We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in great Phillie location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
Ranked #31 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Evansville, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in great Phillie location.”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is great for the conference crowd with beautiful lobby, lounge and coffee bar, nice rooms, fitness and pool area. Its location is a big plus, and many nice restaurants, historic landmarks and lovely parks are easily walkable. The only negative comment pertains to limited available wi-fi --- it is "free" (but limited) in the lobby or convention rooms, but Sheraton charges $9.95 per day if you want wi-fi in your room. Since we are now in the 21st century, I think wi-fi for room guests should be included in room charges and not an "extra."

Room Tip: The lobby is really an atrium, so some guest rooms on upper floors open out to this area. There was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harlaxton79-80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Harlaxton79-80,
We are happy to learn that you enjoyed the conference you attended at the Hotel. We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We do apologize that we were not able to communicate the charges for wifi before you arrived. We do not like to surprise our guests. We do hope the next time you are in Philadelphia you choose to stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    382
    142
    49
    25
See reviews for
249
226
34
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Chose this hotel because of the good reviews on Trip Advisor For a recent 3 night trip to Philadelphia and was not disappointed.  The property is in a great location within walking distance to all of the historical sites, Old Town and the great shops and restaurants along South Street.  The hotel restaurant and lounge were excellent with fantastic service, would highly recommend the pulled pork or the Cheesesteak sandwiches as both were excellent.  Our rate included daily breakfast which included a full buffet or menu al a carte items, both of which were great.  Will definitely stay at this location when in Philadelphia again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awayagainVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear awayagainVancouver,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill. We are very glad that you had an enjoyable stay and we thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope the next time you are in Philadelphia you choose to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This hotel is a bit or a paradox. I am guessing it's 50+ years old, but by no means as old as other hotels in Philly. I normally stay at the Marriott Residence Inn which is older, but much nicer. Unfortunately they were booked.

Anyway, the in-room furniture is in need of replacement, the return and vents for the aging in-room air conditioner/heating were caked up with lint/dust and badly in need of cleaning.

When I went to use the bathroom sink, the cold water handle fell off in my hand. And when I first turned on the bathroom light it was a dark pink and took several minutes to go white.

The signage is very poor, not easy to locate ice and vending, or even your room for that matter.

The elevators and common areas (hallways) outside of the lobby have caked on dirt (which some simple green or formula 509 would clean up easily).

The maid staff is very noisy, my room was right next to their closet and they were very inconsiderate in the amount of noise they made early in the AM.....

BUT....there are some good things....

The doorman was very friendly and helpful, the front-desk clerk was also very friendly. The restaurant has a very limited menu, but what I had was decent.

The lobby area has some nice cozy sitting areas and the bartender was quite friendly (as they all should be) and made nice pours.

It could be worse, I'd really give this a 2.5, but it's definitely under average for $220/night.

Room Tip: Stay away from elevators and any of the "associates only" closets where the maids keep the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Bob K,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill. We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are deeply saddened that your stay was less than satisfactory. In April we completed a multimillion dollar renovation of all the rooms and public areas, and do our best to keep everything in pristine order. We thank you for mentioning how kind and attentive our staff members are. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Just left after a four day conference. The facilities were great, room spacious and comfortable and the staff was fantastic. A gentleman named Jose, behind the desk, was extremely welcoming and helpful. I would come back in a second next time I'm in Philly!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SantaClarawanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear SantaClarawanderlust,
We are so happy to learn you enjoyed your time during the conference at the Sheraton Society Hill. We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and thank you for pointing out the great service our staff provided. We look forward to your next stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

We were very happy we chose this hotel as our base for our two night stay in Philadelphia. The staff were all welcoming, helpful, friendly and professional. The lobby is very warm and inviting, with a large area for accessing both hotel computers and laptops. There are also a couple recessed "living room" areas. There is a Starbucks in the lobby, as well as a very nice restaurant/bar. Our room was modern and comfortable with a lovely view of some trees on the property - very peaceful. It was an easy walk to historical sights and restaurants. All in all, a delightful weekend stay!

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
Thank dpierce5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear dpierce5,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill. We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and provide us with such lovely feedback. We hope the next time you travel to Philadelphia you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This Hotel was a great surprise. I chose it b/c of the 4 star rating. It is in a great little area where everything is in walking distance.

I had a choice of getting a traditional room or the "club lounge"...GET THE CLUB LOUNGE. It is a little more expensive however it comes with breakfast and appetizers in the early evening. This is not your traditional crappyhotel food. It was very good, with food for all preferences, even vegan. They have an attendant that is super helpful and keeps the lounge very clean.

The whole staff is more than professional and some are very good looking.

As I mentioned, this place broke my birthday curse. As I checked in, Nelson, was so kind to send up a bottle a champagne with chocolate strawberries when he had heard about my birthday curse. Nelson is beyond nice and he was the starter of the awesome weekend.

I want to go back to the hotel more than I want to visit Phily and I love the city.

You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Club lounge is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiramoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Kiramoto,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill. We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to learn that you were happy with our service and enjoyed our amenities like the Club Lounge. We hope in the near future if you ever find yourself in Philadelphia you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHILADELPHIA, PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2012

When the past week left us powerless and in the dark, we headed down to Philly in survival mode with our menagerie of animals and not much else. At the same time, The Sheraton Society Hill went into super hospitality mode for us. We stayed in a spacious, clean, warm room with all the luxuries of home. Concierge and staff assisted repeatedly in providing hospitality services and even facilitated my being able to vote on location. But by far best of all, was the friendly, helpful, eager and enthusiastic staff at their Taste's Bar. Kate was super sweet and guided us to night spots and eateries in the area. Both Danny and Kate also were vigilant about keeping our glasses full, again always with a smile! Anthony, the bartender we met on another shift, greeted us with a huge smile, an immediate "come in out of the cold" warmth, and directions to the best Italian restaurant in the area for a superb dinner. Thanks Anthony. The night shift valet, Anthony, was friendly and good company during my midnight forays down to the lobby. Lastly, I would be remiss if I didn't mention the sweetest gal, Merion, at the Starbucks cafe, who kindly offered me coffee at 5:30 a.m. and was always cheerful and kind. Didn't expect this kind of reception to my preconceived image of the businesslike Sheraton. Thankfully, in this case I was wrong and they all went above and beyond while we weathered the storm from their retreat!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marla1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear marla1955

We are so happy that in the midst of the hurricane we were able to provide you with service that went above and beyond what you expected. We truly thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and providing us with such wonderful comments about our staff and service. We hope in the near future and under better circumstances you are able to stay with us again. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Property: Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
Address: One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3939
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel is near Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the National Constitution Center, Independence Visitors Center and Penns Landing. Our Philadelphia hotel has 17 meeting spaces ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing