We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Stars? NO WAY!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
Ranked #27 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
“4 Stars? NO WAY!”
Reviewed March 3, 2006

I stayed at the Omni 2/24-2/26. Staff was curteous, but not overly accommodating.

The rooms were very average; decor, beds & linens were old, thin & in need of improvement.

On Saturday 2-25, we left the hotel at 9:30 & returned at 5:00 to an UNCLEAN room. I called the front desk, & they advised housekeeping was there until 6 & they would send them at once. At that time, there were 3 girls trying to rest, shower & get ready to go out to dinner - NOT A GOOD TIME FOR HOUSEKEEPING! I just asked for towels, kleenex & a lightbulb to be changed that had burned out in the bathroom. I was extra annoyed to discover that my brother's room, which was 2 doors down from mine, had been cleaned (he was w/us & returned to his room at the same time.)

The concierge called & offered us a bottle of wine, but we passed. We were just over it.

The location was OK, but the areas in Philly you want to explore are all pretty close to each other, so earlier posts which stated the location can't be beat - I just don't agree. The location alone is not enough to sell me on this property again - not for the price & substandard rooms & service.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    861
    487
    164
    79
    38
See reviews for
556
456
69
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
fairfield, ct
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2006

We stayed at the Omni Hotel from 2/25 to 2/7. I will admit that the bell staff and valet were a 10 out of 10, but two of the front desk employees were unbelievably rude. Upon check in we were told that the pool was under construction and we should have known that if we checked their website. We were told we could use another hotel's pool which was 3 blocks away. My husband commented that they was little far to go for a swim with kids. The male employee responded very snottily "well, it's not far for me, but I am used to walking". Keep in mind it was February in Philly - not exactly beach weather. They also (at first) refused to honor a package in which we were to get free parking. They eventually agreed to give us free parking, but they charged us anyway. Although the manager was present and consulted, he never ventured out of his office. After returning home, I checked the website and it did say that the pool was under construction. If you already read that they had a pool, you would not necessarily look for the blurb about it being under construction. The website also said that children were to receive upon checkin suitcase filled with toys. My children did not receive anything. The rudeness of the two front desk employess sadly overshadowed the politeness and professionlism of everyone else at the hotel. Everything else about the hotel (location, decor, etc) was lovely.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank dwdsedmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2006

I had a terrific experience with this hotel. What I want to say most in this review is that the hotel is very child-friendly. I have a six year old and a two year old. The girls were each given an activity bag at the front desk at check in and the hotel sent up complimentary milk and cookies later that evening. Also, kids eat free in the restaurant. Our standard room held all four of us very easily- we had a Queen bed, pull out sofa and lots of sq footage. We had stayed a couple of times at the Parker House in Boston (another Omni property) and liked it so much, we signed up for the "select guest" program. This is a free loyalty program, and immediately upon signing up we were given two really good discount coupons- one half price, and one free upgrade. We used the half price coupon for our room at the Phila Omni- it cost us $80 for the night as opposed to $160. The fitness center was under renovation while we were there, but they still had a fine workout room with an elliptical and a couple of treadmills. The new fitness center opening this Spring looks like it'll be pretty elaborate. Hotel staff were very responsive, professional and helpful. The room was nice- good view of Independence mall, and again very large, there was a nice bathroom and good room amenities. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BronxLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC Area
Level Contributor
75 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2006

Stayed here for one night. It's a standard four star establishment. All the reviews are right about being in a great location, especially if you want to see the historic district. I had a king room and it was a corner room--quite spacious. The bed was comfortable and the inroom snack bar was well-stacked (albeit quite pricey--$2 for snickers!). The cable tv was limited and the tv itself was situated in a somewhat odd place. Since I arrived late in the evening, I ordered room service. I was not at all impressed with the sandwhich I ordered, but the dessert was great. The service given by the hotel staff was mediocre--staff seemed distracted when I talked to them, not very attentive. But other than that, the place was fine.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Roadtravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2005

The location and public areas of this hotel can hardly be beaten, especially if one is in town to see the historical sites. Our room, however, was somewhat of a disappointment, given its four-star rating: no room service menu/property book, bathroom sink stopper not working, hot water faucet leaking, bathroom facilities and electrical outlets in need of upgrade. This was a smoking room, which are often the last upgraded in any hotel, so these findings were neither a surprise, nor did they ruin the trip. But since all rooms of a given class are the same price, it's expected that all will meet certain standards. This one didn't. I'd stay there again, but never at the rack rate.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Ted Fry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
4,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park

Property: The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park
Address: 401 Chestnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19106-2425
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#16 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the forefathers who inspired the birth of a new nation, this hotel invites you to join a hotel revolution. Formerly the Omni Hotel at Independence Park, this hotel is about to undergo a transformation to an exciting new hotel designed to set new standard among Philadelphia Hotels. Our 150 exquisitely appointed guest rooms, some of Philadelphia's finest accommodations, are the ultimate refuge. Featuring a blend of sophistication and charm, our deluxe hotel rooms offer a park view or overlook Independence National Park. A fine dining restaurant overlooking Independence Park, Azalea serves delectable American regional cuisine for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Host your inspirational meeting or banquet in spaces where national history has been forged. Philadelphia's most popular things to see and do are only steps away from our hotel doorstep. Concierge services and business center on hand help facilitate business endeavors. Complement your meeting with customized catering services and modern audiovisual facilities. This luxury downtown Philadelphia hotel offers elegance and style at its best-all within walking distance of the Liberty Bell, U.S. Mint, Independence Hall and Franklin Court, the site where Benjamin Franklin's House once stood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Franklin Hotel at Independence Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Philadelphia
Omni Hotel Independence Park
Omni Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing