We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT SPOT for historic area or special weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
Ranked #36 of 89 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 5, 2011

We stayed in room 806 which had nice Eastern and Southern views. Our room was a King and very comfortable with a loveseat for seating. Also a great magnifying makeup mirror in the bathroom. Fully stocked fridge, which left no room for our own snacks and beverages. However, when my husband went to retrieve ice, he found the ice bucket was already filled for us. Nice touch. My only dissappointment was our room location. It is very close to the elevator, and I asked to be placed away from the elevator. This is why I didn't sleep well. Room 805 is directly across from the elevator, and that must be really noisey. I would stay there again, as long as I am in a room further down the hall. Great rate with AAA. As other reviews suggested, sign up on the Omni website to be a select guest for a few freebies.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HawkSJU82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,684)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,389 - 1,395 of 1,684 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2010

Awesome location, close to most historical landmarks...Independence Hall, Penn's Landing, Liberty Bell, and so much more! The room was great...I stayed in room #1202 and because it was a corner room, it had 3 windows! Great views :) Very spacious...room has a king bed and a sofa bed...The pool was a nice touch, but it is small...the gym is very modern...

I booked this room on "Cyber Monday" and got it for $99.00! Best deal ever! There is a great breakfast place right down the street (Mrs. K's Koffee Shop)...you can get a breakfast sandwich for $3.00, an omelet with homefries and toast for $7.00...great deals for being right next to the hotel...

MY ONLY COMPLAINT: Valet parking was AWFUL...it is $34.00 per night and it took them 45 minutes to get our car both times we needed it...I informed the manager of my frustration with this and she immediately offered to waive the valet charges of my bill...

Insider tip: Go to the Omni Hotels website and become a member of the "Select Guest" program...membership is free and you get nice perks such as free WI-FI in the room, morning beverage delivery, free newspaper, etc...definitely worth it! :)

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Boricua1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

It was our first Christmas alone, with the kids gone, all off with their lives elsewhere. So we decided to travel from our suburban enclave of Jenkintown to The Omni. They had a wonderful holiday package that included room, valet parking, breakfast and late checkout. We also opted to have Christmas dinner there. It was a really spectacular experience. Our room was lovely and the staff was beyond accommodating. They did all they could to make our Christmas spectacular. Because of an impending blizzard, we opted to leave just after breakfast. But we will return to The Omni gain next time we need an escape to Philly.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Officiant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2010

we took a package here for room & couples massage -- price was exceptional when you consider all that got thrown in ... above & beyond .... massages were very good, spa okay, but personnel down there were excellent.....my only complaint and this is my biggest w/many hotels is the sound when the heat or a/c kicks on & off during the night....i'm a light sleeper and it would keep waking me, my wife is a heavy sleeper, she didn't even notice......so bring earplugs if you're a light sleeper...otherwise an exceptional beautiful place in the heart of historic area that treated us like royalty

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joisey-joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2010

The service at this hotel was outstanding. From the pre-arrival email helping us plan our stay to staff on site. I forgot my make-up bag in the car and the retrieved it for me in 10 minutes. The room was amazing. We had a corner King room on the 12th floor so the views were endless, all the way to the delware river on one side and down to city hall on the other. Room was well equiped and very comfortable. If you stay here and haven't stayed at omni make sure you sign up for the Select Guest program. Its free and worth the perks. We love Omni. This is the second one we stayed at and will continue to for all our trips if there is one in the city we are visiting. The only issue we had was the people next door were easily heard, so we just ran the fan on the room ac/heat and it drowned it out.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtrm_stephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2010

We enjoyed our three night stay in the Omni, well located for tourists, just a few hundred metres from Independence Hall and close to other historic sites.

Our standard room and bathroom were spacious and well equipped, apart from a curiously small bathtub. The bed was unusually comfortable. Our view over the park would have been better if the windows were clean. The decor of the rooms and public areas is 'classic elegance'. WiFi internet access is free.

The expensive but good quality breakfast is cooked-to-order in the hotel's elegant restauarant and there are few nearby alternatives at the weekend.

All the staff we met were pleasant and helpful, apart from one overworked bartender.

This is a good four star hotel but not a de luxe venue, despite a few five star touches. Recommended to tourists or business visitors with some spare time.

Tip - visit the Barnes Foundation (reserve ahead) before it closes in its present location in mid 2011.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globaltraveller200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Not a 'full service' hotel, but nice sized rooms, great bedding, an indoor pool and a really nice gym. Great location by all the historic attractions and not too far from some fantastic restaurants. We have stayed there twice and plan to stay there again -- great deals on rates on the web as well.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteeleTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 89 in Philadelphia
5,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park

Address: 401 Chestnut Street, Philadelphia, PA 19106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#19 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $170 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the forefathers who inspired the birth of a new nation, The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park invites you to join a hotel revolution. Formerly the Omni Hotel at Independence Park, our elegant hotel in Old City Philadelphia, Pennsylvania has undergone a transformation to an exciting new hotel designed to set new standard among Philadelphia hotels. Featuring a blend of sophistication and charm, our deluxe guest rooms offer a park view or they overlook Independence National Park. A fine dining restaurant overlooking Independence Park, Azalea serves delectable American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Philadelphia's most popular things to see and do are only steps away from our doorstep. Our luxury downtown Philadelphia hotel offers elegance and style at its best, all within walking distance of the Liberty Bell, U.S. Mint, Independence Hall and Franklin Court, the site where Benjamin Franklin's House once stood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Philadelphia
Omni Hotel Independence Park
Omni Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing