We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't give many "5" for restaurants, and I'm picky about steak...”
Review of Butcher & Singer

Butcher & Singer
Reserve with OpenTable
Butcher & Singer is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 4,405 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 15th Street
Transit: Broad Street Line - Walnut Locust Station. Market-Frankford El – 15th Street stop (City Hall)
Abilene, TX
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“I don't give many "5" for restaurants, and I'm picky about steak...”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I do steakhouses - Bern's, Flemings, Capitol Grille, etc. This was outstanding. The service was attentive and professional, prompt but not pushy. Steak (ribeye) was marbled but only lost 12% to marbling - just right. Cooked as I asked (burned outside, red inside) - I will be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MangaMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    153
    40
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, food and ambience”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This was our first visit to Philadelphia for many years, and I chose this restaurant for my wife's birthday dinner; we both loved the place. There is plenty of space between tables and booths, and lots of rich, dark wood and leather helps add to the atmosphere. The service was excellent, as was the food. Our steaks were cooked to perfection, as were the side dishes we ordered; these were so plentiful, they could have served four people quite easily. It was a cold, wet night in early April, and so we both chose the French onion soup to begin. While this was also wonderful, it did not leave me room to try the baked Alaska as a dessert, so I shall just have to go back the next time we are in Philadelphia!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travlinbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Went on a Sunday night so there weren't too many diners BUT it was perfect for us. The decor of this place is SO FUN! It was an old bank building of some sort and decorated like the 40's maybe? The music was jazzy and perfect for the vibe! Since it wasn't too crowded, the meal was served very readily. Steaks were cooked to perfection. The stuffed hashbrowns were YUMMMY as was the brussel sprout side. It was just a very fun night and great atmosphere! Will go back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ANN S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chef has a heavy hand with the salt”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Like other Stephen Starr restaurants, the decor is extremely nice as is the waiter/waitress staff. My main complaint is that my filet and lobster had too much salt; usually a sign of a poor chef or cheap food, which this food was not cheap. The baked Alaska was marvelous. The staff never took our coats and I unfortunately dropped food on it, now to have it dry cleaned.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Night in the city”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Great dinner with the best of friends at Starr's Philadelphia steak house, Butcher and Singer.
Very good delmonico perfectly medium-rare, we had the recommended stuffed hash browns and they did not disappoint. The wedge salad was very good as was the side of fresh asparagus. Wonderful wine list made the dinner. The atmosphere was wonderful, great downtown building.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butcher & Singer also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Butcher & Singer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing