We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Room, Great Location, Great Price”
Review of Penn's View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Penn's View Hotel
Ranked #11 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Did I mention great Wine? We stayed at the Penn View for the second time on June 30th while in town for a Philadelphia Union Soccer game. On our first visit, we made a late reservation and ended up in an interior room, which was okay, but pretty dark and ordinary. This time, we ended up with an upgraded upper floor room (room 408), and is was outstanding. Brick walls, a real city loft type feel with a full Jacuzzi bath and Balcony with a view overlooking the Delaware river, a Colonial Era alley way and a perfect view of the Steeple at Christ Church.

After the game and a night out traipsing about in Olde City, we made it back to the room a little late, but I was able to grab a glass of one of the hundreds of wine choices at the on site Wine Bar and spent an hour sitting on the small but serviceable balcony.

Room Tip: Higher, exterior floors are worth negotiating for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

408 - 414 of 811 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed here for two nights pre-booked. First room we were allocated was very dark, being in the modern block built between the two original buildings, window looking straight onto walls and other bedroom windows. However, when I asked about this we were moved to a really nice room, side-on to the highway nearby, but well insulated for noise.
Lovely traditional hotel, rooms and public areas nicely decorated. Excellent breakfast included in the price, vast choice of hot and cold items. Staff all nice, although bartender during "happy hour" could have been more friendly- possibly because I had a beer rather than sampling the massive range of wines. Didn't have dinner in the hotel, but restaurant is clearly fine dining and seemed very popular. Parking next door. Hotel is very well located for sight-seeing and near a large variety of bars/restaurants nearby. Good value overall.

Room Tip: make sure you have a choice of room if you're prone to feeling boxed-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigcheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This really is a great place to stay. Staff is very friendly. Room, especially the bathroom, was very clean. Great bed. Awesome location. Would love to stay again in the future. You get a lot for your dollar.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ringcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here because it was close to the ferry which brought us to the S.Bank Center for a concert ...and..we wanted to walk to some historic sites, and have Market Street (next door) for restaurant choices. Penn's View Hotel was perfect for these reasons. The hotel was very "quaint", historic, clean, and comfortable. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris3051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Very charming hotel. Room was adequate size. They have a nice continental breakfast. You can make your own waffles, eggs, toast,...besides the fruit and pastries. Excellent restaurant in the hotel as well. This facility is at the corner of Front St. and Market., Directly across the road is the Delaware River. Walk out the front door and you are within easy walking distance of a majority of the historic sites as well as many good restaurants and bars. We would stay at this hotel the next time we go back to Philly.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms have a private balcony. We were on the 5th floor. Heard no road noise. The elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeffro64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel is in a great location if you want to walk around the historic district of Philadelphia. At first I was concerned by how close the hotel is to the highway, but the room was very quiet. Take advantage of the "happy hour" special in the restaurant. The wine selection is truly amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was returning to my hometown of Phildelphia to attend a reunion of one of the branches of my family. I decided to check TripAdvisor for listings of hotels to see which were the closest to the reunion site. The hall was in a residential area of the city so I looked downtown. I chose the Penn's View Hotel because it was the closest to Interstate 95, the Riverfront, Penn's Landing and Olde City Philadelphia. I was not disappointed.

I came into the city from the south using I-95 and the Penn's View was easy to find. The hotel faces the Delaware River. There is a private parking lot next door not affiliated with the hotel that was miore than convenient and charged $23 a day (in and out); a good fee for the center of a big city. In just a few steps I was in the small lobby and checked in quickly. I took the slooooow elevator to the 2nd floor.

The room was adequate in size with a high ceiling, very clean and had an outstanding air conditioner. It came with cable TV and Wi-Fi but the staff said some devices could not fully connect with the Wi-fi and that this was being checked for correction. The closet was small but contained an iron and ironing board, a luggage rack, plenty of hangers and a terrycloth bathrobe. There was a desk and a small table in the room. I noticed a French door by the windows and found that you have access to a small 2 ft. by 4 ft. balcony. Most views are not great but on nice evenings you have access to the night air. The bathroom was covered with tile and marble. The basic toiletries were provided. Mine was a standard queen-sized room and did not have a refrigerator.

I did not eat dinner at the restaurant which had an impressive menu. I did, however, take advantage of a wine tasting on Friday. Rieslings were the subject and there was a discount given when tasting the 'flight' of 8 rieslings from Europe and the USA. A wine expert helped all tasters along the way and pleasantly provided useful information without too much embellishment. Cheese, vegetables and breads were provided along with dips and butter. This is a good way to get conversations going among people who may not know each other. The bar is certified by the Guiness Book of World Records as having the largest winekeeper in the world: 120 bottles of wine attached to nitrogen bottles which backfill each bottle as a glass is poured, thus preserving the remaining wine. The bar is furnished in dark wood and is great for an end of day cocktail, wine or beer.

The hotel is extremely quiet even in proximity to a major highway and streets. The staff is pleasant and helpful. Last of all, a substantial continental breakfast is available to all guests each morning. Check out was at Noon.

I would stay at this hotel again and I recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RMG4369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,395 reviews
City Center East
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia E - Penns Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penn's View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penn's View Hotel

Address: 14 N Front St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#11 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#21 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#26 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $186 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penn's View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the “Birthplace of America” at the Penn’s View Hotel in Old City, Philadelphia. Enjoy a stay in one of 49 comfortable rooms and 2 spacious suites with the convenience of Wi-Fi access and complimentary breakfast every morning. Additional amenities include: Daily newspaper, cable television, private balconies*, jetted spa bathtubs*, patios*, fireplaces*, pull-out sofas*, separate dining areas* fitness center, ATM access, and computer access. Penn’s View Hotel places you within access to all of Philadelphia’s greatest attractions. Also, enjoy an atmosphere of casual elegance at Ristorante Panorama, the authentic trattoria-style dining in the heart of Old City. At its unique wine bar, Il Bar, you can enjoy the custom-built, 120-bottle wine dispensing unit, which is the current Guinness Book of World Records holder. Penn’s View Hotel is a true Old City gem, and we look forward to welcoming you. (*Available in some rooms) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Penn's View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Penns View Philadelphia
Hotel Penns View
Penns View Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing