We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of My Favorite Museums Ever”
Review of Mutter Museum

Mutter Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.00*
and up
Double-Decker Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour of Philadelphia
More Info
$32.00*
and up
City Sightseeing Philadelphia Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #29 of 450 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This museum, located at the College of Physicians of Philadelphia, is one of the finest medical history museums in America. The Mütter is a 19th century style cabinet museum displaying medical artifacts such as anatomical specimens and medical instruments. Marvel at the beauty and strangeness of the human body. The Mütter is home to many notorious exhibits including Harry Eastlack's skeleton, the Megacolon, the Soap Lady, and the Hyrtl Skull Collection. It's also the only place to have pieces of Einstein's brain on display. Admission to the museum also includes admission to the Thomson Art Gallery, featuring medical-themed art, and the Benjamin Rush Medicinal Plant Garden. A visit to the Mütter is unforgettable...prepare yourself to be disturbingly informed.
Hyattsville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“One of My Favorite Museums Ever”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Amazing museum. Everyone should check it out. Medical abnormalities and history galore. It's fantastic, creepy, mindblowing and just wicked cool to check out. The most unique museum that I've ever visited.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank CaptainAwethume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    651
    490
    172
    34
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Creepy Cool Medical Museum!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Perfect for those who like to be creeped out.....I wouldn't want to get locked in overnight! I saw what looked like Demon Baby in a jar with horns!, a lady made of Soap!, Wild Looking Medical Instruments from the Past and lots of other interesting things.Halloween is a perfect time to visit with the friends, bigger kids or even a future Doctor. It may be a bit much for some people and smaller kids that aren't into that sort of thing.

Helpful?
Thank PhillyRealtor19053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Don't go if you get queasy!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I usually really like this kind of stuff, but the medical specimens here were a lot even for me. My husband lasted about 20 minutes before he had seen enough. It was more gory that I expected.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank chocoholic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Excellent museum even if you don't have multiple cancers.”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

The people who go there, from the ghoulish to the squeamish to the psychopathic to see the sliced brains, skeletons and medical abnormalities. Head for a Big Mac and fries with katsup and strawberry ice cream first or afterwards. Rest rooms are good there.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Poisonwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful and creepy”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I loved this museum! As a physician, I thought it was fascinating to see the history of medicine here. It is not for the squeamish, though.
The gift shop was great, too. I bought a bunch of silly gifts for science-minded friends.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank CLM_Houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mutter Museum also viewed

 

Been to Mutter Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing