We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional Center City hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center
Ranked #58 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Functional Center City hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Located near convention center, Chinatown and Reading Terminal, the Four Points is pretty much what you'd expect. Clean rooms, and pretty large at that. Comfortable bed and pleasant service. Not a memorable experience, but location is great and price was good ($70 through Priceline).

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zekebp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy P, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience we glad that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the feedback. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    176
    106
    53
    28
See reviews for
103
116
52
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ny
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

There were a lot of things that went wrong when we stayed at the hotel. Among the bigger things: the mattress bounced and if my husband or I moved it woke the other person up, there's a draft from the window which makes it very hard to heat the room, the heating unit is level with the bed and blows air right at you and you have to slam the room door to close pretty much guaranteeing that if anyone is asleep they will be woken up. There were also a bunch of smaller issues. I wrote this in a review and was contacted by the manager Timothy who when told of our issues contacted hotwire to refund us our money. I wish I could give him 5 starts, but unfortunately that doesn't change the quality of stay at the hotel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy P, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for contacting us per my response to your previous review and allowing us the opportunity to make a wrong a right. We always strive to treat each issue of concern as if we were dealing with our own family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
124 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We got a fantastic deal on Priceline for two midweek nights here, and decided to head down from NYC for a quick visit. The hotel was very welcoming, and all the front desk staff we met were unfailingly polite, efficient, and good-humored and cheerful.

The room was cozy but not tiny, and had two comfortable doubles with lots and lots of pillows. The only issue -- and I hesitate to call it that -- was that the HVAC system seemed to be slow to react to our thermostat settings. Granted, we were there during a brutally cold couple of days, with high temps around 13 F, so the system may have been taxed, but it seemed that the register was blowing coldish air even after we bumped the thermostat up from 70 to 72, and then to 73. We didn't complain, as it did get warm eventually, and the system wasn't obviously broken.

The shower handle is also designed so that it's hard to turn on the water to get warm without getting icy water down your back first. The first person to shower winds up waking up fast.

Again, neither of these ruined our stay in the least. We liked being steps away from Chinatown for a takeout noodle dinner one night, and a bare block from Reading Terminal Market for great breakfasts (we liked the egg and homemade-sausage sandwiches at the Smucker's Grill stand.) Free Wi-Fi (possibly because I'm an SPG member, but that's free too), a business center, and hot chocolate and cookies in the lobby one afternoon were all nice touches. If we wind up in this hotel again, we'll be more than pleased.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vidiot42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy P, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

The rooms are a little small since the hotel is in downtown, right next to the convention center. The valet is expensive, but you get unlimited in and out privilege. Also, the hotel offers free coffee/tea and fresh baked cookies, which is a wonderful unexpected treat. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a basic gym in the facility which is clean and all the equipment is functional.
It can be a little noisy at times due to traffic in the area, construction nearby - even on the 9th floor!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParekhK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy P, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford Lakes, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Right across from the convention center in center city, this hotel is close to everything. Brunch, fancy restaurants, fast food, and the Reading Terminal Market (which has everything in it), you can't go wrong with this hotel. The rooms are small but very nice and have everything we needed, although our neighbors loved to slam the doors every few minutes and wake us up. The view of center city is great. The staff was wonderfully pleasant and helpful. We unfortunately lost a few good leftovers because all of the refrigerators were taken, so we just started giving leftovers to bums instead. If it's warm enough, everything you could want is within walking distance, but there were plenty of cabs driving right outside the hotel that we never waited more than one minute to catch one. The valet service was quick and convenient, but you can find nearby lots for cheaper. The restaurant/bar in the hotel is perfect for a night cap and the bartender is very helpful and accommodating. Great hotel, will stay again!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor to get a better view of the city. Request a refrigerator early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyssa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy P, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are thankful for the opportunity to be your home away from home and delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit to the "City of Brotherly Love".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamston, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

Checked in Friday night after midnight. We had driven 8 hours and worked 1/2 day prior to the drive and we were exhausted. We were warmly greeted by Kyle at the front desk. Kyle is an assest to this hotel. He was professional, friendly, attentive and very helpful. The other staff members we encountered during our stay were very professional but not exactly warm and friendly. The hotel was clean. I could hear some street noise but nothing to keep me from sleeping. I would not want to venture out after dark alone walking but I was with my 12 year old daughter and husband so I did not feel uneasy about walking near the hotel after dark. Did not like that the hotel lounge did not serve dinner on Sunday night as there are not many other acceptable, reasonable options near the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chargertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy P, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and share it with others. We are glad that you enjoyed you stay with us an hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights in January. Located right off Market Street, it's a good find for a convenient location. Near City Hall, shopping area, Chinatown, and upsale dining. If you want the historic area it's only a 20 minute walk.

Room was sufficient except for the heating, there is a large panel in the room that allows cold air to get in. The heating never really got going, even when set to 80F it took hours to get just warm. The staff was nice enough to try to fix it but it didn't really work; though they did offer a room change.

We didn't realize the noise level until 2am, when other guests arrived back. Walls are so thin you can hear almost everything next door, it was like they were in our room.

Those are the only two factors that affected the rating. Otherwise a good location for the city.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelChicaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy P, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We do appreciate your feedback and have begun to address the draft issues from the in-room heating units. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center
Chinatown
Sleep Inn Center City
Sleep Inn Center City
#47 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center

Property: Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center
Address: 1201 Race Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the heart of Philadelphia, Four Points By Sheraton Philadelphia City Center offers comfortable accommodations, and is just a short walk from the Strayer University. This three-star hotel features a state of the art fitness center for guests to work out effectively. All rooms are smoke-free and fully air-conditioned. Each is equipped with a 32-inch flat-screen TV with cable channels, coffee and tea making facilities, and a private bathroom with designer toiletries. The hotel’s business center offers fax and photocopying services. Free Wi-Fi connection is available throughout. In addition, a gift shop and a 24-hour front desk are found on-site. Cherry Lounge and Restaurant serves American classics and comfort foods for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Furthermore, there are other dining options just within walking distance. Four Points By Sheraton Philadelphia City Center is within a ten-minute walk from the Pennsylvania Convention Center. Liberty Bell Center is two kilometers away. Self-parking is located a block away for $29 a day or for $34 with in/out privileges. Upon check-in, a $35 hold will be authorized on your credit card and reimbursed if not used. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Philadelphia City Hotel Philadelphia
4 Points By Sheraton Philadelphia City Center
Four Points Philadelphia
Philadelphia Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing