We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Customer Service - Valet Service Damaged My Car!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center
Ranked #64 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Stayed here for two nights at the end of June.

Needed to use the front desk phone to do a newspaper interview - after 5 minutes, she interrupted me (very angry) and saying I needed to get off the phone. After my interview (11 minutes), she professed to me that I was on the phone for 20 minutes and was very rude and disrespectful to me. So much for a "courtesy phone".

Management didn't' seem to care.

When my car was brought back from their very expensive valet service, I got in my car and drove home. When I got home and out of my car, I noticed the extensive damage to the rear of the vehicle, caused by the valet service. I have been trying to get the hotel to deal with the problem, they are avoiding dealing with it. The valet service will also not return calls. Finally, I've just made a report to the Philadelphia police and am leaving it with them.

Stay away from this hotel. There are others nearby that, I am sure, are better for you to stay in if you want to enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merc-7-ury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mgr4pts, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2010

It is unfortunate when a guest leaves our hotel and does not have a good experience. If this guest had told us that he wished to conduct an interview on the phone, we would have been happy to give him a room to do this. To conduct a phone interview standing at the Front Desk of a hotel with two phones is not prudent. When the guests car was brought to him, "extensive damage" would have been obvious when you pack your car. The guest stated he drove home and noticed the damage. "Home" was in Ontario, Canada - 8 hours and 450 miles away. It is safe to say that extensive damage that was not noticed when packing the car could have occured during the drive home. In the interest of customer service, we have compensated this guest for his night stay at our hotel. Our Valet company did attempt to work with this guest to find a resolution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

399 - 405 of 491 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2010

Had a great time. I got a good deal on a room and it was well worth it. Contrary to reviews I had read, the elevators were fast and the room was in good condition. Pool is open 6AM-11PM. Exercise room open 24/7. Free internet and printer in lobby. Excellent service. The only negative was that there were parts of the hotel that looked slightly dingy and run down, so it's not ideal for a romantic weekend, but excellent otherwise.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2010

I attend a Birthday Party for my friend - it was held on the 10th floor. Talk about views - it was amazing. The staff were very friendly and the rooms were small but cozy.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parsonsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

When you see the outside of this hotel, and the scruffy block it is on, you'll think you made a mistake, because they are not a pretty sight. Once you enter, however, you find an attractive small hotel. The room was comfortable, clean, and nicely furnished. The hotel is right next to the Convention Center and a block from Chinatown -- this is a good downtown location. No free parking.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank formershrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2010

My company sends me to Philadelphia weekly. They made some type of arrangement at another hotel. I ended up staying at the Four Points hotel because the other place was sold out. To my surpise, it was great - the rooms are small but cozy and clean. The best part of the room is the shower - the water pressure is great!!! The staff makes you feel like you are important. The front desk is not packed with clerks. They usually have one front desk person during a shift. It is nice to come back and see the same faces. It is nice to be remembered by name.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jannie0428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2010

I stayed at this hotel because I was attending a meeting at the Convention Center. Talk about how close it is - some of us stayed at the hotels near by but nothing was as close as this hotel. The staff - they were great. They had recommendations on where to go - which was a pleasure that they had real up to date knowledge on the area. They have a restaurant on site and the food was reasonable and good. I would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mccourtstrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

Stayed for 2 nights at a rate of £115 per night inclusive (+~$175/night) booked via hotels.com. Had a conference at a city center hotel a few blocks away (in the Loews).

This hotel is about as close to the conference center main entrance as you can get and just around the corner from the Reading Terminal market.

Met the requirement in that it was clean, comfortable and the free internet worked. The hotel has a pleasant bar and all staff were pleasant in my limited dealings with them.

There is a parking lot right across the road from the hotel and plenty of parking lots in the vicinity so I didn't use the valet parking.

The negatives: The room was small and the desk real awkward. It would almost be easier to sit on the bed.

In summary, all in all a good budget hotel experience.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drc225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Sleep Inn Center City
Sleep Inn Center City
#53 of 88 in Philadelphia
128 reviews
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center

Address: 1201 Race St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-1617
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range: $118 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the heart of Philadelphia, Four Points By Sheraton Philadelphia City Center offers comfortable accommodations, and is just a short walk from the Strayer University. This three-star hotel features a state of the art fitness center for guests to work out effectively. All rooms are smoke-free and fully air-conditioned. Each is equipped with a 32-inch flat-screen TV with cable channels, coffee and tea making facilities, and a private bathroom with designer toiletries. The hotel’s business center offers fax and photocopying services. Free Wi-Fi connection is available throughout. In addition, a gift shop and a 24-hour front desk are found on-site. Cherry Lounge and Restaurant serves American classics and comfort foods for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Furthermore, there are other dining options just within walking distance. Four Points By Sheraton Philadelphia City Center is within a ten-minute walk from the Pennsylvania Convention Center. Liberty Bell Center is two kilometers away. Self-parking is located a block away for $29 a day or for $34 with in/out privileges. Upon check-in, a $35 hold will be authorized on your credit card and reimbursed if not used. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Starwood, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Philadelphia City Center
Four Points By Sheraton Philadelphia City Hotel Philadelphia
Four Points Philadelphia
Philadelphia Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing