We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No frills hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
Ranked #34 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Aldie, VA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“No frills hotel, great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

The Sheraton Society Hill is a nice hotel located very near the historic district of Philadelphia. It was an easy walk to the historic sites and South Street. Our room was pretty small, no mini refrigerator, no laundry bags, the safe did not work (hotel tried to get it to work), and the heating/AC system was unbelievably loud. Luckily there is so much to do in Philly we didn't spend too much time in the room. The pool is nice but no hot tub. The Sheraton Club is great for kids, free snacks and drinks and the exercise room is very nice. We did not eat at the hotel - breakfast there is pricey, $15 for an egg breakfast. The hotel is clean and everyone there was very nice. We were harassed by a mentally unstable guest who scared my kids and asked us for $5000 and we told the front desk about it. The apologized but did not offer to comp any part of our visit despite this happening to us (and others). Overall our experience was ok at the Sheraton.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lrgay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Irgay,
We would like to apologize that your stay was satisfactory at best. We strive to guarantee that all of our guests have an exceptional experience and it seems that we have faulted on our part. We would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us so that we can improve our service. We will share your comments with our staff so that we are more aware of our guests needs. If you would like to speak with us further about your stay, we will be more than happy to connect with you. At your convenience you can email Christopher.petrucci@sheraton.com . Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    375
    135
    48
    25
See reviews for
240
219
34
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed many times, usually on club floor. Rooms are nice and well maintained. On weekend club room over run with families and kids but good selection of munchies and a nice breakfast buffet. Great exercise room and pool. One complaint, elliptical trainer TV did not work and while I reported it may times, still not fixed. If u are interested in using, be sure u check that it has been fixed!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear dmk3975,
Thank you for bringing to our attention the malfunctioning TV in the fitness center. We will guarantee that the necessary fixes are made. We thank you for your loyalty and we hope you return again soon. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Great hotel with friendly staff. Clean, well kept with comfortable rooms. The location is fabulous, walking distance to many of the main attractions in Downtown Philly. The Taste bar is a great place to grab a drink and some food.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kafman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

We were in a Starwood room which was very basic no frills. It was average in every way. There are no microwaves or refridgerators in rooms. There is no breakfast included, but you can get very limited choices of Starbucks in the lobby. The location was quiet and easier to manage then being in Center City, but I prefer the restaurants, shops and things to do in Center City. The only stand out at this hotel were the doormen, they were excellent!

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank joan3boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear joan3boys,

We would first like to apologize for not providing you a WOW experience. We always want our guests to leave with a memorable experience. Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We will share them with our staff so that we can improve on our performance. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daytoncp
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Unfortunately, we were not able to make our reservation due to the weather. All flights were cancelled into Philadelphia. However, I did want to comment on the outstanding service that the Sheraton gave us. They were very understanding about our situation and held the room for us just in case we were able to make it. After we determined that there was no possible way to get there, they happily cancelled our reservations with no fees charged. They were friendly and professional. When we travel to Philadelphia again I know where we will be staying.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daytoncp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny/nj
Level Contributor
192 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

the hotel is beautiful, Sheraton beds are so amazing to sleep in like on a cloud! Plenty of restaurants within walking distance, we really just parked car & walked. Beautiful lobby, well appointed rooms . the old city is great, friendly staff also

Room Tip: we didn't eat breakfast or go to spa but didn't want to give something we didn't try a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loislaneNy/nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altadena
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Sheraton Society Hill by accident. It was a little cheaper than other hotels close-by the convention center which was above my budget.
It is a smaller yet fully amenitied, almost boutique hotel. The area is was located was awesome. In the heart of an upscale residential neighborhood and local restaurants and bars, walking distance to most historical sites and museums.
The charm of the residential neighborhood and the service of the hotel an proximity to downtown would make me want to go back. Safe place to stroll in the evening after dinner and convenient drug store a couple of blocks away. I had great experience.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank mjhlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear mjhlee,
We are happy that this happy accident allowed you to experience our hotel. We are happy that you had an enjoyable time and we hope you will stay with us again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Penn's View Hotel
#11 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Property: Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
Address: One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3939
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel is near Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the National Constitution Center, Independence Visitors Center and Penns Landing. Our Philadelphia hotel has 17 meeting spaces ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing