We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Has everything for itself!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
Ranked #32 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Boucherville, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Has everything for itself!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Clean hotel, clean beds, nice location. It was a delight to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill!

Starting at checkout, where the employee (I unfortunately forgot her name, but know she had something about a train terminal on her badge) went out of her way to accomodate our request of having two rooms that were adjacent. Especially since I had booked those rooms through frequent-flyer points.

Had a few walks in the neighborhood. Timing might have been an issue as Sunday morning seemed to be garbage morning. But we felt very safe at all times. Had a cheesesteak sandwich at Campo's (the heater was delicious!) and had sandwiches made for our lunch at the Olde City Food Market which were great.

Bathroom was nice. Shower pressure was excellent.

Went to the pool and spa. It was nice and quiet albeit a bit dark after sunset.

Even if there were a few wedding receptions going on, we didn't hear any noise, even though we had a room on the atrium.

I highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    336
    127
    42
    22
See reviews for
217
189
33
249
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

No fridge, no mini bar, no shower cap among other small missing things. No free Wifi, not even in the lobby. Some basics you even get on smaller and cheaper hotels were missing. No free Wifi. Other than that, it was a comfortable place to stay if you are willing to pay a high price for an average service.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank galapag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill. We like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We would like to inform that we do have free WiFi in the lobby, refrigerators upon request and we do have shower caps available. We apologize this was not communicated to you clearly and hope the next time you come to Philadelphia you choose to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill and we will make it a memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I felt compelled to write this review since I read a few reviews before we booked this hotel and my friend was a bit apprehensive. Apparently, someone had stayed here in the past and had experienced bedbugs. As a former investor in a 640 hotel in LA, I tried to educate my friend that bedbugs can appear in the most expensive hotels as well as the dirtiest hotels. The problem is the traveler; especially foreign travelers with less than perfect hygiene practices. We rented two rooms for the week and both rooms were in excellent condition. The hotel was recently renovated and it showed beautifully. We both were so impressed with the staff. You see, we had made our reservations on Priceline and had to combine multiple reservations for the 7 day stay. The front desk was extremely patient in working out adjoining rooms and accommodating our requests. The bell staff was more than helpful and the maids were gracious and also very accommodating. Ignore the one isolated case of bedbugs since I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arlene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill. We greatly appreciate your amazing feedback and are pleased that you had a most enjoyable stay. We are very proud of our staff and we are so glad they made you feel comfortable and relaxed. We hope the next time you are in Philadelphia you choose to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Check in for this hotel was fast but clerk did not want to give any upgrade options. I had a deal through the hotel that included parking (a $38 value apparently) but since I decided against renting a car I asked if I could put the value against upgrading to a club room. I was rudely shot down before I could even state I would pay the difference or ask if I could just upgrade. Reviewed an confirmation email that I had received in I booked the hotel stating I could have upgraded to club for $50. Oh well, saved me from giving the hotel any additional money.

Other that that the hotel was fine. The room was clean, decor nice. Pool was small but that was to be expected for the location. Hotel lose to the dock but farther away from the majority of historical sites that I planned to visit. Within walking distance but after doing the walk to sites, walking around the sites, and dining I really wish I chose the Omni Hotel, since it was much closer to attractions.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HappyHaunts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill. We thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and appreciate your feedback. We apologize for the experience you had and will address the appropriate department. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, wa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and had two rooms. Both were nice and up to the Starwood expectation. The location is great and within walking distance to the sights. I liked that the location was not on a busy street and a bit quieter than some of the other hotels we looked at. The one thing that topped it off was the pool. Our kids loved the pool - they say it was their favorite thing about Philadelphia.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jbodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us on your recent stay. We sincerely appreciate it and so happy that you, along with your family enjoyed the hotel, accommodations and amenities. We receive many great comments on our pool and we are glad that our families can enjoy the experience and create memories ! We look forward to your return visit to The Sheraton Society Hill Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

My sisters and I stayed here 2 nights for a girl's weekend. Our room was comfortable and clean with plush bedding. There was no in-room refrigerator which was somewhat of a surprise. Also, the bathroom was a bit on the small side. The staff was very accomodating and friendly. There is a nicely decorated enormous lobby that includes a gift shop and restaurant. The biggest complaint about this hotel is the noise level. The hallways were incredibly noisy at all hours of the night. We had to ask people to quiet down at 2:30 in the morning our first night there. Judging from other reviews I can see this is an ongoing problem.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynchmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us on our recent stay. We appreciate it and glad that you enjoy the hotel. We apologize for the noise you experience and please know that we appreciate the feedback. The hotel has refrigerators upon request through our Guest Services and please know upon your next return, please request one for your use. We want to ensure our guests have the comforts of home while traveling. Thank you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed 5 nights to attend a wedding and to tour a bit in Philadelphia. The rooms are good sized but the bathrooms are ridiculous with little to no counter space and no shelves or anywhere to place your personal items. Between our family members, we had three different rooms and only one had some bathroom counter space. Closets are small and in each room we needed extra hangers. There are basically NO drawers for clothes. In fact, while room 3170 and 3180 had some drawer space (but the inside was dusty), the largest room, 4179, had no drawers at all - only a few shelves in the TV cabinet.
Beds are really comfortable but the walls are really thin. In room 3170, we could clearly hear the conversation in the next room every evening - and they weren't being loud at all. In room 4179, we were awoken at 1:30 in the morning by the people in the next room. Even stranger was that in the bathroom of 4179, we could clearly hear other people talking - we think the sound was coming through the ventilation system. Another quirk is that there is that the air conditioning on the third floor came on with such a loud noise that it woke us up each time. There was also a strange kind of ticking sound that we later figured out was from the fire alarm system (we could also hear it near the elevators where the fire sensor was). The sound was really annoying and non-stop. Between the thin walls, air conditioning and fire sensor sound, ear plugs are necessary.
THere also is no air conditioning vents in the bathrooms. When it's horribly hot and humid out, it's really uncomfortable to use the blow dryer or even try to dry off without getting sweaty.
The front desk staff, restaurant staff and especially the housekeeping staff are exceptionally nice. However when we needed an extra blanket at night for a cot, we had to call three times and it took over an hour to get it.
Do NOT waste your money on the club floor. The evening attendant was downright surly on two occasions. The evening hors d'oeuvres were dried out vegetables and doughy appetizers that were decidedly unappetizing. Worst of all, wine is $7 per glass on weekends. This is ridiculous when the club floor costs $50 a night more than the standard rate and the rooms are exactly the same.
The gym is adequate but apparently not cleaned or attended to. I left a paper coffee cup in the gym (by mistake), and it was still there two days later when I returned. The first day there were cold towels (nice touch), antiseptic wipes and water bottles. It seems that once these were used up, they just weren't replaced over the 5 days that I stayed there. This was annoying because we worked out every day and it was really hot and muggy in the gym.
The pool seemed to be enjoyed by families with young children but for us, the smell of chlorine was overpowering. In fact, I would suggest not staying in a room on the 3rd floor near the pool if that smell bothers you.
It says that there is an ice machine on each floor. I wandered around following signs only to find it was no longer on the third floor. The front desk told me it was only on the fourth floor. The signs should be updated as it's embarrassing to wander around in a robe with an ice bucket. By the way, there are robes available if you ask for them.
The front desk is wonderful about figuring out the best rates. We were able to get the birthyear deal. Make sure to ask which Starwood discounts are available. Joining Starwood is free and the benefits are great.
I waivered between giving this hotel a poor or average rating. I guess if you can get a good deal on the rate then it's average. If you pay full rate, it's poor. Really too bad because the staff is really nice and the location is very good.
Make sure you get an eticket in advance for the Barnes Foundation - one of the most impressive and enchanting art museums I've seen anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: ask for a corner room on the 4th floor as it will be bigger and possibly quieter. The 4th floor al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aliza m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We appreciate it and have communicated to the appropriate departments. Our daily goal is to ensure all of our guests have a great experience during their stay. Thank you for your positive feedback on our staff. We are very fortunate to have a great staff, as they will always go the extra mile to take care of our customers. We do hope upon your next visit to Philadelphia, you will visit us again. Thank you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
City Center East
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District
City Center East
BEST WESTERN PLUS Independence Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Penn's View Hotel
Penn's View Hotel
#11 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 696 reviews
City Center East
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Property: Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
Address: 1 Dock St, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3939
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel is near Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, the National Constitution Center, Independence Visitors Center and Penns Landing. Our Philadelphia hotel has 17 meeting spaces ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing