We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexander Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alexander Inn
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Alexander Inn is centrally located. However, it's east of Broad Street and thus a little off fancy Rittenhouse Square but close to numerous small restaurants and cafes. The rooms are on the small side but tastefully furnished. You do hear the street, and walls are a little thin but earplugs will let you sleep well in the comfy bed. Breakfast is served in a nice common room but nothing special.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomadiclife34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    373
    71
    26
    26
See reviews for
195
503
140
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Alexander Inn is a good example of how TA users should know how to use the website with care. Don't get me wrong, it is definetely a good hotel at this price range and we were satisfied with our stay. However, the avalanche of 5-star reviews and the resulting 6th rank on the TA ranking of all hotels in Philadelphia might give the unaware user the feeling that the Alex Inn is a luxurious 5-star establishment, which it isn't (and does not advertise to be so no foul play here).

The hotel is conveniently located. For those arriving by car, there is a 20-minute parking area directly across the street, very convenient to unload luggage and check-in (but no more, you will be kindly asked by staff to move the car away before the 20-minute period expires).

The hotel is in a old building. Quite charming, but feeling a tad cramped as well (smallish rooms, narrow corridors etc.) Knowing this, we booked a larger Deluxe Queen room, which was not huge but adequate. Being a corner room, it has more windows and the abundant daylight give a more spacious feeling, so worth the extra money I guess.

The bathroom is nothing fancy but adequate. Good shower pressure in our room. No fridge in the room, but filling the ice bucket with free ice from the machine in the basement did the job fine.

The hotel is generally clean, a few stains on the carpets but nothing bad.

One downside was the airco, a somewhat old-fashioned window unit. It was not excessively hot during our (August) stay but we did have to push it to the maximum to keep the room cool, I can imagine it would struggle during warmer days. Moreover, it was rather noisy and made using earplugs necessary during the night.

We did appreciate the included small buffet in the lobby for a quick breakfast.

Staff was generally very friendly, although some members of staff were friendlier than others.

Overall, we did enjoy our stay, we felt we had satisfying value for the rate we paid, Philadelphia being rather expensive in terms of hotels. Do keep in mind that this is a mid-range hotel and not a luxury hotel, no matter how high it is ranked on TA.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DrFly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
215 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Multi-night stay when in town for business. Located in an eclectic neighborhood, just one block from antique row and near the artsy area in town. The service was extremely friendly, whether at check-in, breakfast or check-out. It is tdefinitely he best bang for the buck in town, with prices at comparable hotels often 50% higher. Complimentary breakfast in the Great Room was good, although a hot entree would have been nice as it was bitterly cold in Philadelphia during my visit. The room was small, as advertised, but had a flat screen TV and was quite comfortable. Bathroom was a good size, my only request would be for the bath soap to be slightly thicker. All in all, a great visit - and definitely a great value

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveltime841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Me and 2 of my friends stayed at this hotel for a girls' weekend out. We are from central New York and had never been to Philadelphia. From the second that we made the reservation, we were treated very kindly and helpfully by the staff. We had a reservation for 2 nights and when we got there, we fell in love with the hotel. It is a very cute and boutique hotel, and the room that we were in was small, but we didn't need a lot of room, so we didn't care.

When we checked in, and the next afternoon, an excellent employee- Daniel, helped us with directions, dinner and bar recommendations and everything else that we needed. He is an excellent asset to the hotel and was so personable! David- who worked overnight; was also extremely helpful and very friendly as was the rest of the staff.

The only downside was the breakfast- it had some good aspects to it, but there wasn't much. There were some fruits, pastries (as well as bagels and pre-made waffles to put into the toaster), cereal, juice, yogurt, coffee, and hard boiled eggs. We didn't want too much for breakfast, so we weren't too affected by that. The upside is that the beds were comfortable, we were located right near/in Center City; so it was easy to get a taxi, and we were located near a LOT of restaurants and bars.

Overall, it was a great trip, and most of that had to do with our hotel! Great staff, location and very reasonable price. If I ever come to Philadephia again, I will absolutely stay here

Room Tip: We stayed on the 7th floor- that made for an excellent view. Room was small, but very very cozy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Great location in a super safe neighborhood, the Alexander Inn, was just a 6 minute walk from the Reading Terminal Market, about 10 minutes to South Street and offers all the amenities of a more expensive hotel. Our room had two double beds, a mini fridge, small dressing area, wi-fi and was very comfortable. The bed's storage space held and extra blanket and pillow, and the stay came with a great buffet breakfast of danishes, cereal, granola, coffee, fruit, toast bagels, yogurt, grapefruit (my favorite) juice, etc. Simply wonderful! the owners and front desk were always available, friendly and had great advice. Another great personal touch was being provided with personalized name cards mentioning your temporary residence AT THE HOTEL! you know how useful that it when touring around town and then trying to remember your hotel's address! they cover that base with an incredibly thoughtful extra. I loved the place and my daughter and I would have also used their mini gym had we any energy at the end of the day! Perfect price, great location and wonderful vibe!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zydecojc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Outstanding place to stay. Located an easy walking distance to historic attractions, Reading Terminal Market and shopping district. Safe area to walk. The staff were very helpful. The morning breakfast was delicious. I highly recommend this for a couples get away to Philadelphia.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peroj57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Took my ten year old nephew on his first trip to Philadelphia. We spent 3 nights at the Inn. The location was perfect. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast offerings were good and plentiful. We stayed in the corner room on the 5th floor. Very little noise.

Room Tip: Upper floor corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 59NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#5 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
The Windsor Suites
The Windsor Suites
#9 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Inn

Property: Alexander Inn
Address: 301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alexander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel with 48 designer rooms, private baths, Hi speed wireless internet, in-room safes, DirecTV with 8 complimentary movie channels, great artwork, breakfast buffet, fitness center, historic tours from our door, discounted indoor parking nearby, a friendly staff and reasonable and consistent rates from $119. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Alexander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Philadelphia
Alexander Inn Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing