recommend this place. If it's full, I noticed there is a small Rodeway Inn around the corner you might try. The location was really helpful because driving and parking are really out of the question there.

  • Liked — The proximity to historic sites
  • Disliked — Loading zone to drop and load luggage
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Saxeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas but at home on a cruiseship
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2008

We just got home from a wonderful trip to Philly and stayed at the Alexander Inn four nights. I found out about this hotel from TripAdviser and the mostly good reviews that I read. I have to say that felt right at home there, the staff was so helpful and friendly, in fact the best service I have ever had and I traveled 35 years as a road salesman. Yes the room was a little small but not too bad, it was quiet, they have a weight rooms and free wireless and use of their computers, and we will never stay anywhere else when traveling to Philly. If I had to state a few minor negatives, I would have liked a coffee pot for coffe other than in the morning, fluffier pillows, and some kind of protein at breakfast. The neighborhood the hotel is in was perfect for walking most anywhere in the city and even though it is said to be gay oriented, my wife and I never once felt uncomfortable. I can honestly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — The staff was fantastic and the location was ideal
  • Disliked — No coffee in the afternoon or evening, no microwave, no protein for breakfast and the pillows were not fluffy
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank strongirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2008

Took my mom for a one night stay. Friendly and accomodating staff. Nice spread for breakfast in the morning. (toast, danishes, bagels, fresh fruit, cereal, yogurt) Clean rooms. Rooms could be considered small by American standards, didn't bother us since we didn't spend much time in the room. Great Location. Plenty of places to eat nearby. Right around the corner from Antiques Row and only a few blocks from historic sites. Would definitely recommend and go again.

  • Liked — Location, Staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misstina26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2008

We were looking for a not too expensive place from which to experience some of the wonderful restaurants and sites that Philadelphia has to offer...in particular the Frida Kahlo exhibit at the Philadelphia Museum of Art. All the hotels recommended for the trip down from NYC were too expensive! Always an adventure with Tripadvisor, but were not disappointed. Everything in the other reviews is true! We got the cheapest queen, and although not large, extremely commodious. Wonderful spot!

  • Liked — expedient, friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank patrobnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2008

This place is all it's cracked up to be. It's a charmingly decorated historic building in a beautiful downtown residential neighborhood just a few blocks from major cultural and civic attractions. The staff are extraordinarily friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable, and take meticulous care of the property; they all seem to enjoy running such a fine place. Our king-bed room had bay windows with a great view of the Philadelphia skyline - and all the windows (including the bathroom window) actually opened! Some other things we really appreciated: (1) We arrived rather early in the day. They watched our luggage while we went around town, and then let us check in early so we could be ready for a matinee concert at the Kimmel Center. (2) There are two free internet computers in the basement fitness room. (Don't you hate paying for internet access?) (3) There's a vending machine with cold Poland Spring water for $1 a bottle - not as good as free, but a lot better than the usual warm bottle for which you're charged $5 or more. All in all, an extraordinary experience and an excellent value. If they'd add hard boiled eggs to the breakfast buffet they'd be perfect.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank museumgoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,139 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Inn

Property: Alexander Inn
Address: 301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alexander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel with 48 designer rooms, private baths, Hi speed wireless internet, in-room safes, DirecTV with 8 complimentary movie channels, great artwork, breakfast buffet, fitness center, historic tours from our door, discounted indoor parking nearby, a friendly staff and reasonable and consistent rates from $125.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Alexander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Philadelphia
Alexander Inn Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing