We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Love This Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Penn's View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Penn's View Hotel
Ranked #11 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
beach haven
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Love This Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2009

We have been here many times and cannot say enough nice things. Beautiful rooms- always extremely clean. Beds are so comfortable you don't feel like you are in a hotel! Everyone is very nice here. You are within walking distance to many good restaurants. Plenty of art galleries around the block. It definately is a hidden little gem I am glad we found.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachHavenShaneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    279
    68
    18
    9
See reviews for
84
438
38
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2009

We had a wonderful weekend at the Penn's View. It is a small hotel with a bed and breakfast atmosphere. The rooms are very comfortable and cozy but not extra large like those in an Embassy Suites. Our room was very comfortable, the entire hotel was spotless and the staff was among the best and most supportive I have seen in my travels. Our room faced the river and gave us a wonderful view. It also faced the interstate but we were not bothered by noise one whit. We were within walking distance of the historic district, convention center and some very good restaurants. One thing that the Penn's View has over chain hotels is character and a premier Italian restaurant. I would stay there again should I ever return to Philadelphia.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wizdale77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at the Penn's View Hotel. The hotel is within walking distance of all the historical places to see, as well as many great places to eat. Reserved a king room with a view, and weren't disappointed. The room looked out over the highway and river, with a view of the bridge--very beautiful, and also very quiet considering the traffic outside. The room itself was nicely appointed: comfortable bed, hardwood floors, large bathroom, all lovely. The breakfast was nice, with coffee, juices, fruit, cereal, waffles, etc. served buffet-style in the restaurant. We would definitely recommend the Penn's View to people who are visiting Philadelphia and looking for a nice place to stay in the historical district.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sac_joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2009

We stayed for two nights, and were made really welcome. The hotel is not modern, but comfortable, warm and very clean. We enjoyed our stay very much - the bar was lovely, and the restaurant excellent. There's plenty of places around to eat and drink in,but since it rained hard, easy to stay in the hotel and have a really nice evening. Antonio especially was helpful and charming, and made sure sure we had an umbrella. Hotel is really well located for sightseeing etc. Super breakfast included.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross, Ohio
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2009

Lynn and Antonio were very accommodating. Tips on where to eat, watch football and even making copies of bus schedules and putting them under my door. Over the top service.
You are four blocks from liberty bell and central historic district. There is a plethora of bars and good eats spots within 1 block radius of hotel. The area is safe and clean.
We had room 509. View of delaware river. A little highway noise at 6am. No biggie. Used in room fireplace. Bathroom nice size and well appointed.
If you like wine this place is for you. 150 wines by the glass. Cozy bar and restrauant areas. Continenal breakfast is just that with waffles and soft boiled eggs.
I wil stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amrdia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
142 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2009

Hotel is within easy walking of all the top 10 places/things to see/do. Price included a basic buffet breakfast but the toaster and egg boiler were both tempremental, which took the edge off. The bar has at least 120 wines opened and conserved by inert nitrogen. Wines were great but a little pricey.We didn't eat in the hotel restaurant but the bar meals we saw being eaten by other guests look good. The receptionist was very helpful when I had a rental car lock-out (keys in the locket boot and car) and I was on the road again after 30 minutes. Internet access was free. Local restaurants very good. Next door lot parking slightly discounted to hotel guests.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianofLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

The staff here is wonderful. Full of personality, helpful, friendly and take the initiative. Location is good - 10-15 minute walk into the main city. Situated by a flyover and near the I95 so there is traffic noise but it's not too bad. Great restaurants within walking distance - Fork on Market Street is particularly good and Jones for well cooked comfort food (bit pricey but tasty). Rooms are very comfy, bathrooms fine (mine just had a shower but was OK), nice decor. Wifi works fine throughout the hotel (ask for code at reception) and is free. Breakfast is good and plentiful - fruit, cereals, waffles, eggs, rolls, etc. Would recommend this hotel. Philadelphia has wonderful theatres, well worth a visit. Hotel has small but perfectly workable fitness room although you have to remind them to open it. Restaurant is lovely and has enormous wine list.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dandydees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#8 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penn's View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penn's View Hotel

Property: Penn's View Hotel
Address: 14 North Front St. & Market, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#11 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#21 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#26 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penn's View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the “Birthplace of America” at the Penn’s View Hotel in Old City, Philadelphia. Enjoy a stay in one of 49 comfortable rooms and 2 spacious suites with the convenience of Wi-Fi access and complimentary breakfast every morning. Additional amenities include: Daily newspaper, cable television, private balconies*, jetted spa bathtubs*, patios*, fireplaces*, pull-out sofas*, separate dining areas* fitness center, ATM access, and computer access. Penn’s View Hotel places you within access to all of Philadelphia’s greatest attractions. Also, enjoy an atmosphere of casual elegance at Ristorante Panorama, the authentic trattoria-style dining in the heart of Old City. At its unique wine bar, Il Bar, you can enjoy the custom-built, 120-bottle wine dispensing unit, which is the current Guinness Book of World Records holder. Penn’s View Hotel is a true Old City gem, and we look forward to welcoming you. (*Available in some rooms) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Penn's View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penns View Philadelphia
Hotel Penns View
Penns View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing