We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mysterious”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Masonic Temple

Masonic Temple
Ranked #21 of 435 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: "The Grand Lodge of Pennsylvania" is an example of elegant architecture. Inside, the lodge is adorned with lovely artwork.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
358 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 816 helpful votes
“Mysterious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

For history buffs & fans of Dan Brown, a tour thru the fantastic Masonic Temple at the crossroads of Broad & Market is delicious. Dedicated w/ a parade of 11,000 Masons in 1873, at a cost of a million dollars, the temple affords insight into the mysterious world of the Masons & also is a prime example of post-Civil War architecture, when Philadelphia acquired the grandeur of a European city.

Just across Broad Street is the superb collection of American art at the sumptuous Pennsylvania Academy of Fine Arts (PAFA), designed by renowned Philadelphia architect Frank Furness & at Market is the equally fantastic City Hall - two more worthwile illustrations of Philadelphia in the Gilded Age.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Herstory_62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    120
    25
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A different type of attraction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Unfortunately, the Masonic Temple was closed when I went, but I could tell that it is worth visiting. The building itself and its architectural details are impressive, and they really should have more tours, not only until 12 pm.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Monica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford Haven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“pure class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Without doubt the best building i have ever or will ever get into (unless Cheryl Cole changes her mind) .if i typed a million words it will never be able to do this place justice, loved the Saxon temple ,beyond beauty - a somerset freemason

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank oldmanonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
435 reviews
197 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path- a MUST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Very interesting bit of history. Each of the rooms are decorated according to a different theme. If you are into architecture and history (as I am) it is just amazing. There are guided tours but I did not give myself enough time at the end of the tour when you are free to explore their little museum and library on your own. George Washington and Ben Franklin were masons and one of their aprons are there! I could easily have spent another hour or two in their library. GO!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank sazoram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Truly awe inspiring, a must do.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a very cheap hour to spend in Philly. The tour takes you around some of the most ornate rooms in Philly with a history tour of the temple. Tour guide was great and was open to all questions asked about the temple (although not about the secrets of masonary obviously). A must do.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bearable1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masonic Temple also viewed

 

Been to Masonic Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing