We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great night of sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
Ranked #31 of 84 Hotels in Philadelphia
delray beach
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great night of sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in late March 2013. Great property. Room was very comfortable and surprisingly well decorated given the nice price paid. Bedding was awesome. Staff at the bar at "Taste" were attentive and very friendly. Good location- very short walk to many, many bars, restaurants, and historic attractions.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank delrayUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear delrayUSA,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay at the Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill. We are pleased you had a fabulous stay and are happy you enjoyed your time with us. We will look for you in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    330
    124
    41
    21
See reviews for
213
183
33
239
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Saint Lawrence, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here during the end of wedding season and the staff was exasperated but they did their best to make sure we were happy. The food at the restaurant was horrible, but luckily there were plenty of great places to eat nearby. The room was quite large, but not that quiet: we could hear the people next door. The pool was okay. No mini-fridge in the room, which was was sad. Luckily the ice was free, so I was able to fill the sink up and keep my extra cheese-steaks cool overnight. All and all an average hotel, but the staff went above and beyond to make sure we were happy. It is in a perfect location and is in walking distance to several museums and attractions: also, I'm told the hotel is on the only curving street Philadelphia, Dock Street, which is cool in itself.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainRayFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear CaptainRayFraser,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologizes for all of the little inconveniences you had experienced during your most recent stay with us and understand that all of these problems can lead to an overall mediocre stay. We thank you for mentioning the service our staff provided was exceptional. We hope you return to the Sheraton Philadelphia in the new future so that we may have another chance to make your stay better than the last.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Overall this is a nice hotel with an attractive lobby and a really nice four-season pool on the 4th floor. The hotel restaurant/bar, called Taste, was nice. However I did have trouble with my first room, 4048. The TV didn't work, even after several attempts by maintenance to fix it, and the heat made a very loud noise when it switched on and off. The room was small and oddly shaped. I ultimately switched to another room on the second day and had no problems. Staff were helpful; Morris the concierge made great restaurant recommendations and was even able to secure us a large table on a busy Saturday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CB5598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear CB5598,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that our staff was able to assist you with the unforeseeable situations that occurred during your stay. We have taken note of these inconveniences and have communicated with our Rooms and Engineering Departments. We apologize once again and hope you choose to stay with us again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Had a very pleasant stay during a conference hosted at the Sheraton Society Hill. Rooms and common areas appeared to be recently renovated. My room was very clean and well kept. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room quite. All the staff I encountered were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BamaBert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Bamabert,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill. We are pleased you had a relaxing and comfortable stay, and we thank you for mentioning our friendly and helpful staff. We hope the next time you are in Philadelphia, whether for business or leisure, you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northport, New York, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Classy, good food, kid friendly, walking distance to food/fun. Indoor pool was fun, seemed a little salty, but no one else seemed to mind! Parking was expensive ($35), as was room service fee (22% service fee). We got the family package with the free movie, which was great-just make sure you tell them at check out otherwise its $16 for a movie. We got the city pass for day 2 and the bus picked us up right behind the hotel. If you have the money, it was perfect!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jtumsuden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear jtumsuden

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize we did not communicate the parking rates prior to your arrival. We are happy to learn you and your family enjoyed your stay. We hope you return soon to enjoy all Philadelphia has to offer, especially in the spring months. So many family activities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyertown
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I recently stayed at the Sheraton for jury duty.
I called around 7 PM at night to reserve a room & checked in at around 9:30 PM.
Very easy to find on website directions. Upon pulling up to hotel, was met by valet before I was even out of my car. Also offered to help with bag, but I only had a travel bag.
Entered hotel, was met by a friendly person behind the desk who had my info. Check in was quick & effecient. Room was on the 4th floor with view of Penn's Landing. Room overall was clean, with the exception of the carpet looking to have some dirt & a 3 inch black mark on the curtin (looked like a cigarette mark, even though a non smoking room w/ no odor ?)
A very comfortable large king size poster bed with several soft pillows. Large flat sceen TV. Robe in closet (A little body static) Nice clean bathroom w/ hairdryer. Single cup coffe maker.
The minor issue that I encountered was that there was no infomation book in the room.
I wanted to get some ice because there was no ref in room. I had no way to find out where to go. I was walking the halls with the ice bucket, never having to find the machine.
I did however find the pool. It looked nice. I would have liked to use the hot tube but I arrived late & the hours on the door showed that it closed at 10 PM. I wish that I knew that before hand. (I know that I could have called the front desk, but it was late & I wasn't going to be up too late due to an early rize.)The lobby atrium looked very nice. Sorry that I hadn't had time to enjoy breakfast there.
Located by the Ritz movie theater & historical attractions. The Sheraton held my bag for me after checkout for jury duty. Upon returning after early dismissal. Had no problem retriving my car with valet or bag with baggage claim.
Overall a very enjoyable stay with VERY friendly & helpful staff!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoyertownMusik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear BoyertownMusik,

Thank you for the lovely review of your most recent stay at the Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill. We apologize for the confusion of our ice machine and are working to effectively communicate to our guest the ice machine location. We hope next time you are in Philadelphia you choose to stay with us to get the full experience of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

One of the nicest staff's in the country! As someone who has over 150 nights a year, I think I qualify to make that statement. From valet staff to club room staff, all are very helpful, courteous and freindly. Changes and upgrades of the hotel are also very nice

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STEVECEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Stevecec,

Thank you for boasting about our hotel on our behalf. We are thrilled with your experience and we are happy to learn our staff delivers service that you are entitled too. We wish you to stay with us more often and would like to assist you with whatever your needs are when you stay with us. We look forward to your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
City Center East
BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District
City Center East
Penn's View Hotel
Penn's View Hotel
#12 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Property: Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
Address: 1 Dock St, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3939
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel is near Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the National Constitution Center, Independence Visitors Center and Penns Landing. Our Philadelphia hotel has 17 meeting spaces ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Starwood, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing