We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A stunning view”
Review of Fairmount Park

Fairmount Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.99*
and up
Philadelphia Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour
More Info
$56.00*
and up
Hop-on Hop-off and Philly By Night Tour Combo
More Info
$14.00*
and up
One Liberty Observation Deck Philadelphia General Admission
Ranked #64 of 450 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: One of the world's largest municipal parks, a sprawling 9,200 acres contains several million trees and America's oldest zoo.
Medellin, Colombia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A stunning view”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Beautiful, the view of the skyline is amazing and the fresh air is the best.
The whispering benches are a cool place to visit as well.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beatriz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    69
    15
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Need to make a stop at the Whispering bench!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I hadn't been back to Philadelphia since living there over 30 years ago. When visiting, my brother kept talking about wanting to find the whispering bench. (this is where two people can sit on opposite sides of the bench and whisper to each other yet still hear each other perfectly clear. ) We were able to find out that it was in Fairmount Park so with our GPS we found it with no problem. We were a little disturbed that in trying to enjoy our moment, a couple on the other whispering bench (there are two of them surrounding a civil war statue) were in a very heated argument. So much so that I did put the Philadelphia police number on speed dial on my cell phone in case there were problems. We did get to sit on the one whispering bench and quietly talk about the argument going on near us. We then got up when things simmered down some and walked around the statue finding our family name engraved on it. Apparently one of our ancestors was a general in the Civil War.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bigthicket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Plenty to do”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Walking, jogging, biking (they have rentals and an extensive trail), watching the rowers, taking in the sights, touring the homes, observing nature, and observing people...there's plenty of excitement and things to keep one's attention. Mixing some exercise with touring the buildings/museums provides a balanced and satisfying experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LouisePennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place for a walk”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Fairmount Park is a great place to hike, bike, walk, run or jog. Whether your alone or with the family. The views are to die for, espeically in the fall. Boathouse run is another attraction worth visiting. Its so close to so many other tourist sites that we normally picnic there in between visiting other sites. Its very family friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank rembert72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fairmount Park”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Excellent park with amazing walks and cycle paths. Lots of different sports played there.
Super river views.
Impossible to walk all around the park as it is enormous.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fairmount Park also viewed

 

Been to Fairmount Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing