We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfriendly staff, bad housekeeping, and hidden costs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center
Ranked #58 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
nkdewitt
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Unfriendly staff, bad housekeeping, and hidden costs”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2009

Beware: If you are traveling for business and there is a convention in the Philadelphia Convention Center, rates for this hotel will skyrocket. I'm paying $225 a night for a room that would typically be $136. But, because there are 3,000 people in town for the conference I am attending, they raised the rates. So, if you come during an off-time, this hotel provides great access to Chinatown and the Reading Terminal Market, as well as being a couple blocks away from Zagat-rated Maggianos (Try the meat lasagna!).

The selection of TV channels is limited, and what is available is of very low quality resolution. Housekeeping does not stop by until much later in the day than I would prefer (as late as 4pm).

I was placed in a room that could be adjoined with the one beside it through two locked doors. Our neighbors were extremely loud and rude, and we could hear every word they were saying in the room, even when they were being relatively quiet. Ask for a single room if you can and hopefully this will help with that particular problem.

The free internet is a huge perk and it has worked well when I've tried to use it. The promise of "free bottled water" is a bit of an overstatement. One bottle of water is left per housekeeping trip and for a room that sleeps 4, that just is not adequate. The only other amenity that is included is a fitness room (no breakfast... not even a cup of crappy coffee), and although I did not use it, the valet service seems like a joke. There were different groups of people in the (very small and cramped) lobby who where complaining quite frequently about the parking situation and the service being received.

That being said, the room is comfortable, but incredibly overpriced at the jacked-up conference rates. I would be happy to stay here for $108-136, or the average nightly stay, but I do expect a little bit more for the price.

I would recommend the hotel at the lowered cost,and if you were interested in seeing Chinatown and the Reading Terminal Market, and if you had a conference in the convention center and the prices weren't jacked up!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lengara_Pace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    176
    106
    53
    28
See reviews for
103
116
52
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2009

I stayed for 5 nights for the very near convention center.

first the pros: very friendly staff, clean rooms, very convenient location if you are here for the convention center.

on the downside:
1-There is absolutely no free parking area like most hotels I have been to..although there are plenty of open space and parking areas around the building..they could definitely assign or acquire one for their customers..they offer a 25 dollars vallet service fee that is slow and inefficient..so make sure to add 25 dolarrs to what you planned nightly since you will have to park somewhere in the rip off nearby parking spaces.
2-Breakfast is NOT included!
3-Rooms are small and crammed with furniture, and not equal in size..I am not sure based on what they decide to assign you a small room without a view.
4-Area is dangerous and very creepy after dark.
5-no overhead lights.
6-wake up service woke me up an hour early!!!..since they didnt take note of the winter time change that took place 2 days earlier!
overall 200 dollars plus for such a small room and terrible area is definitely opverpriced.
I would only go back if I had a conference in the convention center (a fact they know and very good at milking).

Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank eddnash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
214 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2009

This hotel is ideally situated in Center City. We arrived on Friday evening and had dinner at Ralph's in the Italian Market section. We walked from the hotel on Saturday morning for breakfast at Reading Terminal Market and then spent the day on the Trolley. Visited the Pennsylvania Museum of Art, St. Peter & Paul's Cathedral, Love Park, and many of the other stops on the trolley. What a great way to see the City. We were able to walk to the market and the Trolley since the hotel was so ideally situated. The room was small but well appointed. The staff was very courteous and even went out of their way to help when my car battery died outside the hotel as we arrived. Would cetainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmc1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
105 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2009

The Four Points Philadelphia City Center is located adjacent to the Philadelphia Convention Center and is a great location if you are attending a conference or meeting there. It is literally across the street from the Convention Center and location can't be beat.

Two blocks down is the Reading Terminal Market and only about two to four blocks away is Chinatown. Both are worth grabbing a bite or two at and the late hours of the Chinatown restaurants is fantastic in a jam. The area around the hotel itself can be a bit suspect although I did not feel that it was unsafe.

The rooms are plain and simple, relatively compact, and the bathroom had a large shower. For a Four Points and having paid $136 to attend the Convention Center, this was a reasonable bargain. Common internet terminals in the lobby are available as well as "free internet" in the hotel. Be forewarned -- I found the internet speed to be exceedlingly slow, and am not sure if this is common.

Depending on which way your room faces, you do get a bit of noise from the street so light sleepers may want rooms away from 12th street.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ordflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

My mom and I stayed here for 3 nights in Oct 09.
I was a little hesitant based on several negative reviews posted here but I wanted a new hotel and paid a very reasonable $132 per night, about $100 less than the Sofitel or other higher-end hotel, and it was the same distance to the sights.

THE GOOD: the hotel is a converted office building, built 1910, as such the rooms are quirky in size. It is clean, new, very friendly and efficient staff - we met a lot of them - from the front desk, housekeepers, even the Gen. Mgr. came up to check our lock when the key card wouldn't work. Everyone was exceptional. We were in the very spacious Room 910 (903 is the same size, I would guess that those rooms ending in 10 or 03 are the same on each floor), a corner room with 4 big windows and probably 12-ft ceilings. A nice spacious entryway leads to the room. I did see other rooms and yes, they are really tiny - get the corner rooms you'll be fine. Bathroom also a good size and it was clean - (I'm so picky about clean bathrooms that I bring supplies and clean them myself). Towels were nice and white and fluffy and plentiful. I even liked the soap and shampoo. We ate in the restaurant once for brkst. and it was fine. Lots of desk/workspace but the "closet' is just a free-standing armoire without a lot of hangers. Others complain about the location but for us it was a positive - yes the area is in "transition", but it's a 2 min. walk to the subway and a 3 min. walk to the Reading Market with every possible kind of fresh food - it was great. No real complaints about the area but it is not very picturesque but I did feel safe walking back from the subway, alone, at midnight. We heard nothing from other rooms and get a room on a high floor to avoid street noise.
3 computers are available in the lobby and I never had to wait. I can't comment on the parking as we didn't have a car - but, there is no sign so prepare ahead with your directions.

THE BAD: toilet is a low-flow and needs a "rest" or it will plug. No safe in the room. Bedlinens are of a low quality and are already "pilling" (pillows and the bed are good though). Old-style blankets - that don't get washed every time- are used instead of comforters that do get washed every time (like they use at Hamton Inns).

Overall, it's new, clean, I saved a ton of money staying here, very pleasant and efficient staff, I'd definitely stay here again. A great city with tons of stuff to see.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lolabarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berea, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2009

The hotel itself was nice, the staff was very helpful and friendly. But the location left a bit to be desired. This was right across from the Convention Center, so if that's as far as you're going you'll be OK. But my colleague and I had about a 10 minute walk to our office and we ended up taking a cab to and from because we did not feel safe walking in the area. The fitness center was in the basement and again, I did not feel comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAWBBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Philadelphia hotels

Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2009

Not having visited Philadelphia before I selected the hotel after some research on the internet and having read the reviews. Its midtown location was a selling point along with the reasonable price. Ther location proved to be perfect. The Reading Market Terminal, just a short walk away, was a perfect location for breakfast each morning. The Amish breakfast, served Wed. thru Sat. had great food at a most reasonable price. Great bargain. I purchased some vegetables as well to bring to my daughter in Manhattan on the way home from this trip. Also nearby was Maggianos Italian Restaurant which we took advantage of one evening.
For sight-seeing, the hotel's central location provided easy access to all the sights a visitor would like to see. The Independence Park buildings were a short walk east while the Museum of Art, a short bus ride to the west. Throughout the stay the hotel staff was most congenial and the valet parking, I did not need my car the entire stay, was perfect, although you do have to pay a daily rate. The room, with a king size bed was on the small side, but we didn't stay long in the room, except to sleep and watch a some television in the evening. It really wasn't a burden. The bathroom, usually a major complaint of travelers was clean and neat, and the shower, obviously a converted bathtub-shower area was large and clean.
The only problem was finding the hotel in midtown.
The hotel is located on the corner of Race Street and 12 St. There is no sign on the building. The entrance is around the corner, not on Race Street - address 1200 Race. When you get to this spot, you cannot take a left turn, as the side street, 12 St I believe, is one-way - going the wrong way from what you want to do. You have to drive to the next block, take a left and circle back to the hotel entrance. If this sounds confusing, it really isn't, once you've done it, But to the first timer, with all the traffic, it can be irritating.

Tip: USE THE PHLASH BUS TO GET AROUND TOWN -OVER 65 FREE. $2 A RIDE. RIDE THE ENTIRE ROUTE TO GET A PICTURE OF THE CITY.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BURTLEEWAYNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center
Chinatown
Sleep Inn Center City
Sleep Inn Center City
#46 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center
Address: 1201 Race Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the heart of Philadelphia, Four Points By Sheraton Philadelphia City Center offers comfortable accommodations, and is just a short walk from the Strayer University. This three-star hotel features a state of the art fitness center for guests to work out effectively. All rooms are smoke-free and fully air-conditioned. Each is equipped with a 32-inch flat-screen TV with cable channels, coffee and tea making facilities, and a private bathroom with designer toiletries. The hotel’s business center offers fax and photocopying services. Free Wi-Fi connection is available throughout. In addition, a gift shop and a 24-hour front desk are found on-site. Cherry Lounge and Restaurant serves American classics and comfort foods for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Furthermore, there are other dining options just within walking distance. Four Points By Sheraton Philadelphia City Center is within a ten-minute walk from the Pennsylvania Convention Center. Liberty Bell Center is two kilometers away. Self-parking is located a block away for $29 a day or for $34 with in/out privileges. Upon check-in, a $35 hold will be authorized on your credit card and reimbursed if not used. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Philadelphia City Hotel Philadelphia
4 Points By Sheraton Philadelphia City Center
Four Points Philadelphia
Philadelphia Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing