We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh my goodness do not miss it”
Review of Butcher & Singer

Butcher & Singer
Reserve with OpenTable
Butcher & Singer is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 4,357 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 15th Street
Transit: Broad Street Line - Walnut Locust Station. Market-Frankford El – 15th Street stop (City Hall)
Central Valley, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oh my goodness do not miss it”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Top notch steakhouse that is priced as you would expect it to be. Don't miss the stuffed hash browns or the baked Alaska. My NY strip was prepared perfectly at medium rare and seasoned appropriately. Love it love it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mfs1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    147
    38
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

My large family and I recently celebrated the graduation of our eldest son from Drexel University in Philadelphia, PA and we wanted to celebrate this momentous occasion with a special dinner. We choose Butcher and Singer as our venue and we couldn't have been happier with our experience.

The restaurant is a beautiful old bank building with stunning decor. There are high ceilings and marble floors, tall columns and beautiful lighting throughout with wonderful music from the 30's playing quietly in the background. The food was amazing from the mouth watering escargot, perfectly prepared steaks and stuffed hash browns (which are a must) to the amazing Baked Alaska. My daughter had the twin lobster tails that were the best I've ever tasted and the mashed potatoes were to die for! I really can't say enough about the food! It was all just amazing. I have to give a shout out too to our waiter, Tom! He made our night one of the most memorable we've ever had. He was fun and witty yet the epitome of a professional waiter. From the minute we sat down he made us feel at ease and welcome and he explained, in depth, everything on the menu and how it would be or could be prepared. Fabulous!

It was a wonderful way to celebrate our son's graduation and we are just so thankful that we chose Butcher and Singer. It's a dinner we will talk about for a very long time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank melzyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Definition of a steakhouse!”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful meal with excellent service. Shared 1/2 dozen fresh oysters, the wedge salad, filet and lobster tail, and stuffed hash browns (OMG). Expect pricing similar to Mortons or Capital Grille, but an authentic 1940's steak house feel. Wonderful...

Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
los angeles
Level Contributor
200 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Great old school steak house”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We were seated promptly and the restaurant was packed. Gorgeous room with high ceilings, wood panels and a cool mural. Used to be a financial institution and has a really " power" feel. Steaks were great quality and beautifully prepared. The has bron side stuffed with aug gratin potatoes in sour cream was noteworthy. Escargots were fantastic as was tuna sashimi with tzatziki sauce. Great service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tripindicular1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Phenomenal!! ”
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Such a great atmosphere, wonderful service and best steaks on the east coast! Valet parking available as well

Helpful?
Thank gaustinrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butcher & Singer also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Butcher & Singer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing