We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hostel we have stayed at in America”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apple Hostels Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and had a fantastic time. It has everything the tired traveler craves - from free tea and coffee, to a comfy lounge with movie nights often showing new releases. The layout of the place is great - there are lots of pockets of areas to relax in including large couches, bean bags and bar stools with tables. The kitchen and facilities are great - the rooms are spacious and plenty of bathrooms - never had to wait to use anything. The staff were passionate about providing top quality accommodation and helping us experience the city. Can see why they have won lots of awards over the last few years!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliceB_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

152 - 158 of 383 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2014

I stayed at Apple Hostels Philly for 3 nights and I gotta say I enjoyed every single minute here! The staff is super friendly, offers help wherever you might need it, tips to where to go and what's worth visiting in the city, which restaurants are good/cheap...
The activities are cool, too, probably also because they top it with free beer here and there!
On top of all this, it is really clean. The kitchen is probably the cleanest and best stocked kitchen I have ever seen in a Hostel!
They just offer so many things and all with this unparalleled ease and fun in what they are doing!
Simply wonderful and definitely recommendable!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Babs_Green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I've been staying in hostels since my long gone youth and came away from this hostel feeling it was the best I had visited. Each staff member was extremely friendly and helpful in accommodating needs and giving great suggestions of what to see and do in the city. Very clean, excellent kitchen, brilliant location. I hope I get to visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maureen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

This hostel was GREAT! it is super clean, the staff is amazing and there is lots to do in the hostel if you happen to catch a snowstorm or rainy day. I was in town for 2 days and really enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Nice staff, very clean and with a cool modern look. The common areas were always very clean, the kitchen has all the supplies you need to cook, even spices (that was really appreciated) and sandwich bags.

The location is very good (we walked everywhere but if you want to use public transport, the subway and buses are really close by). They also have cool activities (such as pub crawls, free pasta diner, ghost tour for $2, movie nights, etc) and free tea and coffee all day.

Things I didn't like:

- You have to go up a really narrow stair (we stayed in the coed room and you have to climb a lot of stairs!)

- The rooms were really hot (even though outside it was not warm). They have AC but when we asked to turn it on they told us that they turn it on after 6 pm (so that was really stupid, because we wanted to take a quick nap to go and explore the city)

-There is a women bathroom inside the coed room, so it was usual to find a guy inside (even though the bathroom was for women)

- The common bathrooms that were upstairs needed some cleaning (they usually clean very often the kitchen and the common areas but in my opinion they didn't take enough care of these bathrooms)

-They turn off the lights with a key at 11 pm (so you cannot manipulate the lights) that was really annoying especially because we were the only guests in our room and they turned off the lights anyway.

The hostel was really good, the details I mentioned bothered me but there are not reasons not to stay here. I would definitively recommend it and I would stay here again if I come back to Philly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vero156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

This is the first time I travel alone so I was a bit scared of what it would be like, and one of my main concerns was the hotel. So I packed extremely light (I only came for the weekend and spent one night) do that I could carry my bag with me at all times and still tour the city in case the hostel turned out to be less than pleasing. But I was wrong. Except for some hair found in the shower and the women's bathroom floor, everything was quite clean. I even sent pictures of the place to one of my neat freak friends. In order to enter the rooms you need to enter a code, so it is reasonably safe. There's always sb at the ftont desk, at least during waking hours. The kitchen is pretty well equipped. There are: large/small bowls, silver ware, plates, spices, pots and pans, appliances, cups, glasses, foil & plastic wraps, paper and plastic bags, etc. In the mornings there is free cereal and milk. Also cofee and tea bags. In the living area, there's a tv, chess board, metegol (sorry!don't know the word in English for it), a wii, computers. Oh, the internet connection is strong and I didn't have trouble once. If there is one thing that brought me trouble, was finding the hotel in the first place! Bank st is only two blocks long and quite far away fron the bus station at 30th st. Ah, I almost forgot about this. There's bar opposite and the music might be loud. I don't know, I didn't happen to hear anything but fyi, there are earplugs. available. I'm sure there are more things to say but I can't remember them. Oh well, I hope this will help you picture what this place is like.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I stayed here over the weekend, in the women's dorm. The hostel is clean, the staff are friendly and helpful. I personally liked that the lights are turned off at 11pm it means you aren't disturbed by others who come in later. The hostel is also close to all the attractions of the historic area of town with plenty of public transport nearby. Definitely staying here again when next in Philadelphia!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Hostels Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Hostels Philadelphia

Address: 32 S Bank St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2811 (Formerly Bank Street Hostel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Philadelphia
Price Range: $26 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Apple Hostels Philadelphia 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apple Hostels is the only hostel in downtown Philadelphia, close to all major attractions and the best bars and clubs in Philly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Apple Hostels Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Hostels Of Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing