We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Society Hills Slumber at the Sheraton”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
Ranked #31 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Our stay was just after Xmas for 6 nights. Large impersonal, city hotel but ideal if one is in Philly for a purpose as we were - a wedding! It is probably in the best part of the city as Society Hills is part of William Penn's historic city with Independence Hall, Liberty Bell etc. all a reasonable walk away. The main museums are further but to save on taxis use a number 38 bus from Chestnut / 5th Street. For only $2 this will take you to Benjamin Franklin Boulevard where all the great galleries are situated.

As in all American hotels the rooms were large and the beds even larger! No kettle in rooms just a Starbucks machine for real coffee which was excellent but spoilt by the provision of paper cups! No milk provided of course just a chemical whitener.
On the plus side, a decently sized swimming pool, oddly situated on the top floor so the glass roof let in lots of natural light. I used it regularly and each time, before breakfast, I had it to myself. Fitness suite is nearby.

On the negative side, breakfast is overpriced particularly by American standards; go to a diner instead. The bar is also too expensive again by local standards but it does stock a decent range of local "crafted" beers, all excellent.

The windows are sealed which is fine as the AC is very efficient but oh why so noisy? Probably the same in all rooms.

Staff were chatty and attentive but not always very knowledgeable.

When in Philly dont miss the Rodin Museum and the Barnes collection, the later requires advance booking so popular is it.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet unless you are above the ballroom when a function is taking place!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hotelchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear hotelchris,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill. We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and apologize for all the unexpected misfortunes you experienced during your stay. We take all guest reviews to heart to better provide the experience they deserve. We hope you consider staying with us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (959)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

754 - 760 of 959 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

Enjoyed the Society Hill Sheraton for a weekend stay. Great location to historical sites, shopping and restaurants. Checkin was easy and the hotel is very clean. The staff was very helpful. The bar was very nice. Definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Geroge B.

We enjoyed learning about your experience at the Sheraton Society Hill. We are thrilled you had an excellent time. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed in the Sheraton Society Hill for only 2 nights, but they were wonderful nights. The hotel was beautiful. The rooms were very nice and were large. We had breakfast both mornings at the hotel and the food was wonderful. We were within easy walking distance of the downtown area and were able to walk to a number of the historic sites in the area, although my daughters favorite destination was the Dave and Buster's 3 minutes away.The hotel even had a kids splash pool which is perfect for my three year old daughter.

The only thing that I didn't like was the parking. The valet parking was almost 150 dollars for my two night stay! I had no idea that parking was going to be that expensive. Had I known in advance how expensive the parking was going to be I might have stayed outside the downtown area.

Room Tip: I don't have any tips on rooms, but the valet parking will set you back about 40 a day.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelgirl05667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Travelgirl05667,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are happy that you had an enjoyable stay and we apologize that our parking options were not communicated to you before your stay. If you decide to return to the Sheraton Society Hill check out our special packages online where we offer a variety of options, including parking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Sheraton Society Hill Hotel is always where I stay when traveling for business to Philladelphia. This hotel is located in walking distance to many fine restaurants and historic sites. The accommodations are above-standard. The hotel is very clean and quiet. The staff is very friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: the corner rooms are exceptionally spacious.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Pam K,

We enjoy our repeat guests and we thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are extremely excited for your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

This is our second time at this particular Sheraton and we were not disappointed! Society Hill is a great location in Philadelphia, walking distance to shopping, restaurants and points of interest. It is also a lovely neighborhood and there are scenic views overlooking the river from many of the rooms!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Workoutgirl24,

We are so happy you came back for a second time. We are always happy when familiar faces come back. We look forward to the next time you come and stay with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I was invited to the Sports Network 26th annual Football Championship Subdivision Awards (the old Division 1-AA) dinner at the Sheraton Society Hill Hotel in Philadelphia. Presented were the the Walter Payton award for the player of the year; Eddie Robinson award for coach of the year; Buck Buchanan award for defensive player and Jerry Rice award for outstanding freshman. Jerry Rice hasn't caught a pass since 2005, but the NFL's all-time leading receiver was very hospitable and showed me some of his dance moves. Rice finished third on the second season of ABC's Dancing with the Stars,
Having spent three days in the City of Brotherly Love this past spring I was not interested in seeing the sites. But, if you are, this hotel is within walking distance of them all. The Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, National Constitution Center and the Betsy Ross House are within a third of a mile from the hotel. Instead of driving from NYC I took a Greyhound bus both ways. The fare was less than the charge for overnight parking and in less than two hours I was in Philadelphia where a 5 minute taxi ride brought me to the hotel.
This is an atrium style building with four floors and 364 rooms. Try not to book a room on the outside as the noise from the lobby is rather loud, especially when there is a function taking place. My room was at the end of a maze of turns. The long walk led to a quiet room with all the amenities I needed. I was the only person using the pool, whirlpool and fitness center which are located on two floors. The buffet breakfast was nothing special, but adequate. Checkout was a breeze and a taxi awaited my return to the Greyhound terminal and NYC.

Room Tip: Do not choose an outside room facing the atrium.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vinoron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear Vinoron,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill. We are happy you enjoyed the Sports Network event. Thank you for your comments about the hotel and the location. We hope the next time you travel to Philadelphia you choose to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is a very good Sheraton.

Location is fantastic and the service throughout all parts of hotel was very good also.

It’s an atrium style property so the layout adds a bit of noise to the overall experience.

Stayed with my family-ideal as you can walk to a ton of things right near the hotel including Liberty Bell Independence Hall and some naval and Korean war memorials.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NPEMDAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear NPEMDAD,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill. We are very happy to host you during your stay in Philadelphia. We hope you return next year for the 2013 Army/Navy Games.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Address: One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3939
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $170 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the nation's most historic neighborhood, Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel is the perfect setting for a memorable visit. Our hotel is tucked within the Old City district of Philadelphia - home to world-class attractions such as Independence Hall, The Liberty Bell, The National Constitution Center, and Penn’s Landing. Well-appointed guest rooms offer everything you need to relax and refresh during your stay, including our Sheraton Signature Beds. Join us at Taste for creative American cuisine, and spend time discovering Philadelphia - our unbeatable Old City hotel location places your near historic landmarks, as well as local sports stadiums and great year-round events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing