We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience; great value!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
Ranked #33 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Westchester County, NY
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience; great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I stayed at the Sheraton Society Hill for two nights with my children when we went to Philadelphia on our way back from Williamsburg. We decided to make this stop in the last minute, so I was thrilled to see that the hotel we picked was so nice. The exterior was being renovated when we were there, and the interior must have been recently renovated because it was so attractive and immaculate. The lobby is large and inviting and the staff at the front desk were warm and helpful. The restaurant in the lobby, Taste, was not only convenient, but delicious, so we chose to eat there several times. The hotel gift shop had everything you could want. Best of all, the room was beautiful and SO comfortable. The mattresses were so plush, as were the pillows. Right outside our room was an inviting indoor pool. Since went to Philadelphia to see the historical sites, this was the perfect choice because we were able to walk to Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell. When we return next summer, we hope to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeenTwinmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill. We are so glad to learn that you and your family had a great time. We really appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We hope you come back to Philadelphia and choose to stay with us again. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    367
    135
    46
    25
See reviews for
235
215
34
267
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

I had stayed at this hotel twice before it was renovated. It was nice then but it is beautiful now. They chose the color scheme and room amenities with care and it shows. The quality of the linens down to the shampoo and conditioner were surprisingly superior to many of the "higher end" hotels i have stayed in. It is not far from anything, especially the Historic District. I look forward to my next stay in one of my favorite cities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 577Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased you had a great stay and that you had a chance to see the hotel before and after the renovations. We are glad you enjoy the final product. We hope the next time you come to Philadelphia you choose to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We booked through Travelocity use secret hotel deal. For $88 (+ tax and fees) for 2 people we got a fantastic deal. Our suite was a conference suite, which meant it had a large table, a queen size foldout couch, and a king size bed. It also had a mini bar with small fridge and separate freezer compartment, but no microwave. However a microwave was available in the ice and vending area. Everything could use a little sprucing up cleaning-wise, but it seems sanitary. The fitness center was very small, but had very good quality Life Fitness equipment. Overall, we would definitely stay again if we got the same deal, but probably not if we were paying the full, normal rate. Parking was an additional $7 per day fee.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ERICAandADAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We hope the next time you travel to Philadelphia you choose to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed here for business for a week in August 2012 and was impressed with the hotel. The room was a huge corner room on the 4th floor. The rooftop pool was fantastic - clean and spacious. The staff was very helpful and polite. The beds made me wish I had the mattress at home! Really a lovely place with a great location close to all of the restaurants and tourist areas in society hill. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: 4th floor corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank advisin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill. We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We sincerely thank you for your feedback and your recommendations. We are glad that our staff was helpful and polite. We look forward to the next time you return to Philadelphia and the Sheraton Society Hill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attert
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Very good exprience concerning room, service.
The quality we can expect from such an hotel.
Bad point however : pretty far from the center (close to the water) and parking service which is damn expensive...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DomDoc2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill. We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We sincerely thank you for your feedback and are very pleased you had an enjoyable stay. We hope the next time you travel to Philadelphia you choose the Sheraton Society Hill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

This property has a very good location adjacent to downtown in a pretty historic neighborhood. A lot less hustle & bustle & noise than downtown properties and it is very nice to walk around the neighborhood. Nice front desk staff & a great server in the restaurant,Toby, who took excellent care of us during our conference. Rooms are standard. In room wi fi signal was very weak so I often had to go to the lobby to work. housekeeping was very late very day & failed to replenish toiletries. Ordered room service once, which came quickly & was actually hot! Overall, a perfectly good choice if you don't plan to spend a lot of time @ the hotel & want a pleasant but accessible location.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor away from the atrium, which can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcoakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill. We sincerely thank you for your feedback, as it helps our staff to improve our service. We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope the next time you travel to Philadelphia you choose the Sheraton Society Hill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

I originally booked another chain property in the heart of downtown and specifically changed the reservation last-minute to the Sheraton Society Hill based on the reviews here. While it was an easy drive from PHL airport (about 10 minutes and very near to a highway exit), finding the actual entrance to the driveway was a bit confusing as the signage wasn't immediately apparent, especially with construction still taking place from one side of the hotel (see accompanying picture of the outside structure). After pulling up, we waited a couple minutes for a valet attendant to acknowledge us, but once one did, he was extremely friendly and gave us detailed directions on how to navigate through a long lobby to the front desk.

Check-in was quick if not a little sterile, but I was acknowledged as a Starwood member. The attendant did not verify that my rate included parking (AAA Club floor rate which included valet parking), so I asked him to verify. It would be helpful if the attendants could repeat all the details of one's rate upon arrival so that there are no surprises come check-out time.

We were directed to a third floor Club room, and we arrived just in time for the end of the evening's appetizer offerings. The club lounge is located off the elevator bank and had some very delicious hot offerings such as quesadillas, chicken cordon bleu snacks, empanadas, in addition to a bevy of fruits, cheese, crackers, free wine and beer, and soft beverages of all kinds. People from a convention were whooping it up rather loudly in the atrium-roofed portion of the lounge, but one can also relax on comfy couches and long dining tables placed in front of a big screen TV. There was also internet available.

Later that night we partook of a late night dinner/snack at TASTE restaurant, which is a sort of open-air bar/restaurant concept on the first floor. The entranceway to the restaurant is not immediately apparent, so we kind of lurked awkwardly until a waiter acknowledged our presence. The menu has standard contemporary American fare with Philly twists. We shared a cheesesteak and chicken noodle soup and both were fresh and better than expected. The servers were a little confused, sometimes doubling up on serving us and misunderstanding our orders, but only two men seemed to be serving the entire establishment, and it was close to closing time. The decor is chic and updated, as is the rest of the hotel lobby, which has its own Starbucks which operates during day hours. There are many nooks and crannies for lounging, and the architecture of a 4-story atrium brick style is unexpected and out of the ordinary. The room itself was functional and comfortable. The noise complaints that other reviewers stated can be easily allayed by closing the door that exists between the front door and the bedroom area, thereby creating a mini foyer -- this is not something one sees often in hotel rooms. Doing so in my room gave me a soundless, easy sleep.

Breakfast offerings in the Club lounge were just as tasty as the appetizer hour, including several hot items such as mini egg and ham muffins, hot oatmeal, waffles, yogurt, boiled eggs, cereals, fruits, juices, and an espresso machine to accompany relaxing with different morning papers and a burst of Today Show on the big screen.

Check out is nearly nonexistent. The hotel sends your final bill estimate to your e-mail, so if you have a Smartphone, you can simply walk out the front lobby if you agree with it.

My AAA rate for three people on a Club floor was $279, but it included valet parking ($30+ value and the aforementioned Club lounge feast, which we more than got our money's worth). It was also a few cobble-stoned streets away from the major historical sites of Independence Hall, Liberty Bell, etc. -- really walking distance if you're on the fit side.

Room Tip: Choose the Club floor if possible due to the amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaliAlli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill. We sincerely thank you for your feedback, as it helps our staff to improve our service. We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope the next time you travel to Philadelphia you choose the Sheraton Society Hill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Penn's View Hotel
#11 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Property: Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
Address: One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3939
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel is near Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the National Constitution Center, Independence Visitors Center and Penns Landing. Our Philadelphia hotel has 17 meeting spaces ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing