We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chairs are important when you are sitting in a conference room all day!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
Ranked #31 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I have been at the hotel for a work-related event. I thought I was sliding out of my conference room chair because I was tired. But, by session 3, I realized, it was not me, it was the chair! I am petite, but even for me the seat cushion and back support are too narrow. The back support,especially, is teeny. There are no arm rests. The fabric is almost slippery. Since I will be spending the bulk of my time here in the conference rooms, this is significant.
As a regular guest, I find the mattress too soft and after 2 nights, I can already feel the impact of this on my back. There is no working ice machine on the 4th floor (there are random scuff marks and holes on the floor where the ice machine should be). My room is as far as a room can be from the elevator banks, and like most/all hotels these days, there are no stairs that a guest can take up to their room to save time and get a bit of exercise.
I think it would be easy enough for the hotel to use better chairs in conference rooms. If they had done so, this negative review would never have been posted.
I want to add that the 2 people at the front desk who I have asked for assistance with on local matters have been helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We apologize for your inconvenience during the conference you attended at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback as it helps us to better ensure the comfort of our guests. We want to thank you for recognizing the front desk agents and their service skills. We hope the next time you are in Philadelphia for leisure you choose to stay with us. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (958)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

868 - 874 of 958 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012

Great job hosting all of our guests and accommodating everyone for a short notice for 30 people on a morning brunch. (Wish we would have had our rehearsal dinner there, lol)

Great staff and the prices were very reasonable given the location in PHilly. Cleanliness was very good too!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l Foster l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I was in town for a large conference (June 2012) and was pleasantly surprised by the Sheraton Society Hill. I enjoyed having so much history right outside the front door and it’s very easy to walk anywhere downtown from the hotel (though it will take 15 mins or so) Cabs were plentiful if you needed to get someplace and didn’t want to walk.

I was given a King room (newly remodeled) on the 3rd (Club) floor. Since everything in the room was remodeled there isn’t much to say about it except it was comfortable, clean, new and very enjoyable.

The club room was very large and with your room key you could stop in at any time and grab a free water or soda. The gym looked completely new as well and there is also a pool at the hotel.

If you want to be in a smaller hotel that has a lot of history all around it, don’t stay downtown among all the financial buildings and stay here instead.

The only downside was that on ½ the floor, the emergency intercom was experiencing random static all weekend and the same speakers are in your room. I had several colleagues who were also attending the conference who were kept awake most nights by the static. When they complained to the front desk they offered to send up an engineer but conceded that there was probably nothing that the engineer could do. Since it was a sold out conference, there were no rooms to move them to.

I have posted pictures of the gym, club room and my room.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room and try a book a club room if the cost difference is minimal
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelinKenChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

TravelinLeather, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill. First off, we would like to apologize for the static interference with the intercoms that you and your colleagues experienced. We understand how a restless night of sleep can impact your entire stay. We have spoken with our engineering department and corrections are in place. We are very glad to learn that you had an enjoyable stay, and we thank you for positive feedback and some very nice pictures included. We hope the next time you are in Philadelphia you choose to stay with the Sheraton Society Hill again to further enjoy historic Philadelphia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I've stayed at this property several times and I can honestly say that although it's small and quaint from the outside, it's very inviting and spacious on the inside. I love that it's centrally located to many of Philly's top restaurants and night life. The rooms that have been renovated are very nice, bedding is über comfortable....by far some of the best hotel beds I've slept in. The manager at the property, Karen, will do everything possible to make you feel right at home. Our project team loves her for being so darn good to us!!

This is definitely one of my favorite Sheraton properties because of the size, it's small, cute and charming. Definitely isn't as overwhelming as some other properties.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
Thank Natasha A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

We recently attended a wedding close by to the hotel. It was wonderful, from the front desk staff to the attendants outside. We took a trolley to the wedding site to and from the hotel. The beds were my favorite part we got a great nights sleep. We were very pleased with the entire experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodyh09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Terrific place, near Penn's Landing, with very comfy beds and good amenities. Breakfast buffet is standard fare. Free wifi in beautiful lobby on 4 computers, but you pay extra for room wifi.
No frig in room, but there are 2 one litre bottles of water on desk. They cost extra, but there's nothing to tell you that. Gift shop is nice. Nice staff. Valet parking only. Newspapers available from table by elevators.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wacotx46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Dear wacotx46, Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill. We greatly appreciate your time in reviewing our hotel, and also thank you for uploading pictures of our renovated guest rooms and hotel lobby. We are happy to learn that your enjoyed your stay and were pleased by the service you received from our staff. Here at the Sheraton Society Hill we enjoy learning about the pleasant experiences from our guest. We hope the next time you come to Philadelphia you choose to stay with us again, and next time take the water its complimentary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I stayed from Tuesday thru Saturday. I valet parked my car and never had to use her the whole time I was at the Sheraton. I had a great feeling about the hotel just from my first experience with the Valet and the Door Greeter, they worked as a team; my luggage was out of the car and the door opened with a smile and warm greeting. I had to wait in the lobby behind some other guest, but the woman on duty was courteous, friendly and took time with her guest; so I didn’t mind.
The room was clean; plenty of pillows and the bed was comfy. I was on the 4th floor, close to the indoor pool and hot tubs (yes two hot tubs). Kids were in there the first night and having a ball. The restaurant
has good food and the adult beverages have just the right amount of alcohol.
This hotel is centrally located to the Old City, a short walk to Independence Hall and some of the finest restaurants in Philly. I was able to walk out the back door and catch the “Big Bus”, a tour bus that takes you all around the cities’ prominent stopping points. Across the street is a bus line ‘42’ that will take you into downtown about a mile West. Three blocks North is the Market / 2nd Street subway, that will take you downtown as well.
The hotel is only 4 or 5 blocks East of Horse Drawn Carriage Rides down Chestnut Street. South Street is only a couple of blocks South of the hotel where fine dining and shopping can be had.
Over the walkway is the Delaware River where one can unwind after a busy day of meetings.
I was impressed with the staff, they seemed like they really liked each other and that showed in their mannerisms and their smiles.
They had two wedding parties and a Prom, didn't seem to cause any wrinkles in the operation.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the pool the 4th floor is your choice. I overlooked the circle, where th...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artkitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonSocietyHill, Manager at Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sheraton Society Hill. We are pleased to learn that you had a terrific experience at the hotel. We thank you for all of your kind words and are truly moved that our staff had really made a difference in your stay. We pride our self on our service and are happy to see that it pays off. We hope the next time you are in Philadelphia you choose to stay with the Sheraton Society Hill again. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel

Address: One Dock Street, 2nd and Walnut Streets, Philadelphia, PA 19106-3939
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#27 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $171 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the nation's most historic neighborhood, Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel is the perfect setting for a memorable visit. Our hotel is tucked within the Old City district of Philadelphia - home to world-class attractions such as Independence Hall, The Liberty Bell, The National Constitution Center, and Penn’s Landing. Well-appointed guest rooms offer everything you need to relax and refresh during your stay, including our Sheraton Signature Beds. Join us at Taste for creative American cuisine, and spend time discovering Philadelphia - our unbeatable Old City hotel location places your near historic landmarks, as well as local sports stadiums and great year-round events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Philadelphia Society Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Society Hill Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Hotel Philadelphia
Sheraton Philadelphia
Philadelphia Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing