We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Penn's View Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$255
$209
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$144
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown(Philadelphia)
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$158
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$167
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$196
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
$261
$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$179
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$229
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (861)
Filter reviews
862 results
Traveler rating
430
320
82
20
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
430
320
82
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine barold citypanorama restaurantboiled eggssmall balconypremium king roommarket streetfranklin fountaingas fireplaceexposed brickwithin walking distancehardwood floorsjacuzzi tubquaint hotelmajor highwayfresh fruitliberty bell
Filter
Updating list...
507 - 512 of 862 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Located in the Old City section, this hotel allows easy walking access to Independence Hall and other historic buildings in the national park and immediate area. We frequently walked about the area during the early evening hours and always felt safe. There are numerous restaurants and bars in the area. (Cuba Libre is good for small appetites; Continental Restaurant serves great salads and drinks; and City Tavern offers colonial-style food and ambience.) We had a room on the third floor with a small balcony (more for decoration than use) facing the freeway. As the windows were sound-proof, freeway noise was never a problem in the three nights we spent there. We slept soundly. The bed was very comfortable. We liked the fact that the room contained two chairs as well as a desk. A television was provided, but we never turned it on. The breakfasts were good and filling. We enjoyed the waffles, hard boiled eggs, pastries, fresh fruit, and good coffee. Thank goodness there was an elevator, as the stairs are a bit narrow, really not suitable for one carrying suitcases. An Italian restaurant (Restaurant Panorama) and wine bar is adjacent to the hotel. The food and wine was excellent. The nearby Old City Coffee is also good place for coffee and espresso.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerncrkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I can't rave enough about this hotel. Located in the heart of Penn's Landing, just a block from a wide array of restaurants and bars (Old City), this charming little hotel was worth every penny (and we got it for only $150 during one of Philadelphia's busiest weekends) and more! The staff was friendly and helpful, our room was big with exposed brick (adding to the whole historic Philadelphia feel), and the complimentary wi-fi and breakfast were great. The reviews are true--this place is simply great. There is a paid parking lot next door ($23), which is still a lot less than most hotels in the area charge for parking (most are $39-$45).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbattsolutions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

I had a chance to stay at this hotel on my way to our New England road trip. We only stayed there for one night on our way to Cape Cod from Chicago. It was located right in the historic district and was easy to get to Market Street and Penn's Landing which I enjoyed. The one odd thing about the hotel was that it was right off of the express way. However, it does not take away from the charm. They provide you with free continental breakfast in the morning which consists of danishes, fruit, waffles, hard boiled eggs and cereal. Nothing overly fancy, but just perfect in getting you off an running. The front desk was extremely nice and the rooms were historic looking without actually being old. You can tell that the rooms and the bathrooms were recently redone. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I spent our 20 year wedding anniversary in Philly. We needed a close location to see a concert at the River Stage at Penns Landing and this hotel came up first on trip advisor.
The concert venue was directly across the street.

We had more than a fabulous time! The hotel is everything we hoped for. Check in was a breeze (however, parking in the next door lot wasnt as easy and also cost us $46). Hotel lobby was cute and enjoyed the orange iced water.

But the best part of this hotel was our room!!!! To our surprise when we opened the door there was a long staircase up to our room. Our room was gorgeous and the bathroom was fit for a queen. I reserved the king jacuzzi room. Very reasonable priced for what we got. I never expected the room to be so awesome. We had a view of the ben franklin bridge. The room number was 314. I suggest you ask for this room when booking. It was also very romantic.

We ate the restaurant. This is truly a place you must try! We sat in the most romantic seat in the bar area. The manager came over and gave us comp. champagne for our anniversary. The food was outstanding and the wine list unreal. Everyone on staff is friendly and knowledgable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Micheller0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We got off to a bad start trying to unload our bags before returning the rental to the airport – there are a few unloading spaces outside the front door but if these are full, and they were, there is no way of unloading legally!

That aside, the hotel is in a great location close to restaurants, buses, subway and Phlash. Reception was friendly helpful and efficient (missing toiletries were replaced in minutes).

Our room (409) was a kingsize with loads of space in both bed and bath areas. However the bed was quite firm (I think the pillow top had long lost its cushioning) while also being quite bouncy. Dressing gowns were a bit thread bare. Good drawer space but limited closet space. Proper tub in the bathroom with Jacuzzi option. I noticed that other rooms had fireplaces, balconies and limited river view but those rooms seemed to be smaller than ours and not as quiet. Loads of hot water but difficulty in getting cold water – I suspect the plumbing may be old with the pipes running close together. AC was an arctic blast when it came on but at least it could be turned off. Fewer TV channels than with say Direct TV.

Breakfasts were quite good with fresh OJ, a large platter of sliced fresh fruit and facility to make fresh waffles or boiled eggs.

Despite the niggles above I would return and I would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank El_Timon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews