We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent choice in center city!”
Review of Alexander Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alexander Inn
Ranked #8 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent choice in center city!”
Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

Great location - rooms are on the small side (bathrooms too) and hotel is generally older, however it is very clean and has everything you could want. It has a certain nice character too. Free breakfast a plus and very good! WiFi access spotty on top floor room but worked well in lobby. Price is very good for this area- definitely would stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank italytrip5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    412
    83
    28
    29
See reviews for
215
562
160
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Convenient location,fantastic staff!Walked all over Philly ! restaurant recommendations were spot on.My first choice to stay.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bayside11361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Loved our stay at the Alexander inn.Great location ,welcoming staff and super continental breakfast .The room was larger than expected for a boutique hotel and had a super view over the city from our 7th floor spot .Staff were so helpful ,even taking a picture off the wall to give me the name of the print.All in all a fab stay in the hotel and the city of brotherly love.

Room Tip: Try for the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Alexander Inn for seven nights during the first week of June. The place met or exceeded all expectations... spotlessly clean, with stylish room decor and a desk staff who were friendly and engaging, I am not sure why previous reviewers complained of "dark halls" and "dark rooms." The hallways were illuminated with soft, subdued light that we actually found very attractive. Our room (608) was a corner room which let in lots of light from both western and southern exposures, and we were fortunate to be in Philadelphia during a spell of cool, comfortable weather with highs of only 70 and lows of 50, allowing us to sleep with all the windows open at nght to let in refreshing breezes. Doing so meant that we had occasional noise from people on the street below and delivery trucks pulling up at 6 AM, but it certainly did not detract from the experience of sleeping with the windows open. On our last night, the temperature reached into the upper 80s, so we used the AC and heard not a single sound from the outside.

Our room rate of $149 per night was very reasonable. The neighborhood reminded us of NYC's Greenwich Village. We always felt safe. People were out on the streets at all hours.

The breakfast is ample, with juices, bagels, muffins, pastries, three kinds of cereal, fruit, hard-cooked eggs, yogurt, fresh grapefruit, and good coffee and teas. We enjoyed eating and drinking from nice stoneware mugs, plates, and bowls as well as stainless steel flatware... a welcome, civilized touch after the chain hotels which normally provide breakfast using flimsy plastic plates, styrofoam cups, and brittle plastic knives and forks. The breakfast area was constantly replenished and kept clean and tidy.

We found that dining out in Philadelphia was considerably more expensive than in Columbus, so we ate many meals in the local pub restaurants. Finn McCool's, on 12th street just a few blocks north of the hotel, was particularly good, with weekday happy hours from 5-7 PM (three-dollar draft beers and four-dollar glasses of wine), as well as a substantial and delicious fish-and-chips platter for $12.50. Some of the other nearby restaurants were just too expensive for our wallet... Mercato, for example, wanted $25 for a pasta entree that was just spaghetti tossed with garlic, olive oil, and herbs.

We were pleasantly surprised by how walkable the city is. It was an easy 15-minute walk from the hotel to Independence Hall and the historic areas. On our first day, the weather was so gorgeous that we actually walked to the Philadelphia Museum of Art, which, on a map. seems to be at a great distance from the hotel but was actually just a good 40-minute stroll with great sights along the way.

We will most definitely return to the Alexander Inn on our next trip to Philadelphia.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BookDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stopped here for one night, the room we got was quiet small and dated, the bathroom was very tiny and cramped. The toilet got clogged which we later found out was a common issue with the inn due to the plumbIng, The staff were prompt to correct the issue and were extremely friendly.
The inn is located in a safe area which is a close walk to the historical area of Philadelphia and the staff at the inn were helpful in suggesting how to get around. If you are relying on the free wifi that the inn offers you better ask to be located close to reception as it was very unreliable on the higher levels. The inn also offers a free breakfast and snacks and fresh fruit 24 hours a day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cleoAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Nj Usa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

The decor was gorgeous and the hotel was extremely clean. The staff was friendly, helpful and fun. The location was in the middle of everything and in a safe neighborhood. This was the best hotel I have been to in a very long time. I wish every hotel was like the Alexander Inn.

Room Tip: The bed pillow was a bit hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahBAzavedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

The staff goes out of its way to accommodate you, make you feel comfortable and welcomed! It's worth the stay for their helpfulness alone. The Inn is located near the major performing arts spaces, and within walking distance from most attractions. Fantastic restaurants surround the hotel. The rooms are cozy and provide enough of what you need--the bed was particularly comfortable. Breakfast is provided and consists of cereal, fruit, danish, various types of bread and bagels, hard-boiled eggs and yogurt. There is a small gym in the basement. For a small boutique hotel, they make the most of what they have--and all at an affordable price. I traveled with a group of friends and this staff couldn't have been more helpful in making our stay terrific! I will go back, for sure.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrooklynGuy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,052 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Inn

Property: Alexander Inn
Address: 301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alexander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel with 48 designer rooms, private baths, Hi speed wireless internet, in-room safes, DirecTV with 8 complimentary movie channels, great artwork, breakfast buffet, fitness center, historic tours from our door, discounted indoor parking nearby, a friendly staff and reasonable and consistent rates from $125.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Alexander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Philadelphia
Alexander Inn Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing