We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
Ranked #34 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had my daughter's wedding at the Sheraton this past May. Our experience was very positive. The hotel is in walking distance of the church where we had the service. Since it was a beautiful day, it was lovely to walk through the old cobblestone streets to the reception. Our guests thoroughly enjoyed sitting outside on the veranda while enjoying plentiful hors d'oeuvres included in our package. The food was very good and the wait staff- competent, attentive and courteous. Thank you Fran and all for a wonderful evening.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DR326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear DR326,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely experience with us. We are glad you and your guests enjoyed the hotel and all it has to offer. Your daughter’s wedding was spectacular and everyone looked like they had a wonderful time. We hope you can come back and stay with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (998)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

682 - 688 of 998 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2013

Great hotel. Good location. Well maintained. Speedy check in. The scale of this four-storey hotel suits Philadelphia's historic Society Hill neighbourhood perfectly. The interior courtyard is bright and creates a sense of luxury. The staff were friendly and efficient. Why can't all hotels be this good?

Room Tip: Starwood Preferred Guest rooms are far from the elevators and, therefore, nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NLJos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear NLJos,
Thank you for sharing your most recent experience with us. We thank you for your glowing review. We hope you return and share more experiences with us in the years to come and we will guarantee to offer that sense of luxury each time you are here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed here for a night in June for a Rolling Stones concert. The hotel is very nice and was convenient to lots of restaurants, bars and stores. We decided to take train to the stadium and that was quite easy to navigate too. The room was large and very clean. The hotel's lobby has a high atrium. It's very pretty but if you're in one of the rooms above the lobby, I can see how it could get loud overlooking the atrium depending on when you're there. My room was off one of the other hallways so we didn't have a problem with noise. It was a quick stay but we found it enjoyable for the night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CGriff06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear CGriff06,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and hope you enjoyed the concert. We would enjoy sharing another “rocking” good time with you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on the second floor had a nice room we thought until we found little bugs around, which made me feel uneasy sleeping. Also we had no shampoo or bath soap. Idk maybe they don't give those out anymore. Overall the staff is absolutely no help and rude at some points "the night valet lady" took me 10 min just to find her only to see her on her phone in the little office behind the podium. No continental breakfast option And parking was 38$ for 24 hours the ritz doesn't even charge that much. Anyway in conclusion don't stay here location is good but that's it. Spend the extra money and stay in center city or the Hyatt next door.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Poysun,

We greatly apologize for the service that was the provided to you on your most recent stay with us and for the uncleanliness of the room. We do routine maintenance to guarantee the quality of the rooms so that these issues do not happen. We will share your comments with our staff to ensure that we always provide professional and warm guests service. We thank you for your comments and feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The room where we stayed was very nice & the location was quite convenient. But during our weekend in Philadelphia, we felt we had wandered into a frat party--or a weekend near Mardi Gras in New Orleans--which was not what we had expected. When we arrived, there were several young people sitting on the ground outside the main entrance smoking & eating pizza & drinking beer, which did not make for a classy welcome. We had to step over them to get inside. Then, throughout the weekend, there was a "party atmosphere" in the lobby, in the hallway near the ice machine, and in the elevators--lots of people holding wine glasses and beer cans, not just in the bar area but throughout the hotel. Fortunately, our room was down a quiet hall, but the public spaces seemed unsupervised. I can understand the hotel wanting to host wedding parties or other large & profitable groups, but I think there should be some courtesy shown toward regular paying guests. Where was the adult in charge? This was not a class act.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magmack842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear magmack842,

Thank you for sharing your most recent experience with us. We apologize for the welcome experience you had encountered and want to ensure you that we like to create a fun and playful environment for all of our guests, but at the same time guaranteeing the safety and satisfaction of everyone. Our location offers a variety of entertainment options suitable for everyone. We offer full time security so that everyone can have an enjoyable experience. We hope you choose to return in the near future. We will guarantee a calmer atmosphere

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

One of the nicest Sheraton properties I've stayed at in a while! Starting with the staff - everyone we encountered was friendly, professional and helpful! Our king room on the 3rd floor on the hallway overlooking the lobby was incredibly comfortable and well appointed. What I especially liked was the inside door that could be closed to control noise wafting up from the lobby - so despite being on this hallway, our room was very quiet. Nice beer and wine selection at the bar, and the food was good too! Late checkout on Sunday so that we could do a bit more before our early evening train home - no problem!!!!! And everything was beyond clean and well kept!!!!!

The hotel is located in a great area - short walk to all the Old City historic sites, many good restaurants and bars, and notable areas (South Street, Chestnut, Market). Penns Landing was a short walk away as well. We took Amtrak from NYC, and the cab ride was about $15. with tip.

Even if I were to come back to see the sites in another part of the city, I would still opt to stay here - it was that nice. I respect some of the reviews that have some minor complaints, but we didn't experience anything negative at all. Even our AC unit was quiet (and we were at the Sheraton Portsmouth last week where it was NOT).

Overall, would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a 1st class stay in a wonderful city!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fixitswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear fixitswife,

WOW! We are thrilled you had such an amazing time with us and that our staff showed you a terrific experience. We are very excited for your future stays with us and will always look to guarantee a successful and pleasant stay. Reach out to us when you are ready to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Located near everything in old city society hill... Penns landing, the ferry, Front street, Chestnut, n Market st.. Staff friendly , helpful, n kind.. Early arrival no problem... Easy check in.. Room ready.. Very clean, comfy bed.. Great views from room.. Corner rm tons of windows, king bed club level.. Club room is well stocked, drinks, snacks, evening appetizers.. Decent breakfast.. Always worth going club level.. Valet outstanding.. Super nice n really helpful.. Totaly recommend staying at this Sheraton...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel3Pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear travel3Pa,

We welcome your review of our hotel and are pleased you had a wonderful time while staying with us. We appreciate all of your lovely comments regarding our hotel and staff and we hope you stay with us again soon. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,619 reviews
City Center East
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Address: One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3939
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $153 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the nation's most historic neighborhood, Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel is the perfect setting for a memorable visit. Our hotel is tucked within the Old City district of Philadelphia - home to world-class attractions such as Independence Hall, The Liberty Bell, The National Constitution Center, and Penn’s Landing. Well-appointed guest rooms offer everything you need to relax and refresh during your stay, including our Sheraton Signature Beds. Join us at Taste for creative American cuisine, and spend time discovering Philadelphia - our unbeatable Old City hotel location places your near historic landmarks, as well as local sports stadiums and great year-round events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, HotelPower, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing