We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New Market B&B
Nearby Hotels
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District(Philadelphia)(Great Value!)
$197
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$201
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
$179
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$222
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$234
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square(Philadelphia)
$239
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveler rating
16
6
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
6
1
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 24 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We always appreciate staying at New Market on our annual Phiadelphia visit. The rooms are pleasant and comfortable, and the location is perfect. Society Hill is a stunning neighborhood, and an easy walk to so many attractions.
Norma is a wonderful hostess, very warm, down-to-earth and knowledgeable about the city. By now, it's like visiting with a friend. And she's very gracious about accommodating to a guest's schedule.

We finally learned the simplest way to get to the historic district or the Ritz Theatres, especially at night.. 2nd Street runs into a maze of large apartment buildings and staircases, and just kind of disappears for a while. So just head up to 3 street and turn right. It's an easy walk to everything along another pretty street featuring all sorts of interesting historic plaques.
The second floor room doesn't have a clock or radio, so I bring a travel-size one especially if I need an alarm.
The bed is very comfortable but on Friday or Saturday nights, Lombard Street -- just around the corner from hectic South Street -- can get kind of noisy.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carly5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed in the second floor bedroom and it was very nice and spacious. I had some reservations about the size of the bed (it's a full/double sized bed) but it was definitely comfortable for two people. The room was generally clean although I did notice a slight layer of dust on the mirror. The room locks from the inside however there's no way to lock it from the outside. It wasn't an issue for us though since it would've been easy to track any potential thieves given that there was only one other guest room. The hostess did go into the room to make the bed while we were out. I also liked that she asked us what time we wanted to eat breakfast. The location was a comfortable walking distance from Independence National Park and one block away from South St so there wasn't a lack of dining options. It was overall an excellent stay and I would highly recommend the place.

Room Tip: The stairs are very steep so I would recommend packing a bag that's easy to carry in one hand or slung over the shoulder.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilacph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This was my fourth stay and New Market B & B.

The location is ideal! New Market is situated on a sedate, classy cobblestone street, just two blocks off the highway. Most historic sites are within walking distance, you're one block from edgy, funky South St. and art museums are an easy trolley ride away. That, alone, is reason to stay here, but it gets better. The house (an historic row house) is clean, quiet and well-appointed. Breakfasts are healthy & delicious and your host is quite knowledgeable about the city's history as well as current cultural offerings.

There are grocery stories, a CVS and a several restaurants witnin a 2 block radius.. There's also a fair-priced parking garage nearby (a necessity). All good as the neighborhood begs to be explored!

I recommend this marvelous B & B for couples and friends.

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet despite convenient proximity to the highway. The 3rd floor room has two twin beds that can be joined to make a king. This is a very old rowhouse and the stairs are unique and tight.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindyHikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We are so happy that we picked this B&B. It was odd that you have to enter your credit card info through a B&B website, without contacting that location directly, but now I see it is in the best interest of her, as a homeowner. It all worked out well and we weren't charged until the actual check-in date.
We debated between this place and the Thomas Bond B&B. This one is a home, while the other is commercial. I much preferred this location once I saw the area. Thomas Bond is right across from The City Tavern (which is so cool), but there isn't a great neighborhood surrounding it (it is right in the city center, but not much happens there after dark.) New Market is in such a great neighborhood with lots of pubs and restaurants less than a block away, and the price is hard to pass up. Also, South Street is a block away, which is where all the places to eat are. I wasn't crazy about the street after dark, but during the day or evening, it offered a lot options. All the surrounding homes are colonial row houses and just walking the few blocks to city center is almost as lovely as all the historic sites.
Norma is lovely and helpful and full of information. She did make super breakfasts each morning at the time you prefer. They weren't just ho-hum meals either. Another poster described them and two were the same.
We stayed on the third floor with the King bed and private bath. Great space with a tiled bathroom and lots of towels. It's not important to mention any small imperfections as this is B&B at its best. Stairs are small since it was built in the 1800's, so just be prepared. We had a larger suitcase but with some work, got it up.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: There are only two rooms. One is on the second floor and the other on the third floor. I peaked in to the other, but and I really liked our third floor, king size bed room. It had windows out the front and back.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zoesah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

this is the best place you can stay in Philly.
The house is beautiful, full of history, wonderfully renewed and in a walking distance from the ciry centre. The neighborhood was really quite and safe The room and the bathroom were big and clean. Norma was adorable, very kind and the breakfasts she made were amazing!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ersicry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews