We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Old hotel, nice efficient staff, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
Ranked #32 of 84 Hotels in Philadelphia
West New York, New Jersey
Level Contributor
76 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Old hotel, nice efficient staff, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

As an old hotel, it does have certain charm. A low rise but spread out so it feels expansive. I was there for two nights on a business meeting. The host did a great job making sure everything we ordered was working perfectly which was the case. Breakfast and snacks during breaks were of high quality. Starbucks coffee was a nice touch. Buffet lunch for our group was also superb. For a business meeting, the Sheraton is a good choice. One minor compliant is the fan noise from AC/heater. When it kicks in, you know it! This is a common problem with old buildings. The room has the same issue. However, the king room is large. It has a four poster bed which is quite unusual. Furniture is old fashioned matching the style of the room. Bed was comfortable and bathroom was of decent size. Location is very convenient off I-95. The independence hall and other important landmarks are within 15-20 min walking distance. The bar was convenient although they make weak drinks. Valet parking is pricey. Nearby parking lot is cheaper but still costs $25 a day with no in/out privilege. I would consider the Sheraton if I do go back to Philadelphia on a personal trip.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CliveNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear CliveNYC,

We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to learn that your meeting was executed well from food to presentations. We apologize for the noisy fan from the AC unit. We will address the appropriate department and will make sure it is fixed. We do hope you stay with us again when and if you travel to Philadelphia again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    324
    122
    39
    21
See reviews for
208
179
33
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I attended a conference at the Sheraton Society Hill and was very happy with the rooms and the service. I had been here before the renovations and things were not good then and so I was a little unnerved coming back. However, the rooms are beautifully updated and comfortable. The staff was very nice. I had some food requests for the various meetings and the staff took very good care of me. After I was identified at the first event, I never had to ask again. Good job! The location is great. Walking distance to many of the historic buildings and great restaurants. I was very pleased with everything.

Room Tip: I was in a Starwood Preferred Guest room. I heard from others whose rooms faced the atrium that thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank priscilla47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear priscilla47,
Thank you for returning to the Sheraton Society Hill. We are pleased that you were able to see the before and finished product, and we are very happy with your review. We hope the next time you are in the Philadelphia area you choose to stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I go to Philadelphia once a year because my son lives there. I have stayed in several hotels and this one was really nice. The price was wonderful ( $95.00) and the room was huge and the bed was enormous and really comfortable. It is close to a lot of bars and restaurants and the bus-stop to my son's house was right outside the door and the subway was a 5 minute walk.
On the down side- they advertised a pool but it was indoor- not good in the summer. Also, on my last night they turned off the air conditioning to repair it - and it was a hot day- really poor planning,- I complained and they gave me a $100 certificate- fair enough. Also, their bar is terribly expensive- do your drinking elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msinfosd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear msinfosd,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill. We are so happy that you have stayed with us numerous times. We thank you for returning to us. We apologize about the repairs on the AC unit. We hope to see you real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is great for the conference crowd with beautiful lobby, lounge and coffee bar, nice rooms, fitness and pool area. Its location is a big plus, and many nice restaurants, historic landmarks and lovely parks are easily walkable. The only negative comment pertains to limited available wi-fi --- it is "free" (but limited) in the lobby or convention rooms, but Sheraton charges $9.95 per day if you want wi-fi in your room. Since we are now in the 21st century, I think wi-fi for room guests should be included in room charges and not an "extra."

Room Tip: The lobby is really an atrium, so some guest rooms on upper floors open out to this area. There was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harlaxton79-80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Harlaxton79-80,
We are happy to learn that you enjoyed the conference you attended at the Hotel. We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We do apologize that we were not able to communicate the charges for wifi before you arrived. We do not like to surprise our guests. We do hope the next time you are in Philadelphia you choose to stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Chose this hotel because of the good reviews on Trip Advisor For a recent 3 night trip to Philadelphia and was not disappointed.  The property is in a great location within walking distance to all of the historical sites, Old Town and the great shops and restaurants along South Street.  The hotel restaurant and lounge were excellent with fantastic service, would highly recommend the pulled pork or the Cheesesteak sandwiches as both were excellent.  Our rate included daily breakfast which included a full buffet or menu al a carte items, both of which were great.  Will definitely stay at this location when in Philadelphia again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank awayagainVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear awayagainVancouver,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill. We are very glad that you had an enjoyable stay and we thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope the next time you are in Philadelphia you choose to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This hotel is a bit or a paradox. I am guessing it's 50+ years old, but by no means as old as other hotels in Philly. I normally stay at the Marriott Residence Inn which is older, but much nicer. Unfortunately they were booked.

Anyway, the in-room furniture is in need of replacement, the return and vents for the aging in-room air conditioner/heating were caked up with lint/dust and badly in need of cleaning.

When I went to use the bathroom sink, the cold water handle fell off in my hand. And when I first turned on the bathroom light it was a dark pink and took several minutes to go white.

The signage is very poor, not easy to locate ice and vending, or even your room for that matter.

The elevators and common areas (hallways) outside of the lobby have caked on dirt (which some simple green or formula 509 would clean up easily).

The maid staff is very noisy, my room was right next to their closet and they were very inconsiderate in the amount of noise they made early in the AM.....

BUT....there are some good things....

The doorman was very friendly and helpful, the front-desk clerk was also very friendly. The restaurant has a very limited menu, but what I had was decent.

The lobby area has some nice cozy sitting areas and the bartender was quite friendly (as they all should be) and made nice pours.

It could be worse, I'd really give this a 2.5, but it's definitely under average for $220/night.

Room Tip: Stay away from elevators and any of the "associates only" closets where the maids keep the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Bob K,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill. We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are deeply saddened that your stay was less than satisfactory. In April we completed a multimillion dollar renovation of all the rooms and public areas, and do our best to keep everything in pristine order. We thank you for mentioning how kind and attentive our staff members are. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Just left after a four day conference. The facilities were great, room spacious and comfortable and the staff was fantastic. A gentleman named Jose, behind the desk, was extremely welcoming and helpful. I would come back in a second next time I'm in Philly!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SantaClarawanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear SantaClarawanderlust,
We are so happy to learn you enjoyed your time during the conference at the Sheraton Society Hill. We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and thank you for pointing out the great service our staff provided. We look forward to your next stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
City Center East
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District
City Center East
BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Penn's View Hotel
Penn's View Hotel
#12 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 674 reviews
City Center East
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Property: Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
Address: One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel is near Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the National Constitution Center, Independence Visitors Center and Penns Landing. Our Philadelphia hotel has 17 meeting spaces ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing