We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creepy, but Cool!”
Review of Mutter Museum

Mutter Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.00*
and up
Double-Decker Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour of Philadelphia
Ranked #27 of 443 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This museum, located at the College of Physicians of Philadelphia, is one of the finest medical history museums in America. The Mütter is a 19th century style cabinet museum displaying medical artifacts such as anatomical specimens and medical instruments. Marvel at the beauty and strangeness of the human body. The Mütter is home to many notorious exhibits including Harry Eastlack's skeleton, the Megacolon, the Soap Lady, and the Hyrtl Skull Collection. It's also the only place to have pieces of Einstein's brain on display. Admission to the museum also includes admission to the Thomson Art Gallery, featuring medical-themed art, and the Benjamin Rush Medicinal Plant Garden. A visit to the Mütter is unforgettable...prepare yourself to be disturbingly informed.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Creepy, but Cool!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I recommend this museum to anyone with a Medical background, or an interest in Medical Oddities.
This place is crammed full of just about any medical oddity that you can imagine and a few you can't.
It is small, and if it is crowded it is not easy to see everything, but it is very interesting!
Would be a good rainy day activity, although admission is slightly high for what is there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RLDona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    624
    478
    164
    32
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fascinating and Unique...made me a little queasy, though.!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Definitely glad I went; you'll see things you won't see anywhere else! I would imagine it is a "must see" for anyone interested in medicine or the human body. I, unfortunately, didn't have the stomach for some of those things in liquid in glass jars ( deformed fetuses, anyone?), and made a pretty quick exit from the lower level... Probably not getting my whole $15 worth. I would recommend it anyway, those. The original display cases and layout of the museum are interesting in themselves...and it's actually worth the price of admission to see the slices of Eisenstein's brain!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“#1 Attraction on our list”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Part of our decision to visit Philly was to see the Mutter Museum. While not a curator's dream as far as facility and displays go, the displays are in keeping with the scientific mind. Highlights include the body cast and conjoined liver of famous Siamese twin, Chang and Eng plus a display on Einstein's brain with a tissue slide of his brain tissue. Not for the squeamish or most young children. Plan about 1-2 hours and go when it opens if you can.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
375 reviews
145 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,360 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We just returned from a visit to the Mutter Museum. What a disappointment. First of all, the admission price is extremely high for the size of the museum. $15 admission for what amounts to one large room. If you look at the building itself before you go in, you would assume the museum covers the entire building.

The museum itself is very poorly organized. As others have stated, many of the descriptions accompanying the specimens shown are on very old, small, handwritten cards, now barely legible. Many of the most interesting things to see are on glassed in shelves that are at floor level, so you would have to kneel down and lean forward to actually be able to see anything, much less read the descriptive cards.

This is not a museum for the squeamish or children. Many of the "exhibits" are glass jars of fetuses with terrible defects. There is a large human skull exhibit, but as to its' purpose, one can only imagine.

There is no one to help you if you have any questions. The "guards" were busy talking, chewing or texting, and it seemed like their only function was to keep people from tapping on the glass or taking photos.

You can see this entire museum in an hour or less. The only reason it could possibly take longer is that you are waiting for someone to get out of the way, are trying to squat to read the tiny print, or get back up.

One of my traveling companions for the day said that this museum felt more like a circus side show, and indeed, a $5 sideshow admission would have been more appropriate.

I imagine if you are in the medical field, there are things here that would be an important learning experience. For the rest of us, not so much.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MiouMiou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Needs updating”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was truly looking forward to this museum and the new exhibit about medicine during the Civil War. Not only was the museum exactly as described by previous posts (poorly lit, typewritten explanations, very cramped) but the new attraction was not yet opened. My group was one of various medical professionals. While the material was interesting, it sure wasn't great.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mutter Museum also viewed

 

Been to Mutter Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing