We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunny staff made all the difference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
Ranked #31 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed over Christmas and was upgraded to a different room because of one small problem. It was sorted with brilliant customer care and no fuss. I loved the little pool that was well maintained if a little bit of a puzzle to find at first. I stayed on the Club Floor which was great as you could pop in for fruit, tea and snacks if needed and the staff in the lounge were absolutely lovely, as they all were. I took full advantage of the deal where you can opt out of room cleaning and get a voucher to use against food/drink. I also think its a breath of fresh air to have free wifi included.. take note other hotels! The hotel is in the old part of Philadelphia with loads to see and two cinema's either side of it and it is very close to a subway station. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Sarah P,
Thank you for this glowing review. We truly appreciate that you took the time to share your experience with us. We will share your comments with our staff. We look forward to your future stays with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (958)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

584 - 590 of 958 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

I was traveling with three teens. It was awesome when the front desk agent gave us an upgrade to club level. The kids loved it as well as my wallet. The rooms were excellent and the cleaning service was timely. The pool was easy to find and used to the hilt. The location was great and easily accessable to all the museums.
I would use this one again when visiting Philly.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YUP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This hotel was a BIG disappointment. From check in the staff was unhelpful and the management was rude and uncaring. We stayed two nights and our room was not cleaned until after 4pm. The pool was impossible to find bc there were no signs (only one outside the door). The sheets on the bed were actually crunchy. The walls were so thin I could hear my neighbor throwing up in the morning. We had breakfast downstairs one morning and ordered from the menu bc the buffet was $24 pp. It took almost an hour to get ham and eggs.
With so many other great choices in Philly save your $ and don't stay at this Sheraton.
Oh, I have to say the only good thing was the parking attendants, who were friendly and gave us the correct directions whenever we asked.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colleenShrewsbury_Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear colleenshrewbury_Nj

We would like to greatly apologize for the experience you had while staying at our hotel. We would like to speak with you further regarding your stay. At your convenience, please reach out to Christopher.petrucci@sheraton.com. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Very nice hotel with a friendly and accomodating staff. Great location in a very nice section of Philadelphia just 3 short blocks from the historic distirct. Easy access to public transporation, nearby restaurants, sightseeing venues, and shopping on South Street.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Bob P,
Thank you for sharing your lovely experience with us. We are thankful that you took the time to review our property. We will share your comments with our staff. We hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The Sheraton Society Hill is a nice hotel located very near the historic district of Philadelphia. It was an easy walk to the historic sites and South Street. Our room was pretty small, no mini refrigerator, no laundry bags, the safe did not work (hotel tried to get it to work), and the heating/AC system was unbelievably loud. Luckily there is so much to do in Philly we didn't spend too much time in the room. The pool is nice but no hot tub. The Sheraton Club is great for kids, free snacks and drinks and the exercise room is very nice. We did not eat at the hotel - breakfast there is pricey, $15 for an egg breakfast. The hotel is clean and everyone there was very nice. We were harassed by a mentally unstable guest who scared my kids and asked us for $5000 and we told the front desk about it. The apologized but did not offer to comp any part of our visit despite this happening to us (and others). Overall our experience was ok at the Sheraton.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lrgay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Dear Irgay,
We would like to apologize that your stay was satisfactory at best. We strive to guarantee that all of our guests have an exceptional experience and it seems that we have faulted on our part. We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us so that we can improve our service. We will share your comments with our staff so that we are more aware of our guests needs. If you would like to speak with us further about your stay, we will be more than happy to connect with you. At your convenience you can email Christopher.petrucci@sheraton.com . Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed many times, usually on club floor. Rooms are nice and well maintained. On weekend club room over run with families and kids but good selection of munchies and a nice breakfast buffet. Great exercise room and pool. One complaint, elliptical trainer TV did not work and while I reported it may times, still not fixed. If u are interested in using, be sure u check that it has been fixed!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear dmk3975,
Thank you for bringing to our attention the malfunctioning TV in the fitness center. We will guarantee that the necessary fixes are made. We thank you for your loyalty and we hope you return again soon. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Great hotel with friendly staff. Clean, well kept with comfortable rooms. The location is fabulous, walking distance to many of the main attractions in Downtown Philly. The Taste bar is a great place to grab a drink and some food.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kafman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Address: One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3939
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $171 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the nation's most historic neighborhood, Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel is the perfect setting for a memorable visit. Our hotel is tucked within the Old City district of Philadelphia - home to world-class attractions such as Independence Hall, The Liberty Bell, The National Constitution Center, and Penn’s Landing. Well-appointed guest rooms offer everything you need to relax and refresh during your stay, including our Sheraton Signature Beds. Join us at Taste for creative American cuisine, and spend time discovering Philadelphia - our unbeatable Old City hotel location places your near historic landmarks, as well as local sports stadiums and great year-round events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing