We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very reliable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
Ranked #31 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2014

I stayed in the SSH on July 3rd in order to attend a concert in Camden. The hotel is a great choice if you plan to take the water taxi to Susq Bank Center. The room was spotless. The staff was very friendly, especially the 2 valet gentlemen. This is the 3rd time I have stayed and had the same positive experience. I didn't order room service this time, but I have in the past. The food is very expensive but also very good.

Room Tip: Valet is $36. There is quite a bit of parking around the hotel if you want to save some money.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank aron b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager375, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2014

Thank you for your feedback and for being a returned customer to our hotel. Yes, we are very convenient to Penn's Landing and especially the attractions over to New Jersey. We are very fortunate. We look forward to your next visit to Philadelphia and to staying with us for a 4th time. Upon your next return, please reach out to Jordan.Kaley@sheraton.com, Front Office Manager as we do appreciate our returning customers. #creatingmemories

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (959)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

516 - 522 of 959 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed here for 3 days on our trip out east. We arrived in the afternoon and was able to check in after a visit to the museum. WE had valet parking with in and out privileges. Wonderful. The staff accommodated me with getting stairs access when I needed it.
Next Am, we had free breakfast with our room rate. Limited menu, but hit the spot since we were hungry. We also had the kids package so the kids got night snacks and a free movie which was a nice way to rewind.
Kids liked the pool. Nice view of bigger taller building. Hotel is a bout 2 blocks from pier.

Room Tip: become a SPG member, get a nicer room with free perks,
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jellypooh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager375, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2014

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. The Club Lounge is a great benefit for our travelers, especially families. We sincerely appreciate when families stay with us and glad we have wonderful benefits for everyone to enjoy. The pool is a great attraction too, especially in the winter months, during a snow storm, you can always enjoy the indoor heated pool ! We look forward to your return visit to Philadelphia and to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel over the years, and it has been maintained and updated nicely and continues to be a great option for a leisure/family oriented vacation. The location is really pretty being in Society Hill. The rooms are not huge, but are updated nicely with modern wall hangings and colors. Some rooms face an inner courtyard, but the soundproofing is very good, as we were not disturbed by noise. The great selling point of this property is the location, particularly for touring the historic sites.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Waitingforvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager375, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2014

Thank you for your review. Yes, our location is wonderful and we are very fortunate. We have the best of both worlds, corporate during the week and leisure travelers for the weekend to enjoy the atmosphere of Historic Philadelphia, Penn's Landing, great Entertainment all within walking distance. We look forward to your next visit back to Philadelphia and to our hotel !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We loved our location which was among the old historic buildings, many from colonial times. Good restaurants within short walking distance on Society Hill. I found the Hotel breakfast a bit short. However when I mentioned it to the waitress, she got what I missed right away.

We stayed two days, and found our room and bath nice and clean. The room was comfortably arranged and we were well rested the next day.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager375, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2014

Our location is perfect as after you check in, you can enjoy the area by foot. We are fortunate to have so many wonderful attractions all within steps of our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to your return to our hotel and to continue exploring the City of Brotherly Love ! #creatingmemories

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

First time at this hotel. Upgraded to suite as a Platinum SPG. Seemed very convenient for tourists since near Penn Landing and historic district. Lots of bars and restaurants nearby. Very quiet hotel. Pleasantly greeted at front door and front desk. Valet was efficient for $44. Rooms were clean and organized, but not modern. Only a 4 story building. Club Lounge on 3rd floor had pancakes and oatmeal for breakfast, plus hot tea and coffee. The cut up fruit was not fresh, so I skipped it. Management needs to look at that. Otherwise, WSJ, Philadelphia Enquirer and USA Today available at front desk, and Starbucks in large, comfortable lobby area with plenty of places to sit and relax was a nice touch. Would stay here again. Price was reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager375, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and this his how we learn from our guests experiences! We have addressed the comments to our Food/Beverage team. For your next visit back to Philadelphia, please feel free to reach out to Jordan.Kaley@sheraton.com, she is our Front Office Manager and also works with our Platinum and CEM guests of Starwood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We stayed at the Sheraton Society Hill as part of our 3 week holiday in the US. The location was great for us and we did quite a bit of walking. The hotel itself was very comfortable, we were located near the executive lounge area so at night in was noisy at times. The executive lounge was good, it was quite busy with families on some nights but was well stocked and serviced. The pool area was very good. We would be more than happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid staying near the executive lounge if you need peace and quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsS30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager375, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2014

Thank you for selecting our hotel during your 3 week visit to the USA. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel, along with the benefits of the property. Yes, our location is great and especially to walk to so many great attractions! I am glad our staff took good care of you and we look forward to your return back to the Sheraton Society Hill Hotel ! #creatingmemories

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

My family and I stayed here 3 nights during June and had a great stay. The rooms were nice, clean, and comfortable. Pool was great and lobby was very attractive and inviting. Location was unparalleled!! We walked everywhere in the city and felt safe in the area even getting back late at night. Employees were hit and miss as most were very friendly and welcoming but there were a few that seemed a bit snooty and pretentious.

Our most negative experience was when we checked in, we loaded our luggage onto a hotel cart to take up to our room and a bell hop/assistant confronted us about it. He almost insisted that he or one of the others take it up for us instead of us doing it ourselves (I have 2 teen boys a very strong husband that always do this as even though we are financially comfortable & well travelled, we are not softies). After the man confronted us 3 times about this issue, my husband got frustrated and just said fine to the assistant. I thought it was almost going to become as issue. I think the man finally "got" that he was bothering my husband and just told us to go ahead and take the cart, but shot us a condescending "make sure you bring it back downstairs!" Are you kidding me?? Why would we want to keep a huge cart in our somewhat crowded room for any length of time? I kind of got the feeling the guy thought we were not "up to the hotel standard" and felt he could get away with being kind of rude. However, this was an isolated incident. Most of the employees were awesome and welcoming. Though some of the front desk attendees could have been a bit more acknowledging and friendly.

Overall, we really liked the hotel, most of the staff, and the location. We would stay here again and would recommend it to friends and family. I think the managers just need to remind their staff that not all of their residents are going to come in looking sharp and freshly pressed as they are traveling, and not all people with money dress to the nines all of the time. Vacation is vacation and all travelers should be treated respectfully and feel important.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager375, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and this is how we learn. We apologize for the Bellman's actions. This has been addressed and I can assure you this will not happen again. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and especially the many attractions within walking distance of the hotel. We look forward to your return visit to us. Thank you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Address: One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3939
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $170 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the nation's most historic neighborhood, Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel is the perfect setting for a memorable visit. Our hotel is tucked within the Old City district of Philadelphia - home to world-class attractions such as Independence Hall, The Liberty Bell, The National Constitution Center, and Penn’s Landing. Well-appointed guest rooms offer everything you need to relax and refresh during your stay, including our Sheraton Signature Beds. Join us at Taste for creative American cuisine, and spend time discovering Philadelphia - our unbeatable Old City hotel location places your near historic landmarks, as well as local sports stadiums and great year-round events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing