We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A welcoming hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexander Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alexander Inn
Ranked #7 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A welcoming hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Loved my stay. They made me feel welcome, a home away from home. Easy walking distance to the airport train, convention center, and great food. Thank you Alexander Inn for taking care of me, for making me laugh, for great breakfasts, advanced tipping lessons, and the best food and restaurant recommendations I've ever received from a hotel. I'll return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sea-n-ski-girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    387
    78
    27
    26
See reviews for
202
526
146
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We wanted a centrally located hotel and this is just that. We wanted a quiet room and got that too (neither hurricane Sandy nor our neighbours disturbed us) We wanted good value and paid only $159 per night. The people working at the Alexander were helpful and pleasant without exception. The area is full of restaurants and bars, so a boutique hotel without these is just fine. Is there anything to criticise? Maybe the bathtub is a bit small, but that's a minor detail. Dont hesitate to go to the Alexander

Room Tip: Go for an end of the corridor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beenaroundLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

wonderful. comfortable. location is ideal. the prices are absolutely unbelieveable. i had, this time, the room for one person. it's tiny, but has all amenities. complimentary breakfast is good. the views from the upper stories rooms is awesome.

i literally can't wait to go back. this is the hotel to recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nathaliefrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I loved this place! after a stressful long day spent in far flung areas around Philadelphia, it was great to come to this haven to spend the night. efficient informative staff, nice breakfast, great ambiance, no false notes. I called at the last moment, so received a room on the street on the third floor, near a bus route, which did impact my sleep. I would ask for a room toward the back if you are sensitive to noise. on the other hand, the bay window looking onto 12th and Spruce was charming.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: So many restaurants and attractions nearby, but not touristy in the least. Take time to explore colo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank perrubud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york PA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Terrific location for our priorities--Monk's cafe and McGillin's and easy to find as we made our way from Yards. Clean, affordable, friendly. Parked the car in the garage and enjoyed being able to walk everywhere. Good value for the location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 688Barb2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellfleet, Ma
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I always stay here when in Philly (was just here this past weekend). Clean, comfortable, reasonable, and very friendly staff. Super location too! (Stop by the wine bar next door (Tria) for a late night glass of wine).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MobyDicks33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Freehold, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We came to the Alexander to escape the powerless NJ Shore during Hurricane Sandy. They had a room available on 11/1 so we took it and drove in for the night. They couldn't have been nicer on the phone, and suggested which room would be best for our needs. Every desk person was kind, considerate and helpful. The room was great, the bathroom clean, and the continental breakfast was expertly laid out and delicious! The hotel is near antique row and was a very quiet and friendly part of town. A bit of confusion with the parking deck ticket, but other than that we had a great time during a trying week. We highly and happily recommend the staff and Inn, and we will stay here during our next visit to Philadelphia. This is so much better than hotel chain experience.

Room Tip: The rooms are a bit smaller, but the quality is first rate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSF0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#10 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
City Center East
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,070 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Inn

Property: Alexander Inn
Address: 301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alexander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel with 48 designer rooms, private baths, Hi speed wireless internet, in-room safes, DirecTV with 8 complimentary movie channels, great artwork, breakfast buffet, fitness center, historic tours from our door, discounted indoor parking nearby, a friendly staff and reasonable and consistent rates from $119. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Alexander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Philadelphia
Alexander Inn Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing