We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding party”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
Ranked #33 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I recently had my out of town guests and the bridal party stay at the Sheraton Society Hill during
a holiday weekend. This was a great choice of hotels! Everyone was extremely helpful
with my needs during my this time.
I especially want to mention, Carroll, for all her help and cooperation. She responds immediately during the planning process and went out of her way to make sure that every detail was addressed. She is totally competent in her job. If you book a block of rooms, ask for Carroll Lawson. You won't be disappointed with her or the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Delaine R,

Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill for your wedding room block. We are happy we could accommodate all your guests and their needs. We thank you for the lovely review, and we will share it with Carroll. We hope the next time you travel to Philadelphia you choose to stay with us. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (991)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

649 - 655 of 991 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

The location was perfect for our business trip. Check in was quick and easy. There is a Starbucks counter in the lobby for a quick cup of coffee, and there is always a bowl of green apples near the door. The bedding is comfortable with all white linens, duvets and lots of pillows.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank roslynpines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear roslynpines,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy you enjoyed the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper, which is a number one favorite of all Sheraton guests. We hope you can return in the near future and experience a no work and all play stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

8/29/2013

The location for seeing thing things on the historic district and on Penn's Landing make this a good spot to stay in. The valet's taking of the car is something I do not like to do, but it is a good option here. Convenient parking is hard to come by and expensive. We reserved a room with the parking package included. Still, you have to tip the valets. We did not use the car and after 3 nights in their garage, a phone call and about 15 minutes was enough to get the car out of storage.

Annoying are those that want to take your luggage to the room for you. I can do my own IF I have a cart, which seemed readily available. We hauled our own luggage. The luggage car pushers can be useful to some, but not us. At check out, we had to get the front desk to help find a car. Many were available, but again, we got the sales pitch to have some wheel a cart for us. No thanks.

The room was nice with an AC unit that doesn't blow directly on you and it is placed so the room is cooled. The problem: AC turning on is noisy and noticeable at night when you are trying to sleep.

What is odd about the room we had is that it has a patio, one floor below the pool. Yet the "patio" has no furniture. I guess we could have dragged the room furniture onto the patio. We also found it odd that there is one desk chair for the desk and one arm chair (with footrest) for the table. In a room at the price we paid, two armchairs would make sense. We asked for a second chair at the front desk and were told that they would try to accommodate us. No second chair ever showed up. This room provides a single bathrobe and pair of slippers for the guests of the room. That doesn't do much good when there are two guests in the room.

Annoying were the sounds of the pool area, kids screaming, splashing, playing, etc.. That wasn't really as much of a problem as was the Irritating screeching of someone dragging pool chairs at 5:30/6:00 in the morning when I am trying to sleep.

The Sheraton Club House room for breakfast ... not much of a continental breakfast, but what was there was average, maybe 3 stars. Lesser hotels seem to have superior breakfasts with at least waffles or pancakes.

The bed - very, very comfortable. It has been one of the best nights of sleep during our trip. This was the highlight if the room.

The hotel's restaurant, Taste, was mostly empty when we had dinner. The bar had several patrons. The food we ordered, a NY Strip and Jumbo Shrimp & Pasta were pretty good. Along with a bottle of wine, it was an expensive but good hotel meal and not out of range for this kind of place. For breakfast, the restaurant is EXTREMELY overpriced and is probably why no one is eating breakfast in the restaurant.

Internet access included in the room rate. The problem? Free Internet access turn off on the morning of check-out before checking out. This should not have happened, but it did. A couple of minor discrepancies on the bill were taken care of and once again, the front desk apologized about the chair.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rft0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear rft0000,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy that you were able to enjoy all of the sights located around the hotel. Also, we are thrilled that you had the best night’s rest during your trip thanks to our Sheraton Sweet Sleeper. They are very comfy beds. We apologize for the noises you experienced from the pool. At the request of our guests we always try to accommodate them so that they can enjoy their stay. If you return to Philadelphia in the future, we hope you choose to stay with us again and we will guarantee an enjoyable stay.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed for two nights during the heat wave this June. First we got a great rate through an offer on their web site--the 2nd night stay for the price of your birth year, which means we paid $230 for the first night and only paid $70 for the 2nd night! This also included club access which meant breakfast was served each morning and free drinks and snacks from approx. 5-9 each night. We met other friends staying here so we saved a ton on wine and beer that night! The only bad side was we looked forward to relaxing at the pool, but it was an indoor oven. Top floor with a solarium and no air circulation. My kids had fun but not me. Next my husband let them stay in the pool way too long. Not only was the pool dirty and about to undergo repairs but the floor of the pool was rough and the kids got tiny blisters on their toes afterwards. The hotel sent the manager up who told us it was in fact from the pool floor and staying in a long time causes the skin to become more sensitive and in our case, blister. They gave us some free drink tickets which we did not even use, but I didn't blame the hotel except for the general poor ventilation of the room and need for pool repair. Their toes were fine the next day. If I made a stink they would have done more for us, but they were so attentive to the situation it was okay. I would still recommend the hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Noahb,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We greatly apologize for the condition our pool was in and want to ensure you that our pool has completed repairs and is excellent condition. We are happy you were able to enjoy the club lounge and all of the hearty breakfast and evening hors d’oeuvres. We hope you return in the future and guarantee you another wonderful stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I had to go here for a conference so I ended up spending a lot of time in the hotel. The facilities are generally nice. It has one of the best gyms I have seen in a hotel. The location is great because it is close to the river and easy walking distance to many restaurants.

The building does not seem like much from the outside, but the courtyard/garden inside for the lobby is pleasant for sitting. The bar and restaurant are very good as well.

The rooms here were quite nice and large for a Sheraton. The bedroom was comfortable, and I was generally happy with the light in my room at the entrance, but the bathroom was another story. I am sure it was just my room, but the lamp was sort of broken and when I asked I was told that the style of bulb they use for energy efficiency just takes some time to get bright. The brightest it ever got was a very dull purple/pink glow that was barely enough for me to see my reflection. I believe this issue is contained to the one room since nobody else at my conference had the issue, but there were several instances, for which we have submitted formal complaints to the hotel, where the staff helping with our conference were rude to attendees.

Depending on what you are going for, it will probably be a fairly nice experience. Just don't expect anything grand or amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Matt M,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your most recent stay. We apologize for the misunderstanding of the issue with the light in your room and that you and some of the attendees felt less than appreciated by the staff. We will work to improve communication between departments to guarantee our guests satisfaction. Our guest’s satisfaction is one of the highest priorities we value and always work to improve their experience. We hope you can return again to notice the positive changes we make.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We spent a long weekend at this hotel in July and found it to be above expectation. We attended a wedding here and it was great! The area surrounding the hotel was beautiful and historic. There was a festival going on at the bridge with many vendors and music playing in the streets. Although the weather was very hot, we had a most enjoyable time in this area of Philadelphia!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caccian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Caccian,
Thank you for a glowing review. We are glad to learn that you had an enjoyable time at our hotel while attending the wedding. We hope you can return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is located down near Penns Landing and not far from South St. The lobby area is real nice and well appointed. The front desk could be a little friendlier. The rooms are decent to nice, bathrooms a little small. The beds are superbly comfortable. Again it is in a quiet area but walking distance to a lot of activity. The one thing you need to be aware of is the price to park your car overnight. It is valet only and comes to $42 with tax (sign out front says $35 but that is without tax, another ourtrageous $7). This was definitely disappointing. I found out later there was parking around the corner for $19 a day. I would seek that out next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank btanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear btanner,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We apologize that our parking options were not communicated to you before your stay. We offer 24/7 security and monitoring of your car and in and out privileges. We are always happy to suggest alternative options for parking. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and the location. We will share your comments with our front office to guarantee a pleasant and helpful experience. We hope you return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Address: One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3939
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $140 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the nation's most historic neighborhood, Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel is the perfect setting for a memorable visit. Our hotel is tucked within the Old City district of Philadelphia - home to world-class attractions such as Independence Hall, The Liberty Bell, The National Constitution Center, and Penn’s Landing. Well-appointed guest rooms offer everything you need to relax and refresh during your stay, including our Sheraton Signature Beds. Join us at Taste for creative American cuisine, and spend time discovering Philadelphia - our unbeatable Old City hotel location places your near historic landmarks, as well as local sports stadiums and great year-round events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing