We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect choice for Philadelphia”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Penn's View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Penn's View Hotel
Ranked #11 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect choice for Philadelphia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

My husband and I recently visited Philadelphia for five days and stayed at the Penn's View Hotel. This is the perfect location for sight seeing, eating, walking around and experiencing old Philadelphia. Most sights are within walking distance and those that are not are easily accessible via the bus which stops ten feet away from the front door. The room rate includes breakfast in a charming restaurant, beautifully presented along with white linens and soft music. Carol, who is in charge of the breakfast area, is exceptional in her position as well as very personable and eager to accommodate any requests for special diets. The front desk staff-Antonio and Mary Ann- were outstanding and welcomed you from the minute you walked in the front door until you left. They patiently ansered any questions about sights, dining, transporation, etc. and were extremely knowledgeable. We had a slight problem with our first room and Antonio immediately moved us to other quarters because he wanted us to have a restful night. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable. While the hall carpets need some tweaking, it doesn't detract from the overall charm. Don't expect the ambience of the Ritz Carlton but do expect the charm of an old inn during colonial times with modern conveniences. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms in the original building look out over the street rather than other residential buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelgrandpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    279
    68
    18
    9
See reviews for
84
438
38
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

The Hotel, right in the heart of the Old Town, near transportation, coffee shops, restaurants, etc. is a terrific place to experience historic Philadelphia. The rooms are smallish, but comfortable. Self-serve breakfast is provided each morning. There is an amazing wine bar in the hotel with almost 100 different wines by the glass available. Internet, wireless was difficult, but management says that they are working on the solution. I will stay there again & I do recommend it to travelers on a budget and want a nice lodging experience in Philadelphia.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodmanI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

I have mixed feelings about my stay at Penn’s View. My girlfriend and I stayed here for two weeks in September in a King Jacuzzi room. It was our base to have a good explore of Philadelphia and some of Pennsylvania’s other notable attractions, such as Gettysburg and the Dutch Country.

There are so many things that are wonderful about Penn’s view and I will start with them. The location is brilliant, 5 minutes’ walk away from some of Philadelphia’s best attractions such as Independence Hall, the National Museum of American Jewish History, the US Mint, the FED and so much more. The location is also the perfect place for restaurants and places to drink with many wonderful local places in easy walking distance; Uzu Sushi which is less than a minute’s walk away is especially worth a mention. This hotel also has a wonderful historic feel with exposed brick work and lovely paintings, wooden floors and ye old style rugs. The room was spacious, the bed was perfectly comfortable, the shower had a good flow of water, there was always plenty of hot water, and the Jacuzzi tub was a novel but nice touch. The free breakfast was good and filled you up for you the day. It would have been even perfect if there had been bacon, but oh well! Many people complained about the noise from the freeway but I could not hear it at all. The staff were always very polite and happy to help with any enquiries.

Now for the short comings of Penn’s View. The housekeeping was not always up to scratch, not that the room was ever dirty, but on some days not all the complementary toiletries were replaced, and on one night I woke up to discover the bed sheet had come off on one corner because it hadn’t been made properly. Another issue with this hotel is the restaurant. The food is very nice and the service is exemplary, but it is overpriced, even for a hotel. It was about $25 for just a handful of pasta. Another thing that let this hotel down was the parking. It was sometimes hard to find a space and I thought it was a little on the pricey side.
All in all, our stay at this hotel was quite good, it wasn’t anything special, but there was nothing seriously wrong with it and it was in an incredible location to visit the sights. I would recommend Penn’s View, as although it isn’t amazing, as some reviews have said, it is a good price for the location, there is free Wi-Fi and breakfast included and the location is absolutely perfect.

I don’t think you could stay at a better hotel in Philadelphia without paying significantly more.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bentw91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great location, along the river and around the corner from a lot of history, restaurants and places to just pop into if you don't mind walking around.
The hotel is comfortable and staff friendly. The wine bar is amazing, with a Guinness World Record for the most wines on tap. The morning breakfast is substantial with a liberty bell waffle maker.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nycbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT COLLINS
Level Contributor
345 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Penn's View is on Front Street--once 'the' street for shipping and commerce. Now, directly west of I-95 so don't spend more for a balcony room! you won't want to open your window even if you are street side. We had an oversize suite which had a window that opened to the open center section. not noisy. great self-serve buffet breakfast each morning included. Pricey? Nothing inexpensive in Phila. Pay parking lot next to hotel--$23. for 24 hours. Our room was $200. per night plus maybe $45. in taxes (outrageous, but consistent with big cities). Phila has a good bus service so if you don't need a car for travel, use the buses directly outside the hotel. We'd stay here again if we have to be in Phila.

Room Tip: skip the balcony and outside-no views, lots of highway noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HARLAND R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scranton
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Nice hotel in Old City area. Waliking distance to a lot of history. We had a king size bed with jacuzzi tub, room was spacious and clean. All the staff was very cordial and polite. If I had to say anythingm negative, it would be the traffic noise at night from the Interstate that is nearby. Parking ia right there at the hotel for a fair rate considering a major city. There is a great continental breakfast buffet available every morning with everything from waffles to fresh fruit to eggs, muffins, juices, coffee, cereals and more. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the front of the hotel if you want to have your windows open
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gogreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Have stayed at the Inn several times. Once for an anniversary, once with a friend, and another time for business. Great location and the fact that the bar is nice and cozy and right down stairs is nice.
Breakfast wih the room has been spotty, but good if you get there early.
Great location for visiting historic sights.
Only suggestion if you are lugging bags ask for help, the hallways are old (historic) and there are steps to go up and down to get to your room on some floors!
You do feel a world away!

Room Tip: Higher floor. See if you can get a view of the bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1RigbyHolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#8 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penn's View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penn's View Hotel

Property: Penn's View Hotel
Address: 14 North Front St. & Market, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#11 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#21 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#26 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Penn's View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the “Birthplace of America” at the Penn’s View Hotel in Old City, Philadelphia. Enjoy a stay in one of 49 comfortable rooms and 2 spacious suites with the convenience of Wi-Fi access and complimentary breakfast every morning. Additional amenities include: Daily newspaper, cable television, private balconies*, jetted spa bathtubs*, patios*, fireplaces*, pull-out sofas*, separate dining areas* fitness center, ATM access, and computer access. Penn’s View Hotel places you within access to all of Philadelphia’s greatest attractions. Also, enjoy an atmosphere of casual elegance at Ristorante Panorama, the authentic trattoria-style dining in the heart of Old City. At its unique wine bar, Il Bar, you can enjoy the custom-built, 120-bottle wine dispensing unit, which is the current Guinness Book of World Records holder. Penn’s View Hotel is a true Old City gem, and we look forward to welcoming you. (*Available in some rooms) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Penn's View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penns View Philadelphia
Hotel Penns View
Penns View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing