We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wierdly Interesting”
Review of Mutter Museum

Mutter Museum
Experience for Yourself
More Info
$32.00*
and up
Double-Decker Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour of Philadelphia
Ranked #27 of 443 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This museum, located at the College of Physicians of Philadelphia, is one of the finest medical history museums in America. The Mütter is a 19th century style cabinet museum displaying medical artifacts such as anatomical specimens and medical instruments. Marvel at the beauty and strangeness of the human body. The Mütter is home to many notorious exhibits including Harry Eastlack's skeleton, the Megacolon, the Soap Lady, and the Hyrtl Skull Collection. It's also the only place to have pieces of Einstein's brain on display. Admission to the museum also includes admission to the Thomson Art Gallery, featuring medical-themed art, and the Benjamin Rush Medicinal Plant Garden. A visit to the Mütter is unforgettable...prepare yourself to be disturbingly informed.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wierdly Interesting”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

If you like skulls, skeltons and specimen jars with diseased tissue, organs and fetuses, this is the place for you. Bring the children and be prepared to explain the Reproductive system, childbirth and deformities. Two floors with exhibits, bring your reading glasses. On my bucket list, now off and no desire to return.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank shorechicknj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    624
    478
    164
    32
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling Heights, Michigan
1 review
“Wow!! PA's Must See!!!'”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is a true must see in Philadelphia, Pa!!! The most unique museum I have ever had the pleasure to step back in to time in!! When my son told me we were going I must say I was totally unsure of how I would feel. So glad I went!! It had the most exciting medical mystery collection. Very rare, stunning and informative!! Loved it!! Thank You John B. From Lancaster, Pa.
Would go again!! A true MUST SEE!!
Mom in Michigan

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Johnsmimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must see for any science person!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

I love museums like this! Lots of specimens, most well explained, and all completely fascinating to this biologist. Some really great skeletons, and lots of skulls.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travehop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
256 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Odd collection, unique space”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

So, we went to the mutter 10 years ago and it was really cool. It was this out of the way, no one knows a hit it kind of thing. We got there on November 2nd and they were having the day of the dead celebration. No signs outside, no one said anything to us as we bought our overpriced tickets. Nothing. Anyway, we made our way through the hundreds of people here and finally figured out what was going on. It was so packed we could not view the exhibits properly. They should have limited the number of visitors on this particular day. They offered free food, cookie decorating and some lectures. The museum itself is very accessible by foot but finding parking close by on a nice day is tough and expensive.

If you happen to be in the neighborhood for Drexel 30th street station or even Rittenhouse square, take a walk on over to see specimens in jars and bottles and well documented medical oddities. If not, pass.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Groovina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
253 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great for medical interests”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I've been wanting to visit this museum for many years after seeing it on t.v. Being an RN, I'm very interested in medical oddities. This museum is small, but has many things crammed in. Some of the ID cards for the displays are difficult to read due to poor lighting and the glass it is encased in. Plan on spending approx 2 hours going through the exhibit. Also, if you're a student, don't forget your ID so that you can get a discount. If you're into weird medical science, this is the place for you. Definitely not for the squeamish!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltrixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mutter Museum also viewed

 

Been to Mutter Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing