We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, convenient, friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
Ranked #33 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
San Francisco
Level Contributor
1,187 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“Comfortable, convenient, friendly”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Walking distance to the waterfront and old town.

Room prices in Philly are highly competitive, so shop around. If the Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel is priced competitively with other hotels in the area, STAY HERE FOR SURE.

Awesomely-comfortable room, although the layout was a bit strange. I was with my 12-year-old kid. We had 1 queen-size Murphy Bed (folds into the wall) and 1 roll-away twin-size bed. Both were incredibly comfortable. The room had an enormus round dining table that seated 6 - 8 people. There were room-connecting doors on both sides of the room, so it's obvious this room was designed to be part of a huge suite. All that said, it was VERY COMFORTABLE!

Nice, indoor swimming pool for the kids.

Ridiculously-expensive internet service and parking. Don't drive and park. This hotel is near enough everything to walk. Internet is FAST, but you pay dearly for it.

Room Tip: Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel is a low-rise hotel. None of the rooms have a special view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear 7268,

We are happy you and your daughter had a great time with us. We are glad you enjoyed the beds. All of mattress, even our rollaways are fitted with our famous Sheraton Sweet Sleeper mattress. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and do hope you return again soon. We invite you to review our packages and promotions pages that offer both internet and breakfast. See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    378
    136
    49
    25
See reviews for
242
221
34
279
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, De
Level Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed for 2 midweek nights. Location is good, walking distance to Old City and historical sights. Hotel is nicely appointed with a large atrium the key feature of the lobby. Our room was nice and clean. Restaurant was very expensive for breakfast, but there was a Starbucks counter in the lobby as well. Price of valet was $42 per night, but car was there in less than 5 minutes when we wanted it. They have an indoor pool on the 4th floor, but the water was extremely cold and we couldn't stand it for more than a few minutes.

Room Tip: You may not want a room opening on the atrium as the noise does carry. There are interior doors tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank festermatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear festermatt,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We apologize the pool was on the cooler side. We try and regulate the temperature so guest can cool off and relax on a hot summer’s day. We do offer breakfast and parking packages available all year round on our website. Also, we will be happy to share with you some great places in the area that offer a variety of food. We hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at the Sheraton for a wedding. We are a family if 4 with two small children.
They let us have an early checkin on Friday. There were complimentary soft pretzels and lemonade in the lobby. The lobby was also equipped with a Starbucks.
We were lucky enough to have a corner room on the 4th floor. Our room was very spacious and close to the pool which was great for the kids. The room seemed pretty clean but smelled a little dusty which triggered our allergies. We had a hard time getting the temp right. It was either to hot or to cold. There were only 2 towels upon checkin which we didn't notice until it was to late. Also we were told we could have a twin bed delivered. This never came and we were so busy we did not follow up.

The location of the hotel was perfect for us. Walking distance to penns landing, south street. and all of our weekend wedding festivities. Be prepared to shell out of vallet parking. There are really no other parking options.

All in all good hotel and great place for wedding guests.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twelve121212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Twelve121212,

We are happy you enjoyed the wedding festivities and that we could provide comfortable accommodations. We apologize we did not follow up about the roll away bed and that we did not anticipate your need for extra towels. We will work with our front office so that we follow up with guest’s requests and foresee their future needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

A Starwood property with a beautiful lobby and within walking distant of a historic district in Philadelphia. Good Service, Comfortable Beds. Pleasant staff. Decent restaurant on the premises. Odd indoor courtyard layout.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiera K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Right near the old town. Very new, very clean, very good. Staff excellent. Could not fault.there is not much else to be said really and seems pointless rattling on about 2/3rds of nothing until I get to the recommended amount of letters to satisfy a bot. Is his enough bot?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buggeritwillthisdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I was extremely impressed with this Sheraton. The service was top notch starting the second we pulled up with people helping us unload the car and our bags were brought straight to our room. The front desk staff and hotel manager were all very friendly and extremely helpful. They will go out of their way to help you with anything you may need. The room was clean as well as the rest of the hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gregtrzaski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
153 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

now that the renovation has been completed, it is a really nice place -rooms are big and well appointed, club lounge is good, the health club has been upgraded and the public areas are very nice..

location is spectacular as it is one of the few higher end hotels in that part of town..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wdchuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear wdchuck1,

We thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy you were able to enjoy a before and after experience. We are excited for your future stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Penn's View Hotel
#10 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Property: Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
Address: One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3939
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel is near Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the National Constitution Center, Independence Visitors Center and Penns Landing. Our Philadelphia hotel has 17 meeting spaces ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing