We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location near great food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
Ranked #34 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location near great food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill has a great lobby! There are several fantastic places to eat near the hotel. Also, if you are an SPG platinum member, the lounge has great food and drinks nightly, including breakfast. The building is clearly dated, yet remodeled making it a very cozy stay at a fair price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psychgirl526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear psychgirl526,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill. We are glad you liked our special amenities. We take pride in our matured structure and our happy you enjoyed our modernized property. We do hope you choose to stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    350
    131
    46
    24
See reviews for
226
207
34
257
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Had not stayed at this hotel in a while but had a wonderful stay recently.
Beautifully renovated, very nice pool and jacuzzi, great mattress, and very dog friendly.
It was totally pleasant and comfortable. Will definitely stay there again in the near future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear barbaradanin,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill. We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel, and we are excited to learn you had an enjoyable experience. We hope in the near future you choose to stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We attended the New Years Eve Party in December and I must say it was great! The Band is outstanding, my wife and i danced all night. The food was good, however the Hotel is fabulous. It has been completely renovated and has a nice "W" type feel to it. I cannot wait to return the New Years Eve party this year. Treat yourself to a room on the Club floor which includes beer and wine, hors d'oeuvres adn breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear William S,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton. We are thrilled you and your wife enjoyed our New Year’s Eve celebration and we are glad we were able to enjoy them with you. We look forward to sharing the experience with you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

On arrival, we requested a refrigerator for our room ( on the 4th floor). That never came. Then tried to follow the signs, which were posted, to the ice machine. It was on the third floor! The phone died midcall when the broken plug fell out. The wall heater cycled on and off all night, basically waking us every 30 minutes or so. We even tried to shut it off ( and it was snowing and 17 degrees), but it still kept cycling. Lots of other hotels in the area!! Look around before booking here!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathi127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Kathi127,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill. We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel and we apologize that your stay was less than satisfactory. We will address the appropriate departments to ensure the heater is fixed and our communication between departments is more effective. If you would like to reach out to christopher.petrucci@sheraton.com to speak further, he will be happy to help. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
World
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I stayed here while in Philadelphia for business.

Rooms are spacious, bed is huge and very comfortable, bathroom is normal size. All nicely, however 'standardy', furbished.

Check-in was efficient, front desk person was nice, doormen were outstandingly friendly and helpful.

There's a coffee place that sells Starbucks and I think there's also a restaurant. They have a gym and a pool, I didn't use either, and can therefore not comment.

All was clean. However, one day I didn't get housekeeping/maid service. I'm not overly complicated when it comes to that, so just called the front desk to inform them accordingly. They offered to send housekeeping immediately, which I declined as it was late, I was tired and wanted to sleep. The next day, housekeeping did make up my room, but left a couple of cleaning cloths on one of the sideboards as well as forgot to fill up toilet paper and just left the holder next to the sink. I didn't report that as, again, I don't really care all that much about such things. I put both the toilet paper holder as well as the cloths on a sideboard where they were clearly visible, but both was still there when I returned the next day (room had been made up). Mhm, well...

Location is fine, even though not perfect for my specific needs on this trip. I had stayed at hotels in the middle of downtown before which was a bit more convenient for my purposes as I like to have restaurant and shopping options right nearby after along work day. This hotel is a couple of blocks away from the main dowtown action, but really just a 15mins-walk, so nothing to complain about and there are restaurants nearby too. I can't comment on the hotel location's convenience if you are here on vacation and actually want to explore the city. But the historic district seems to be right there.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samaire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Samaire1,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy we were able to host you during your stay in Philadelphia. We apologize that your housekeeping service was not at the standard you deserve. We will share your comments with our housekeeping department to ensure this does not happen in the future. We hope the next time you are in the Philadelphia area you have the chance to explore the historic district that provides an abundant amount of shopping and restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

The beds were amazing! The kind that make you cry before you checkout. The lobby design is really interesting and cozy. The pool is roomy, but a bit cold. It's right next to downtown and the historic area. There's an awesome period restaurant/bar across the street with waiter's in costume and Ben Franklin's favorite bread. The staff was just as great. After a week of multiple hotels in Manhattan, to actually see a smile, be treated like a person rather than a robot was much appreciated. It's amazing how much people change within a two hour drive. They even gave me a map and got me oriented.

Room Tip: The hotel is pretty large with only a few floors, so there's lot's of hallway. Get a room cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dougygreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear andthenjust,

Thank you for choosing to stay with the Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill. We value your feedback regarding our staff and we are always are thrilled to hear they enjoy helping our guests. We hope you return to us again to enjoy in the sweet comforts of our Sheraton Suite Sleeper.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed here 1 night with my family in Jan 2013. 2 beds in a room. I paid $179 with tax and that includes parking. If u r a tripe A member u can get a deal for parking or breakfast. otherwise parking is $42. there is no street parking in this area- so u have no choice really..

room was GREAT, beds very comfortable as well as pillows. Bathroom looked brand new and everything was clean.

I stayed here mostly b/c of the pool they have. This is GREAT for kids!. pool is 4 ft high but heated very nicely. they also have a small baby pool 1 ft deep and a jacuzzi as well . the room is heated nicely and the ceiling is all glass so u can see outside.

Overall- a greta value and a superb hotel. clean and very beautiful.

The only thing i wish the hotel did ( which EVERY hotel now offers) is free internet in your room. they charge $9.95- if u want free internet you need to go to the lobby - Mr. Manager- change this policy- every hotel i have stayed at offers free wifi..

otherwise awesome hotel, tons to do in area - we went to sahara sams indoor water park - 1/2 hour away for the kids..

i would stay here again and highly recommend..

Room Tip: 4th floor has teh pool, 3rd floor has fitness center- but stairs to pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mustang225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear mustang225,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill. We are pleased that you and your family had an enjoyable time here. We apologize for not informing you prior to your arrival your options for intenet. We offer a variety of packages that include many amenities, including internet. We look forward to your future stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Property: Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
Address: 1 Dock St, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3939
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel is near Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the National Constitution Center, Independence Visitors Center and Penns Landing. Our Philadelphia hotel has 17 meeting spaces ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing