We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location was about only good thing about this hotel” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center
Ranked #58 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
CHICAGO
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Location was about only good thing about this hotel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

Business brought me to Philadelphia and this hotel was close in proximity. The bed linens are absolutely gross, they are dingy and seedy. They did not smell fresh and both pillow cases were soiled. I just folded up a bunch of towels and slept on them. There was hair on the bathroom floor- which did not belong to me. I asked the front desk to clean the bathroom and change the linen. When I returned to the room, they had not been changed, which prompted me to pull the sheet up only to find hair on the mattress pad.
Needless to say, I will not stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ajetlgd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    174
    105
    52
    27
See reviews for
99
116
52
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

My friends and I went over to Philadelphia this last weekend after a 13 hour bus ride to watch a live Deadmau5 concert and enjoy the nightlife or culture of philly. However, it turned out to be a complete disaster for us thanks to this poorly maintained hotel. It was located in a pretty shady looking block right next to Chinatown but it was also conveniently close to a lot of the attractions in Philly so that was the only positive bit going for it. There was no free parking so we had to park off at a separate garage nearby to save some money. The hotel looked nice at first from the outside but however the rooms were complete garbage. The lack of a fridge inside the rooms was understandable since it wasn't really in the room description online; it is however a bit of an annoyance to find rooms in a highly rated hotel in 2010 with no refrigerators.

First sign of trouble: the thermostat in our room was broken and kept blowing out warm air. There was no way to reduce the temperature since it was already at the lowest settings.

Second: We found empty bottles of drinks near the bed, probably from the previous visitors in that room. Lack of cleaning from the staff?

FINALLY the biggest disappointment: Our washroom's shower knob broke off easily after a slight turn and the entire room was steaming hot and it was worse than being in a gym's sauna. There was no way to turn the shower off and there were no maintenance employees working there at nights to attend to these problems. The fire alarms eventually turned on because of the steam but no one was able to shut the hot water off. No one was able to help us resolve the problem, some random employees came in and tried different things but they couldn't accomplish anything since they didn't even have access to a maintenance closet with basic tools.

A big hotel with NO tools or personnel available for emergency situations like this on a Saturday night? All we needed was a wrench or a set of pliers to shut the shower off. We were forced to sit around for 2 hours while missing our concert, which was the main reason why we came to philly in the first place. The front desk staff didn't help much at all while we were completely helpless and stressed out. We had to repack all our belongings from our room and leave because it was getting way too hot inside. They finally gave us 2 new separate rooms as an effort to reimburse us but the damage was already done since we missed our deadmau5 concert and had the worst hotel reception possible. They offered $20 to pay for a cab to catch the remainder of the concert but it was already too late by the time we left and reached the place.

In the two new rooms given to us, one of the thermostats was stuck again and didn't work. One of the rooms had another loose / flimsy shower knob that was just waiting to break again, we decided not to use it after what happened before. The other room's shower door did not keep the water out properly because the rubber and plastic was missing, resulting in a flood in the floor each time the shower was used.

Bottom line: Nice looking hotel with horrible washrooms and terrible staff. Please read up other reviews about this place before booking anything here! It will save you a lot of time and may not ruin your trip like it did to ours.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s2kazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

First this hotel is extremely difficult to find, after driving I don’t know how many times around the blocks…. because the main entrance is not on Race Street and the hotel is not well actually not at all indicated. The front desk service and staff service is bad and rude. Outside of this hotel, is a bit scary, doesn’t feel safe and located the on scruffy block. No free parking $24.000 per day. The room was small comfortable, good quality bed, clean, nicely furnished and the bathroom was nice and decent size. The hotel is right next to the Convention Center and a block from the famous Philadelphia indoor market and the Chinatown.

Will probably never return to this hotel again

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLDAmour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

My partner and I stayed here for two nights while sight seeing around Philadelphia. It was a little more expensive than what we would usually pay, but we had a lovely stay. We had a 3rd floor room, the view wasnt anything special but the room was big, with a generous, very clean bathroom and HUGE comfortable bed. The reception staff were very helpful, as were the bar hotel bar staff. Very close to the Reading Markets and downtown Philli and the hop on hop off buses can pick you up from the hotel in the morning. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lini_lew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2010

First, the good, got a great deal on two rooms, the rooms were clean, very nice tv. Now the medium, the first night we were there they came and cleaned the rooms, although, my son's bed was not made and a note was left saying his belongings (a pillow) were on the bed. I guess they only noticed because he had a covered pillow case because we all had our own pillows on the bed. No big deal, as long as I have clean towels I'm happy. Now, on to the worst of it. One outlet didn't work, one was sporadic, which I guess would not be a big deal to some. But, when charging 3 cells phones and a laptop it becomes a major inconvenience. Not all the lights worked. The rooms are tiny, so if your claustrophobic, go elsewhere. The a/c kicks on literally every 7-10 minutes, it is very loud. Unless you are in the bathroom it blows directly on you no matter where you are in the room. We had to stack our pillows just right on the bed so it wouldn't blow on our faces.We had two rooms, and the set ups were the complete opposite, but the situation was the same. When the a/c is not running every noise from the street echos thru the vent, just as loud as if you were actually standing on the street. No clue where the ice machine is, maybe you had to ask at the bar, Oh, and it costs an additional $24 a night to park!!! If you're lucky you can make a deal with the parking lot attendant across the street.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karollee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2010

Well it was about 30% cheaper than the other hotels in the area. It was probably half a mile from City Hall and maybe a little more to Independence Hall, so centrally located for walking to the sights. I wouldn't really walk west down Race St at night though, a bit sketchy for a couple blocks. Bed was ok, but pillows were pretty flat. The "desk" is an odd pull out thing that is useless. We just used our laptop on the bed.
The bad was the service at front desk. It took a while for the desk clerk to find our reservation, and with manager's help. The AC wasn't working properly when we got there, which someone should've noticed before we got there...it was 81 deg and not getting cooler. We told them on the way out to dinner to take a look. When we got back it was still the same and nobody said anything, but a prompt phone call was able to get us a new room. The annoying part was when we checked out the front desk apparently didn't know how to check us out properly when using a reservation made with priceline.com because they wanted to charge us a $99 'no show' fee even though we did stay there. Several phone calls got us nowhere with the hotel, but priceline.com was able to take care of it for us.
Ok hotel with central location but somewhat incompetent front desk...

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hokie_b01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2010

Stayed here for two nights at the end of June.

Needed to use the front desk phone to do a newspaper interview - after 5 minutes, she interrupted me (very angry) and saying I needed to get off the phone. After my interview (11 minutes), she professed to me that I was on the phone for 20 minutes and was very rude and disrespectful to me. So much for a "courtesy phone".

Management didn't' seem to care.

When my car was brought back from their very expensive valet service, I got in my car and drove home. When I got home and out of my car, I noticed the extensive damage to the rear of the vehicle, caused by the valet service. I have been trying to get the hotel to deal with the problem, they are avoiding dealing with it. The valet service will also not return calls. Finally, I've just made a report to the Philadelphia police and am leaving it with them.

Stay away from this hotel. There are others nearby that, I am sure, are better for you to stay in if you want to enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank merc-7-ury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgr4pts, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center, responded to this review, July 9, 2010
It is unfortunate when a guest leaves our hotel and does not have a good experience. If this guest had told us that he wished to conduct an interview on the phone, we would have been happy to give him a room to do this. To conduct a phone interview standing at the Front Desk of a hotel with two phones is not prudent. When the guests car was brought to him, "extensive damage" would have been obvious when you pack your car. The guest stated he drove home and noticed the damage. "Home" was in Ontario, Canada - 8 hours and 450 miles away. It is safe to say that extensive damage that was not noticed when packing the car could have occured during the drive home. In the interest of customer service, we have compensated this guest for his night stay at our hotel. Our Valet company did attempt to work with this guest to find a resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center
Chinatown
Sleep Inn Center City
Sleep Inn Center City
#48 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center
Address: 1201 Race Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No matter how you choose to travel around the city of Philadelphia, you'll love the location of the newest Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Philadelphia City Hotel Philadelphia
4 Points By Sheraton Philadelphia City Center
Four Points Philadelphia
Philadelphia Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing