We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average but not good!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apple Hostels Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Average but not good!”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I just stayed one night yesterday, I wanted to tell that this hostel is far from the best hotel in the US! I tried HI in San francisco and San Diego and we can not compare them!
Honestly, the hostel is clean and the staff really friendly. However, except that, there is nothing to say good of this hostel!
I paid 40 dollars for a bunked bed in a dorm. It was not written how many beds countains the room. So I expected something like 8 or 10 beds, as usual. When I got there, I found out that the room was 28 beds!! Is that normal? I called that a rip-off! So many in a room, we should pay 20 dollars! (just count how much they earn per night when it s sold out!). Oh and by the way, they dont have any breakfast!
I would say, if you can find any other place to sleep just go! otherwise, let's sleep with 27 other people! :-)

Room Tip: go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank alexandra f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AppleHostels, Owner at Apple Hostels Philadelphia, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Hi Alexandra,

We're always sad when someone hasn't enjoyed their stay with us. Since Alexandra is not your real name and therefore I cannot find you in our system, I have to assume by what you wrote that you checked in very late in the day and left early the next morning and didn't really get to experience our hostel to its fullest, which is a shame. If you are looking for the least amount of beds in a room that is called a hotel, and yes, the HI hostels in San Francisco and San Diego have fewer beds in their dorms and are about as much fun as a hotel. We on the other hand are a hostel and believe that hostels are meant to be fun and a great way to meet fellow travelers. That is why instead of a breakfast we have free wine and cheese on Tuesdays, a free pasta dinner on Wednesdays, free mixed drinks before our free pub crawl on Thursdays and free beer every other night. As an extra bonus, we do have free cereal and oatmeal on Friday, Saturday and Sunday mornings and we have a discounted breakfast 7 days a week at a nearby 60's diner. And while we do have more than 8 beds in our dorm rooms, they are very spaceous and we're often told that they are much more comfortable to sleep in than most 6-bed dorm rooms, plus they're a great way to meet people. However, if you don't want to meet other travelers I would highly recommend staying in a hotel, or perhaps the HI hostels in San Francisco or San Diego. ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    128
    28
    13
    12
See reviews for
8
29
178
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights, found it fairly easily, staff were friendly on arrival and pointed out the location of all the relevant areas. I had also accidentally booked the wrong dates but they were very helpful and sorted it out.
The dorm was much bigger than advertised (there may have been 16 bunk beds - definitely more than 16 beds). However it was relatively quiet - main issue was the people stomping past my bed making the floor shake! And the lack of light control - I think main lights going off at a set time is good but 11 is quite late if people are early starters. Especially as every bed had a light as well, it could have been earlier.
A good range of activities on offer though I didn't join in, and the free tea/coffee and weekend breakfast were appreciated.
The kitchen was well equipped, bright and clean as was the common area.
Showers were fine - four shared between the room of 32? females but never more than one other person in there when I used them. And an additional one downstairs too.
Stairs were narrow for people passing but I guess thats the nature of the building.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AppleHostels, Owner at Apple Hostels Philadelphia, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
I'm really happy that you enjoyed your stay! Regarding the lights in the dorm room, we get more remarks about the lights being turned off too early and rarely if ever get any remarks about the lights being turned off too late. We have many check ins before 11 pm, so turning the lights off before then would make it troublesome for everyone checking in and searching for an available bed. The few guests that do check in past 11 pm receive a flashlight to help them find their way until they turn on their reading lamp. To those who say that we turn the lights off too early I tell them exactly what you said, that they can turn on the reading lights that each bed is equipped with. Thanks for writing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, RS
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I've stayed 2 times in this hostel. It's located in a VERY ugly street, but it's a good location, near historical places, bars and public transportation. The staff is fine and helpful. The dorms are full (almost 20 guys in the same dorm), but it wasn't a problem. The bathroom was always clean.

The main problem of this hostel are the killer stairs. When I was leaving, I had to go down the stairs with two suitcases and another person was climbing the stairs. Lacked space and I fell down the stairs, seriously injuring my ankle (I did a surgery when I arrived in Brazil). VERY CAREFUL WITH THE STAIRS.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thiago_Gremista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This was a really nice hostel, we were slightly worried upon turning up as it appeared to be in an alley but it is in fact in one of the oldest streets in Philadelphia and perfectly safe. 

We were apprehensive knowing the girls dorm was 32 bed as we'd been in 6 bed dorms that were loud and messy. HOWEVER, this was possibly the best dorm I've stayed in. The staff regulate the lights so they switch off at 11pm and on at 10am, which is great because it means you aren't disturbed when people return late/leave early. The room was very spacious and tidy and you get your own locker (bring your own lock), lamp and plug socket. 

However, $40+ per night is way too much for a 32 bed dorm, the general rules of hostel prices seem to be, the bigger the dorm, the lower the price, however this was the most expensive yet largest dorm I've stayed in. 

The lack of breakfast is disappointing, they only do it at weekends and say that this is so they can provide entertainment etc in the evening, however most hostels provide entertainment in the evening yet still provide free breakfast, AND are about half the price. 

The location and hostel itself are very good, but I would only be inclined to stay again if the prices were lower, or if you got more for your money - ie. free breakfast, free use of the computers.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AverageGiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AppleHostels, Owner at Apple Hostels Philadelphia, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Thank you for your comments! Regarding the lack of breakfast... Instead of providing a breakfast every morning (we only have free cereal and oatmeal on Friday, Saturday and Sunday mornings) we instead offer free wine and cheese on Tuesdays, a free pasta dinner on Wednesdays, free mixed drinks on Thursdays and free beer ever other night. Our goal is to get everyone to socialize with one another in the evenings. And while yes, if a hostel has different size dorm rooms then the smaller the dorm room the higher the price. We only have one size dorm room so we only have one price. The reason our rates are as high as an 8-bed dorm in another city, is that comparatively speaking we have a better location than those hostels and we have better service. We could cut costs by moving to a location out of the centre, by having poor staff and by not providing free things, and pass the savings on to our guests. But would you rather pay $28 to be in a crappy to mediocre hostel or pay $35 to be in the 2nd highest rated hostel in America?

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

Great staff,very professional yet helpful. Loved the eve beer and good atmosphere. Very clean for such a big place. The thing that really got to me after 2 days was just the sheer number of people sharing one large u shaped room, I think it was about 25 beds in that room. It was just too many for me, I had expected 6-8 as in other hostels. There was large bathroom which wasn't crowded.There were also plenty of lockers, and the hostel felt safe. I did forget my brand new,very favorite watch in the shower and it was gone when I looked for it 10 minutes later :(.Noone had turned it in. But that can happen anywhere. Most Youth hostellers and staff I've met are pretty fine people....still wish the person who found it would turn it in. All in all, location,atmosphere is great, but too many beds in one room. I know space is a premium but it sure would be nice to Divide the rooms up into smaller rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auntieannie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
131 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights, in a the 16th couple bed dorm.
The room was big and spacious, the hygiene issue is being treated well, however, is you have 16 people in one room it is obvious the hygiene it will depend on guests involved.
The common area is clean and big enough as well as the kitchen.
The location is ideal with some restaurants and touristic places nearby. The staff is friendly and will recommend and help you with your questions.
A nice idea they follow is the thematic night, one night you will have movie night the other could be free pasta night or the bar night….
The only recommendation or issue to review will be the price per night. If you are 1 person it is still acceptable price but if you are 2, your price will become comparable to a standard hotel. They should have special prices for couples or 3 people.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nabilios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE! They have bedbugs! & even worse, wen I told the staff this, not only did they blame me (not possible as I'd come from a private residence) but they also demanded that I quarantine all my belongs in bin bags & stay in the same bed for the remainder of my stay! When I refused the manager called me a "little b**ch" & kicked me out! I have never met a ruder individual & such an atrociously bad system for dealing with the bugs. They were still checking people into the same dorm after I had informed them of the bugs. Someone also slept in that bed that night. Disgusting. On the upside, the woman at the front desk was sympathetic & could obviously see it wasn't my fault.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Elainestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Apple Hostels Philadelphia, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Although it isn't even certain that what you had was the result of bed bugs, we took absolutely no risk and immediately quarantined all of your belongings and everything that you came into contact with and began to wash all of the items that could be washed or dried at a high temperature to be certain that if you did bring bed bugs into our hostel that they would not spread. When you refused to cooperate by not allowing us to wash or quarantine certain items we had no choice but to remove you from the hostel.

The fact that you told us that you had stayed in someone's private residence before staying with us alarmed us because you are more likely to get bed bugs in someone's residence than you are in a hotel or hostel.

It is precisely because we have one of the best systems in place for preventing bed bugs and dealing with them if/when someone brings them into our building, that we have never had an outbreak of them in the 4-plus years that we've owned it. The wellbeing of our guests is of the utmost importance to us which is why when you refused to cooperate we had no choice but to remove you for the protection of everyone else. You brought the problem into our hostel, we tried to help you, but when you wouldn't allow us to do that we refunded you for your stay and asked you to leave.

Although we can't be certain that what you had were bed bug bites, I can say that no one else had any bites prior to you and no one has had any since.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Independence Park Hotel
0.2 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Philadelphia
0.2 mi away
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
0.2 mi away
Penn's View Hotel
Penn's View Hotel
#10 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.8 mi away
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apple Hostels Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Hostels Philadelphia

Property: Apple Hostels Philadelphia
Address: 32 S Bank St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2811 (Formerly Bank Street Hostel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Apple Hostels Philadelphia 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apple Hostels is the only hostel in downtown Philadelphia, close to all major attractions and the best bars and clubs in Philly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Apple Hostels Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apple Hostels Of Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing