We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
Ranked #33 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I had been staying at this hotel for about 10 yrs but had not stayed for the past two years until last week. It was great to find that not much has changed in terms of quality service and comfortable rooms. They have remodeled the lobby and bar since I was last there and it looks great.

Speaking of service, now remember I haven't been there in two years, but when I went down the first morning for my early morning smoke the night valet greeted me with a big hello and a hug. Anthony has been there for years and he remembered me. May not mean alot to some folks but for someone that travels frequently, it is quite nice to be remembered. Another person who has been there for many years is Anthony the bartender. Not sure if it is a requirement to be named "Anthony" to work there but the high quality of service provided by these two gentlemen, I would want to be called Anthony as well! Anthony the bar manager remembered my name and what I drank the entire week and provided quick and friendly service. Management must do something right to retain such quality folks.

In terms of the rooms the ones to ask for are the rooms on the corners. They are a bit larger and have multiple windows and decent views. The rooms to stear away from are the interior rooms that look down into atrium. I have stayed in these rooms once and felt very closed in. I overheard that they had recently replaced all the beds which are quite comfortable and the pillows are awesome. The only concern with the rooms is that the bathrooms are quite small.

The hotel is in close proximity to many good bars and restaurants. They are close enough to walk to and a wide variety of cuisines and price options. Also, if you are a Starbucks fan as I am, there is one in the lobby.

Room Tip: Corner rooms much larger, rooms facing into the atrium stay away from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Joe H,

We thank you for your loyalty and we are pleased to learn that the quality of care that was provided to you on your most recent stay has not changed throughout the years. We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We look forward to your future stays with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (989)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

766 - 772 of 989 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2013

Room decor has improved since last year. The bedding is ulta-luxurious and comfortable. They now have microfiber robes in the rooms and the towels are all brand new, super white & ultra fluffy. The workout room has made improvements with top of the line treadmills and ellipticals, cold wet washcloths in a mini-fridge, and foam rollers and massage rolling sticks, which were really appreciated. Hot tub and indoor pool at this price are a plus. However, the prices in the restaurant are really out of bounds for breakfast, and the heating units in the rooms are really, crazy loud when they shut on and off. And, there are NO ventilation fans in the bathrooms, which means that if you take a shower with the door closed, you'll be trapped in a world of steamy humidity for a while. The common areas are decorated really well now also. Prices for parking are a joke - park in the garage just up the street on S 2nd and you'll save at least 1/3, won't have to wait for any valets to get your car, and all you have to do is walk 1/2 a block.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebraCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear DebraCo,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill. We are happy to learn that you had a chance to experience the property before and after our revitalization. We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and hope you choose to stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights from 16/2/13 before travelling to NYC. Welcome was excellent. Staff couldn't help enough. There was always someone there to help with bags, open doors, offer advice etc. Check in was smooth, room was clean, spacious and totally adequate for our needs. Heating a little noisy when first turned off but soon stopped so was not a problem at all. The bed was the most comfortable we have ever slept in. We had access to the club lounge for breakfast and evening snacks and drinks Breakfast was basic but tasty. Gym very modern and pool was good too. Housekeeping was excellent. The hotel is in the old part of Philadelphia and is easy walking distance to sites such as Independence Hall and Liberty Bell. We also walked to the Rocky Steps but this was close on 3 miles. Quiet location and we felt safe at all times. Would definitely stay at this hotel again or if they are all as good as this, at any other Sheraton.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank honest-reviewer68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Michelle h,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill. We are pleased that you had an enjoyable experience during your time in Philadelphia. We thank you for your review and we hope you stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Convenient location. We had a comfortable room & bed equipped with hi-quality sheeting. The room was clean and the bathroom was just the right size. We had brkfst. downstairs, and it was quite good. Nothing out of the ordinary, but it certainly fit the bill. Friendly, helpful front desk. Parking: efficient! I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gitsmom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear gitsmom1,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill. We are thrilled with your review of our hotel and are glad to learn you had an enjoyable time. We look forward to your future stays with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill has a great lobby! There are several fantastic places to eat near the hotel. Also, if you are an SPG platinum member, the lounge has great food and drinks nightly, including breakfast. The building is clearly dated, yet remodeled making it a very cozy stay at a fair price.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank psychgirl526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear psychgirl526,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill. We are glad you liked our special amenities. We take pride in our matured structure and our happy you enjoyed our modernized property. We do hope you choose to stay with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Had not stayed at this hotel in a while but had a wonderful stay recently.
Beautifully renovated, very nice pool and jacuzzi, great mattress, and very dog friendly.
It was totally pleasant and comfortable. Will definitely stay there again in the near future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear barbaradanin,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill. We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel, and we are excited to learn you had an enjoyable experience. We hope in the near future you choose to stay with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We attended the New Years Eve Party in December and I must say it was great! The Band is outstanding, my wife and i danced all night. The food was good, however the Hotel is fabulous. It has been completely renovated and has a nice "W" type feel to it. I cannot wait to return the New Years Eve party this year. Treat yourself to a room on the Club floor which includes beer and wine, hors d'oeuvres adn breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear William S,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton. We are thrilled you and your wife enjoyed our New Year’s Eve celebration and we are glad we were able to enjoy them with you. We look forward to sharing the experience with you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Address: One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3939
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $141 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the nation's most historic neighborhood, Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel is the perfect setting for a memorable visit. Our hotel is tucked within the Old City district of Philadelphia - home to world-class attractions such as Independence Hall, The Liberty Bell, The National Constitution Center, and Penn’s Landing. Well-appointed guest rooms offer everything you need to relax and refresh during your stay, including our Sheraton Signature Beds. Join us at Taste for creative American cuisine, and spend time discovering Philadelphia - our unbeatable Old City hotel location places your near historic landmarks, as well as local sports stadiums and great year-round events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing