We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great inn”
Review of Penn's View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Penn's View Hotel
Ranked #17 of 89 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We spent 2 nights in Philly and loved the Penns View Inn
The room was great and the staff was awesome
We ate dinner in Panorama Restaurant, best meal in a long time. The only negative was the coffee.

Highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (832)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

330 - 336 of 832 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed in the King room with soaking bath.Great room on 4th floor overlooking the Delaware river and were treated to fireworks courtesy of the ballpark across the river in Camden. 4th floor was quiet-no noise issues. Clean room with lovely HW floors. A/C worked great in the room. Within walking distance of several Old City restaurants, bars, and tourist attractions. Only complaint(s) would be the bed (not too comfortable), missing make-up mirror light, and for some reason the HD TV was not and the local travel channel did not come in well at all (other channels on tv were ok)

Room Tip: I had read of complaints of noise, but had no issues with it on the 4th floor that we stayed on. Vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here and walked to concert at Festival Park, about a mile each way. Light burned out in bathroom so fan didn't work either, magnifying mirror did not work. Rest of room nice with original brick wall. Restaurant didn't open til 5, bar closed when we got back at 11:15. Complimentary breakfast horrible, I ate Rice Chex.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Stayed at the Hotel on Thursday, July 17th. We attended a concert in Camden and used the walk-on ferry at Penns Landing. Hotel is within walking distance. There is parking right next door ($23 for 24 hrs). Very close to waterfront and Market Street restaurants & bars. Room was a little small but had everything we needed. The hotel had an "old-school" feel to it (actual brass room keys, hard wood floors, etc). Could not beat the hotel and location for the price. We will stay there again. Thank you Penns View!!

Room Tip: Rooms with Jacuzzi's are only $20 more than the standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GregBabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed at Penn's Landing for five nights in July, 2014 and had a very satisfactory stay. The hotel is small and charming, and the location is great. You are within walking distance of many of the popular sights and the subway station is about a block away. We had one of the smaller rooms, but it was pretty and adequate for what we needed, very clean, and the bed was super comfortable. One of the best things about this hotel is the staff. To a person, they were warm, welcoming and helpful. The breakfast is pretty basic, but you can boil eggs and there is a waffle maker. My only suggestion would be to vary the fruit and bread dishes...after five days it got a little monotonous. We did not really have a problem with street noise, but after a full day of sightseeing, it would have taken a lot to bother our sleep. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are a person who has to have a bathtub, be sure and request a room with a tub. some of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Great evening restaurant and bar with some great food and wines. Friendly helpful staff.
Breakfast restaurant is a little basic but ok. Pity that the attention shown in the evening is not show in the morning.
That said the old hotel is showing its age. Room and bathroom are tired looking but clean. Reception area is small though receptionist was very helpful. Moving your bags about the hotel is difficult as corridors are tight. Location great for wandering around the old part of town or accessing the river front but facing a major highway is a downer.
In short try the bar and restaurant maybe stay elsewhere until they do a little updating.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Simon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed at Penns View for 3 nights.It was a fantastic location!! We walked everywhere without a problem. The hotel is very old and kept the charm and theme of historic Philadelphia. The beds were comfortable and the bath and shower were perfect.
The hotel has a fabulous Italian restaurant and wine bar that's won many awards. The breakfast that was included was more than ample with waffles, eggs, fruit and pastry. The price for our stay was more than reasonable.Just loved this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angelavol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#7 of 89 in Philadelphia
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penn's View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penn's View Hotel

Address: 14 N Front St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2202
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#11 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#18 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#21 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $161 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penn's View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the “Birthplace of America” at the Penn’s View Hotel in Old City, Philadelphia. Enjoy a stay in one of 49 comfortable rooms and 2 spacious suites with the convenience of Wi-Fi access and complimentary breakfast every morning. Additional amenities include: Daily newspaper, cable television, private balconies*, jetted spa bathtubs*, patios*, fireplaces*, pull-out sofas*, separate dining areas* fitness center, ATM access, and computer access. Penn’s View Hotel places you within access to all of Philadelphia’s greatest attractions. Also, enjoy an atmosphere of casual elegance at Ristorante Panorama, the authentic trattoria-style dining in the heart of Old City. At its unique wine bar, Il Bar, you can enjoy the custom-built, 120-bottle wine dispensing unit, which is the current Guinness Book of World Records holder. Penn’s View Hotel is a true Old City gem, and we look forward to welcoming you. (*Available in some rooms) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Penn's View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penns View Philadelphia
Hotel Penns View
Penns View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing